Home > Blogging, or not, RandomBlog2011 Challenge, Weekly Photo Challenge, WordPress Challenge > or not – How To Add Copyright To Photos

or not – How To Add Copyright To Photos

ClassyRose©, RandomBlog2011, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011, Things in life I find annoying

Image via Wikipedia

I know I usually write a Housekeeping post on Saturdays but this week I’ve chosen to do this instead which has been part of my blog Housekeeping over the past week. There is nothing bugging me today!

This information will probably be helpful to anyone taking part in the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge.

How To Add Copyright To Photos Using Picasa

I don’t have Photoshop, so I’ve used Picasa to finally add the copyright symbol – © - to my photos.

It was actually quite easy.

Open Picasa
Select your photo
Select Text

How to add Copyright Symbol
Select the Font, Size, Style, Colour and add anywhere in the photo – don’t worry, the text can be moved if you don’t like the position.

How to add Copyright symbol using Picasa

Nothing is changed on your original photo until you click the Apply button and save the file.

When I saved my photos, I added the copyright symbol © to the file name using the keyboard shortcut Alt0169. This is an easy way to recognise which photos you’ve added the copyright to.

To insert the copyright symbol ©, hold down the Alt key and type 0169 on the numeric pad on your keyboard. For those who have a laptop without a separate numeric keypad, hold down both Alt and the Fn keys to activate the numeric pad on the keyboard. Look for the small blue numbers.

You can also insert the copyright symbol using the Custom Character button Insert Custom Character in the Visual post editor but you have to make sure you are showing what WordPress calls the Kitchen Sink.

WordPress Post Editor showing Kitchen Sink

The Kitchen Sink button is the last one in the row. Kitchen Sink Button

It’s really not that complicated to add the copyright, just remember to save your photo with a different name so that the original isn’t changed.

Will you be adding the copyright to your photos?

There is nothing bugging me today!

:-)

Quote for today

The fact that I can plant a seed and it becomes a flower,
share a bit of knowledge and it becomes another’s,
smile at someone and receive a smile in return,
are to me continual spiritual exercises.
Leo.F. Buscaglia

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. March 20, 2011 at 3:39 AM

    It is worth noting you may only see the “kitchen sink” button by selecting the “Visual” tab. I’ve always written my posts in HTML so I’ve never even noticed I had a kitchen sink! Mr Piglet would probably agree with the fact that I do not know where the kitchen sink is. He reckons he always does all the washing up!
    PiP

    • March 20, 2011 at 6:52 AM

      Thanks PiP, I’ve added the keyword “Visual” to the instructions. ;-)

      But that’s what dishwashers are for, and it sounds like you have one – Mr. P. :-)

    • March 20, 2011 at 2:27 PM

      You are so funny PiP!

      • March 20, 2011 at 7:06 PM

        Isn’t she though Jaxie. She always makes me laugh. ;-)

  2. March 20, 2011 at 5:48 AM

    Good Morning Rose…mental note…must get some ink for my printer so I can print out all your tips!

    • March 20, 2011 at 6:54 AM

      Hi Granny, has it cooled down for you yet or is it going to be another hot day?

  3. March 20, 2011 at 7:29 AM

    I have been copyrighting my photos for quite sometime now. There is a watermark feature built into Windows Live Writer which is a desktop blog publishing programme that I use to do my posts on.

    • March 20, 2011 at 7:40 AM

      Thanks for the info Tony. That’s not a program I’m familiar with but sounds like it’s worth checking out. :-)

  4. March 20, 2011 at 11:16 AM

    I was wondering how to do this, thanks Rose!!! Now, if you decide to do a post on how to add a slide-show display (like you have with the purple crocus) I would be one very happy blogger :) As usual, thanks for the fantastic information, you are the best.

    • March 20, 2011 at 11:33 AM

      Thanks Indigo, the slideshow isn’t that difficult at all. I will think about doing a post on it. :-)

  5. March 20, 2011 at 7:57 PM

    Thanks for another great tip Rose!

  6. March 21, 2011 at 1:55 AM

    thanks for the helpful info Rose!

  7. March 22, 2011 at 5:48 AM

    Nice tutorial Rose. It’s worth remembering that if an image has a copyright notice on it near the edge of the image (at the bottom for example) that image can still be copied and cropped to remove that copyright notice. I guess the only other way is to spread your watermark across the entire image, but that reduces other’s enjoyment of it. Hmm, I thought I had a point to make when I started writing this!

    There’s loads of image banks online and I thought with so many people showcasing their photos in their blogs it might be worth mentioning that there is money to be made from your photographs. Check out ShutterStock:

    http://submit.shutterstock.com/tutorial

    I’ve been considering signing up and submitting some photos, even though the entry requirements are a bit tight, it could be fun to see what happens to my photos. Undecided at the moment but the tutorial link above was interesting.

  8. April 13, 2011 at 5:52 PM

    Very helpful post!

  1. March 20, 2011 at 9:23 AM
  2. March 21, 2011 at 12:46 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

