Archive

Archive for February 13, 2011

or not – RandomBlog2011 Challenge

February 13, 2011 49 comments

Random Blog 2011 Challenge, postaday2011, postaweek2011, randomblog2011There was nothing bugging me yesterday, there is nothing bugging me today and there might not be anything bugging me all week! :-)

I normally only post once a day but with the RandomBlog2011 Challenge starting tomorrow I wanted to get this out for my friends and readers around the world where it’s early Sunday evening or already Monday. You know who you are!

Ever since the WordPress Challenge started and especially since we all have our Blogging Buddies now there’s been a lot of talk about how great our online community is.

Now is our chance to show just how great we are!

Think back to when the challenge started and the pledge we all made.

I’ve decided to blog more. Rather than just think about doing it, I’m doing it!

Starting now, I am pledging to post to this blog once a day for all of 2011.

I know it won’t be easy, but it will be fun, inspiring, awesome and wonderful. I just started this blog but I’m promising myself to make use of The DailyPost and the community of other bloggers to help me along the way. Including asking for help when I need it and encouraging others when I can.

If you already read my blog, I hope you’ll encourage me with comments, likes, and good will along the way.

Let’s show some love to the new bloggers who are having trouble getting readers to their blog.

The RandomBlog2011 Challenge

1.    Read a minimum of 2 new blog posts every day from any of the tags on WordPress.com at a blog you have never visited before.

2.    Look outside of your comfort zone and read something totally different from what you normally would. Expand your horizon.

3.    Go “Tag Surfing” on the Hot Topics page.

4.    Follow a “comment trail” – start with a comment on a friend’s blog from someone you’ve never met and see how far it takes you.

5.    Try and find new bloggers looking for readers and leave a “like” and a “comment”. Ask them to join in the fun and check out the RandomBlog2011 Challenge.

6.    Tag your own posts with RandomBlog2011.

7.    Feel free to tag a post or two from the past week with RandomBlog2011.

8.    Tag an older post or a favourite that didn’t get the attention it deserved.

9.    Visit the Daily Post and read through the comments and see if you can find someone looking for readers. If they’re posting a link they want to be read.

10.  You can visit any new blog you want but I encourage you to visit and comment on the blogs that recently joined the WordPress PostADay2011 or PostAWeek 2011 Challenge.

I think that just about covers it.

Since this challenge is something I’ve started you are welcome to visit the RandomBlog2011 Challenge page and leave a comment to let me know you’ve joined the challenge.

Let’s have some fun this week!

There is nothing bugging me today!

;-)

Quote for today

All people smile in the same language.
Anonymous

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

or not – Random Acts of Kindness Week

February 13, 2011 43 comments

Random Acts of Kindness Week Feb 14-20, 2011February 14 – 20, 2011 is Random Acts of Kindness Week. There is nothing bugging me today!

The mission, for those bold enough to accept it: Do one act of kindness every day during Random Acts of Kindness Week.

The Random Acts of Kindness Foundation will suggest a new kind action every day to their members and online community fans. You can learn more on how you can take part by reading their Press Release or by visiting their website or Facebook.

About The Random Acts of Kindness Foundation

Established in 2000, The Random Acts of Kindness Foundation has a mission of inspiring people to practice kindness and to pass it on to others. RAK’s goals are to inspire, empower, act and share to build the kindness community. To that end, RAK provides free educational and community ideas, guidance and other resources, and allows everyone to share their kindness ideas and actions through its website at www.randomactsofkindness.org. The Foundation celebrates World Kindness Week and sponsors Random Acts of Kindness Week the second full week in February. RAK is on Twitter (@RAKFoundation), Facebook and YouTube.

What acts of kindness can you perform this week?

It’s time to give a shout out to some of the blogging community here on WordPress. First I would like to welcome all the new visitors and subscribers to my blog.

The other day I read a story about how important making eye contact is when talking to people and this is so true. The eyes tell you what words can’t. He performed a true act of kindness.

I also took part in my first blog hop organized by EOF737 – Mirth & Motivation. Thank you for putting that together it was fun!

And just because I want to, I can’t forget my first blogging buddy, Piglet in Portugal. She went to market and saw a cute little piggy this week. :-)

Yesterday I said I had something special planned for the coming week and I got the idea from Random Acts of Kindness Week.

While some of us have received a bump in our stats there are still other new bloggers out there who have yet to see it. Comments I’ve read in the daily posts suggest they don’t know how to get new readers to their blogs.

I’m sending out a challenge to all those participating in the PostADay2011 and PostAWeek2011 challenge.

The Challenge

I’m encouraging bloggers in the WordPress Challenge to commit to reading at least 2 new blog posts everyday at a blog they have never visited before.

Anyone wanting to participate in this challenge will tag their posts with RandomBlog2011.  You will be able to find blogs taking part in the RandomBlog2011 Challenge using this tag the same way you are currently reading the PostADay2011 and PostAWeek2011 blogs.

I will be adding comments to the Daily Post inviting anyone who wants to participate to tag their posts RandomBlog2011. Each participant is asked to read and comment on 2 random blogs every day for the week.

I have no idea how many will decide to take part in the challenge but I’ve had this on my mind since I noticed the special week for Random Acts of Kindness and I just had to give it a try.

How many random blogs will you read this week?

Make sure you visit the special page I’ve set up for the RandomBlog2011 Challenge.

:-)  Please share this page to get the word.  :-)

There is nothing bugging me today!

:-)

Quote for today

You will find, as you look back upon your life, that the moments that stand out
are the moments when you have done things for others.
Henry Drummond

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers