15 Pet Peeves

pet peeves, annoying, what's bugging me,

Image by zarprey via Flickr

Sometimes you’re not quite sure what to write about, just too busy with other things, run out of time or haven’t been feeling too well and not felt much like writing. This is what’s bugging me today!

Well this was one of those days for me and I had this post ready for such an occasion. It was nice to know that I had this sitting in my drafts.

Pet Peeves of Mine

1. Standing in line behind people who wait until the last-minute to pull out their wallet and then go digging for the exact change.

2. Cashiers who insist on packing all your groceries before taking your money or payment. Then you feel like you’re in the way of the next customer while you put your money and wallet away.

3. Cashiers & bank tellers who carry on lengthy conversations with someone instead of serving the next customer when you’ve already been waiting too long.

4. People wearing iPods with the volume turned up so loud that you can hear it sitting 3 seats away on public transit.

5. People who have loud cell phone conversations in public. I don’t care what you did on the weekend.

6. Loud annoying ring tones.

7. People who litter.

8. Not being able to find a trash can on the streets.

9. Pet owners who don’t stoop and scoop.

10. Public washrooms that are over-deodorized. Just because it smells clean doesn’t mean it is!

11. People on public transit who soak themselves in perfume or aftershave. Have they never heard of ‘a little dab will do ya’?

12. People who wear so much perfume/cologne that it hangs in the air long after they’ve left the room.

13. More people who wear too much perfume/cologne and the wind blows it to you from 10 -15 feet away.

14. Stores that use scented pucks in their ventilation system.

15. Having to walk through the perfume section to enter a large department or drug store – not the greatest for anyone with Asthma, COPD or chemical sensitivities.

Do any of these things annoy you?

What are your pet peeves?


This is what’s bugging me today!

🙂

Quote for today

Sometimes I lie awake at night, and ask,
‘Where have I gone wrong?’
Then a voice says to me,
‘This is going to take more than one night.’
Charles M. Schulz

Related Articles

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. Sam
    February 11, 2011 at 7:04 AM

    My pet peeves are very much different, but now, people who smell like perfume will most likely annoy me. Funny. Maybe I will make a little “crap that annoys” me post and stick it somewhere in my drafts for the right time…

    #5 is something that irritates almost everyone I know. Have you ever randomly started commenting on what someone else is saying? lol

    • February 11, 2011 at 7:11 AM

      Hi Sam, glad you like the idea of keeping something in drafts.

      On #5, I’ve thought about it at times but have never had the nerve to say anything. 😉

  2. Jenny Cutler
    February 11, 2011 at 9:41 AM

    Loved it Classy Rose ! I have (already) a huge bank of blogs for busy / uninspired days. I am challenging myself as a creative writer NEVER to run out of things for a year.

    And your gripe list is catching. It so cathartic, isn’t it – these lists! I can feel one coming on. Jenny

    • February 11, 2011 at 9:46 AM

      Hi Jenny, that’s quite a challenge but I’m sure you will be able to do it with all the enthusiasm you have! Good luck with your list. 🙂

  3. February 11, 2011 at 9:46 AM

    Another pet peeve of mine is, customers that continue to talk on their cell-phone while at the cash register. If I was the cashier, I would not wait on that person until he/she terminated their conversation. I would make them wait, while I took care of the next person in line.

    Bob

    • February 11, 2011 at 9:51 AM

      I agree with you there Bob. 🙂

  4. February 11, 2011 at 10:14 AM

    It’s always interesting to read other people’s pet peeve lists. I definitely agree with 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, and 11 🙂

    • February 11, 2011 at 11:04 AM

      Hi Theresa, it is fun isn’t it. 🙂

  5. February 11, 2011 at 11:28 AM

    I have a huge list….a post for another day. 🙂 Have a great day Rose!!

    • February 11, 2011 at 11:34 AM

      Hi Princess, now don’t go listing them all at once. Keep some for a rainy day like I did, remember you’re back to work soon. Enjoy the rest of your time off. 🙂

  6. February 11, 2011 at 11:42 AM

    Hi Rose,

    I hope you are feeling better today.

    My pet peeve (for today) is relaxing on the couch in the therapy room to have the peace shattered by workmen banging and drilling in the room next door…so much for a relaxation session.Then to have the receptionist smile and nod in agreement as she demands the full fee off you, despite your complaints that half the session was a waste of time…grrr…

    Get well soon my lovely. Hugs 🙂

    • February 11, 2011 at 11:48 AM

      Thanks Juls, I’m feeling much better today. I hope you didn’t pay it and if you did call and speak to the manager, hopefully he/she will do something for you. I’m one who believes in getting what I pay for. 🙂

  7. February 11, 2011 at 12:03 PM

    I think I’m just going to do an entire post on this, I didn’t have anything planned for today anyways. 🙂

    Thanks for the idea.

    • February 11, 2011 at 12:13 PM

      Hi Gina, I’m glad you like the idea. There is usually something bugging us that we can write about. It helps to clear your mind of the negative thoughts. 🙂

  8. February 11, 2011 at 12:04 PM

    Hi Rose, I concur! Night before last my dear husband and I stopped in for a quick bite at one of the local burger joints…no sooner had the waitress brought our appetizer, the hostess seated a couple of guys just behind us. One of them was definitely out to impress someone with his ample dose of eau de cologne. I had to finish the rest of my meal with my turtleneck pulled up over my nose. Have you ever tried to eat a hamburger from behind a turtleneck? And yes I had a headache by the time we left.

    • February 11, 2011 at 12:17 PM

      Hi Jeanne, I ask to be moved to another table otherwise with my COPD I would have an attack. My daughter hates when I do that and prefers to have me cook dinner for her instead of going out to a restaurant. 🙂

  9. February 11, 2011 at 1:14 PM

    Great idea for a post Rose. #5 is a classic, especially in a public restroom! Seriously? They can’t wait until they go? It all boils down to consideration for others, which seems to be lacking in today’s society. Enjoy your weekend!

    • February 11, 2011 at 1:57 PM

      Hi Shell, I’d be scared of dropping the phone in the toilet..lol!

      Now that I’m feeling all better it should be a good weekend. Hope you have a great weekend too! 🙂

  10. February 11, 2011 at 4:34 PM

    People who walk very slowly, blocking the way on an already crowded footpath.

    • February 11, 2011 at 4:48 PM

      That’s a good one and it can be very annoying if you’re in a hurry. 🙂

  11. February 11, 2011 at 5:47 PM

    #7 would have to be my most pet peeve Rose; how hard can it be to put your trash into a trash can (assuming you can find one nearby!) 😉

    • February 11, 2011 at 6:00 PM

      Hi Barb, there used to be a time in Toronto where you would find one on practically every street corner but not anymore. I tend to hold on to my trash until I find one and then hope it’s not full. 🙂

  12. February 11, 2011 at 6:04 PM

    I think being a female peeves me. Us girls have to wear so many hats day in and day out and deal with a lot of unmentionable things (come on ladies, you know what I mean..) We juggle so many things, often multi-tasking that we forget who we are because we devote ourselves to other people and/or projects and have very little ‘me’ time. I’ve said it for a long time and I’ll say it again now, I’m coming back as a cat!!!

    • February 11, 2011 at 6:38 PM

      Hi Marcia, I would like to come back as a big cat! Maybe a lion, cougar or a jaguar. 🙂

  13. February 11, 2011 at 6:38 PM

    So sorry to hear you are still feeling poorly.
    I can’t post…well I can…but am using my laptop…long story..very up and down day.
    Do get better soon.

    • February 11, 2011 at 7:11 PM

      Hi Granny, that was this morning when I posted, now I feel like a totally different person. Sorry to hear you’re not having a good day. 😦 I do hope things improve for you. 🙂

  14. February 11, 2011 at 6:42 PM

    You must have a highly developed sense of smell ~ #10 – #15 all deal with aromas (or odors). LOL.

    Here’s my list: http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/05/08/ten-or-twenty-people-id-rather-avoid/

    • February 11, 2011 at 7:15 PM

      I do. Besides the Crohn’s and COPD, the doctors say I also have Reactive Airways which makes me extremely sensitive to strong smells. Especially anything made with chemicals and most fragrances are all chemicals. I even react to really strong cooking smells sometimes. Just one more of life’s challenges I’ve learned to live with. 🙂

  15. February 11, 2011 at 7:57 PM

    It’s just a short list,
    1 thing that bugs me the most:

    When the one bagging your groceries put an obvious cold item in with non cold items.

    P.S. I quit wearing perfume to events that lots of people gather together…found out it can cause headaches for many people.

    • February 11, 2011 at 8:07 PM

      Hi Jaxie, that bugs me too because everything else in the bag usually gets wet and why I prefer to bag my own groceries.

      It’s not the headaches I worry about, it’s being able to breathe. My airways close up and using an inhaler only works for a short period of time. The only real solution for me is to get away from it and that’s sometimes hard to do. 🙂

  16. February 12, 2011 at 10:59 AM

    Yep “Pet owners who don’t stoop and scoop” When we went to Lyon the pavements were full of pooh. I nickname dogs pooh landmines! Another pet peeve (pardon the pun) is dogs barking all through the night 😦
    Sorry I am grumpy when I have a cold 😦

  17. February 12, 2011 at 11:09 AM

    Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well PiP. There seems to be a lot of that going around this week. 😦

    There is one dog in the area who keeps going in the vegetable garden in the summer and by the size of the paw prints, it’s a big dog. It’s always done late at night when it’s nice and dark. 🙂

  18. February 12, 2011 at 1:36 PM

    What a great list!! I couldn’t agree more with all the ones having anything to with smells!!
    And I hope you feel better!

    • February 12, 2011 at 2:10 PM

      Thanks Rosa, Feeling much better today. It’s mostly the chemical smells that bother me and if I’m not careful I could end up with a bout of pneumonia. 🙂

  19. March 4, 2011 at 1:27 PM

    Woah, scented pucks in the ventilation system! I’m so glad I haven’t experienced that in England yet! One of my pet peeves in regard to shopping is these huge megastores – supermarket, clothes shop, electrical store, home wares etc. I love trolling around them but why can’t they place a few benches around the store and maybe some drinking fountains or water coolers? And the dry air makes my eyes itch like crazy after an hour or so.

    I noticed another peeve of mine today. People who don’t use their indicators in their cars! So many people just turn left or right without a care in the world who is around them.

    • March 4, 2011 at 1:36 PM

      Hi Noobcake, the store was in a shopping mall and it was so strong I could smell it from three stores away.

      The other thing is, it was a clothing store so not the kind of store that would really need to deodorize the air.

      I’m sensitive to chemicals and I know that the smell would get buried in the clothes and I would never be able to get it out.

      They lost me as a customer! 🙂

  1. March 4, 2011 at 12:01 PM
  2. March 9, 2011 at 10:22 AM

Leave a comment