Housekeeping Again!!

Things in life I find annoying - HousekeepingThis is becoming a weekly chore that I just can’t seem to get away from, but it is getting easier. This is what’s bugging me today!

I’ve come to learn that the blog needs plenty of maintenance to keep it fresh, looking good and working properly. Just last night I received an email that Alexy moved his blog to his own server. This meant I had to go through and update the links I had pointed at his WordPress blog to the new one. It wasn’t too difficult a task, but it’s done.

Chores for this weekend are to check the earlier ones to make sure I’ve done them. I know I finally tackled my About Me page and boy was that a relief. Thank you everyone for your comments on it.

I would like to say a special hello to Bob Zeller. Reading my About Me page gave him the idea to add a page to his own blog, Texas Tweeties. He’s an avid photographer with some great shots on his blog and his Mockingbird is one of my favourites.

A special welcome to two new Blogging Buddies over the past 24 hours. First to Barb19, a dear friend who I’ve finally convinced to join the WordPress Challenge for PostAWeek2011 with her new blog Passionate About Pets. Next is Julie, 1961Girl who is celebrating all year-long to mark a special day. Please stop by and say hello! 🙂

A special thanks to my first Blogging Buddy, Piglet in Portugal for choosing a recipe of mine for her Foodie Friday recipe challenge.

Earlier this week I realized that Housekeeping was going to be a weekly chore and should really have its own category. The posts were already tagged as housekeeping and WordPress came to the rescue with their tool to Convert Tags to Categories.

It’s still early and there weren’t too many posts I would have had to change but using the tool it was done with three simple steps. For those who aren’t familiar with it, you can find it under Tools – Import – Categories and Tags Converter.

This also brings to mind another housekeeping chore that should be done on a regular basis. I need to backup my blog should anything ever happen. I wouldn’t want to lose it all and I’m pretty sure none of you want to either.

Backup on WordPress in 4 easy steps.

  1. Tools
  2. Export
  3. Download Export file
  4. Save

Done – how simple is that? One thing I did do though is to prefix the file name with the word Backup. This makes it easier to find when you can’t remember exactly which folder you saved it to.

Now that’s an easy housekeeping chore to do. I just have to remember to do it on a regular basis! Another ‘todo’ to add to my ReminderFox.

Now that my backup is done there is one less chore for the weekend. Which is a good thing because there’s another chore I want to work on which is going to take some time.

Set up a new page where I can list the links to some of the sites and online tools I’ve mentioned that many have found helpful. Once it’s set up it will be easier to add new ones and it won’t be such a chore.

I think that’s enough for this weekend. Plenty of blogs to visit and read,  bad me – I think I may have missed a few this week.

Housekeeping chores – this is what’s bugging me today!

🙂

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 29, 2011 at 9:00 AM

    Ooops never thought about backing up the blog…better do that!

    thanks Rose 🙂

    • January 29, 2011 at 9:04 AM

      Hi Pip, you’re probably not the only one and it’s so simple to do. 🙂

  2. January 29, 2011 at 9:12 AM

    Hi Rose,

    Thanks so much for giving me a mention in your post. This is very much appreciated.

    And you’ve given me so much more room for thought as to things I can do to improve my blog and backing it up is a great idea. So many things to add to my ‘house keeping’ list. WordPress is becoming a full time job these days!

    The best part is that the more we learn about how it all ‘works’, the more that we can help others along the way. And I have received some great help from some of my fellow bloggers for which I am truly grateful.

    I just love being part of such a caring, supportive community and I like to think that this is the way the world is going in the future…more shared co-operation and understanding.

    Juls x

    • January 29, 2011 at 9:32 AM

      You’re welcome Juls. I know there are plenty of new bloggers who may or may not know some of these things. I like to help in any way I can and it is great being part of this community.

      I like to imagine what it would be like to have one collective mind thinking positive thoughts. The world would be a much better place. 🙂

  3. January 29, 2011 at 9:28 AM

    Rose, you are constantly teaching this new blogger! Thank you for sharing all the housekeeping chores with your buddies. You are a great teacher!

  4. January 29, 2011 at 9:36 AM

    Thanks Seashell. I like to share and it gives me something to write about every week! 🙂

  5. January 29, 2011 at 12:15 PM

    How do you find the time? I been busy with work, and my post is still in drafts waiting to be published once I finish saving some data from a hard disk that is about to die.

    • January 29, 2011 at 12:20 PM

      Sunil, I’ve been wondering where you’ve been, I thought we may have lost you. Better save your data first, the post can wait. I can always find the time when it’s something I enjoy doing. 😉

  6. January 29, 2011 at 3:32 PM

    Thanks for the info CR 🙂 backup complete!! Very smart idea. Have a great day!!

    • January 29, 2011 at 3:36 PM

      Now that was simple, wasn’t it? Hope you have a great day too!! 🙂

  7. January 29, 2011 at 3:53 PM

    Another informative post. And thanks for the mention:-)

    Bob

    • January 29, 2011 at 3:57 PM

      Thanks Bob and no problem on the mention. I really do like the Mockingbird photo. 🙂

  8. January 29, 2011 at 4:17 PM

    Hi Rose, thank you for the mention in your post, I really appreciate it and for your perseverance and patience in encouraging me to take up the Postaweek Challenge! After reading your Winners & Losers post, I just had to take action!

    I’ve learnt so much from you since I’ve been here, (you are a great teacher), and I like the idea of you setting up a new page where you list the links to some of the sites and online tools you have previously mentioned; it would be so useful.
    I am going to follow through on doing a back-up too!

    • January 29, 2011 at 4:26 PM

      Ah, it was nothing Barb. You are a true friend and I knew you would eventually come around and join the Challenge. I’ll be working on the links page over the weekend so it should be up early in the week. Thank you Barb. 🙂

  9. January 29, 2011 at 4:55 PM

    Just letting you know, I did the backup and it was so easy! Thanks Rose!

    • January 29, 2011 at 4:58 PM

      Now it’s just remembering to do it often enough. 🙂

  10. January 30, 2011 at 9:22 AM

    Oh dear, I’m another one who hasn’t backed up my posts – thanks for inspiring me yet again, you’re so helpful and your blogs (and blog pages) just get better and better.

    • January 30, 2011 at 10:38 AM

      Thank you so much. I’m really enjoying the blog and sharing what I know. Now we all just have to remember to keep backing up the blog. 🙂

  1. January 31, 2011 at 8:15 AM
  2. February 2, 2011 at 10:26 AM
  3. February 4, 2011 at 6:31 PM
  4. February 5, 2011 at 4:40 AM
  5. February 12, 2011 at 8:34 AM

Leave a comment