Trying To Keep Up

Things in life I find annoyingI try not to be too negative in my writings but I’m having trouble keeping up. This is what’s bugging me today!

Today I want to quote 2 sentences from “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff” by Richard Carlson.

#2 Make Peace with Imperfection

I’ve yet to meet an absolute perfectionist whose life was filled with inner peace.

As you begin to eliminate your need for perfection in all areas of your life, you’ll begin to discover the perfection in life itself.

Now I’m not sure that I can stop trying to be a perfectionist completely, but I have to accept that sometimes just doing the best that I can is good enough.

This is what’s bugging me today!

:-)

Quote for today

No one is perfect… that’s why pencils have erasers.
Author Unknown

  1. March 23, 2011 at 8:42 AM

    Hi Rose,

    No worries none of us are perfect :)We just have to do the best we can, when we can and be realistic as to what we can achieve. Postaday was always going to be a bit of a challenge and if you can’t post everyday, to be honest, I think I can positively say no one will think any the worse of you. I am miles behind reading all my buddies blogs…so if I can’t get across everyday I hope they will understand, but know I’m still thinking of them. :) There you go that’s my confession :)
    Cheers
    PiP :)

    • March 23, 2011 at 8:54 AM

      Thanks PiP, posting every day is a challenge but I think it’s my need for things to be perfect that is holding me back. I always feel that I can do better so I don’t publish things I’ve written. I need to get past that, just like I got past my fear of hitting the publish button.

      Thanks for your vote of confidence. :-)

  2. March 23, 2011 at 9:00 AM

    I too am finding it a struggle to keep up with it all. Same as Pip said we all knew it was gonna be a bit of a challenge. But with that in mind you have loads of support from fellow bloggers to keep your momentum going. You’re doing a fab job! We’re all allowed to have a few off days.

    • March 23, 2011 at 9:06 AM

      Hi Timmer, thanks for lifting my spirits.

      We just got another blast of winter this morning. Snow and freezing cold weather. I’m wondering how the crocus are doing that I took pictures of the other day. :-)

  3. March 23, 2011 at 9:09 AM

    don’t worry about keeping up. Breathe in, breathe out. What flows out is what you are meant to share. None of us are coming to you for perfection, just for sharing what is on your mind or heart.
    walk in beauty.

    • March 23, 2011 at 9:27 AM

      Thanks Joss, it’s me that’s striving for perfection and I need to stop, but it’s a life-long habit. :-)

  4. March 23, 2011 at 9:20 AM

    Love the quote you chose. Wouldn’t it be nice if some aspects of life could be just as easy to erase. That sunset is beautiful. Thanks for sharing. :)

    • March 23, 2011 at 9:28 AM

      Hi Soapbird, life isn’t that easy though. :-)

  5. March 23, 2011 at 9:26 AM

    Don’t worry about your blog.
    You had better wait for things to get better. :smile:

    • March 23, 2011 at 9:29 AM

      Hi Cocomino, I have no right to complain with what you’re having to live with in Japan. Everything going on in the world today sure does put a different perspective on things. :-)

  6. March 23, 2011 at 9:27 AM

    Ah Rose, I know it’s hard. But like Joss said, you write from your heart, so it is perfect!

  7. March 23, 2011 at 10:38 AM

    Darn. :oops: Seashell beat me to it! I want to say this post is “Perfect” from a gal like you, to a gal like me. :)

  8. March 23, 2011 at 11:06 AM

    Perfection is an illusion. In my 20’s I wrote a short story. I edited it then re-edited it until it reached the 15th draft in an effort to make it perfect. I just didn’t trust myself to leave it alone until it was at it’s best. In the end I got so sick of reading the thing over and over that I stuck it in a box and have never touched it since!

    I’ve learned that a draft or two is okay (3 at the most) and then just hit publish. I probably have typo’s on my blog or those horrible “and and” thingies, but I don’t worry about it. You have a way with words Rose, you say what you want to say and people like how you say it!

  9. March 23, 2011 at 1:32 PM

    People don’t like perfect people anyway. :D

    Good enough is good enough.

  10. March 23, 2011 at 4:40 PM

    I can relate, Rose. I think I even go one better, trying to do better than my best. Who can do that? That way lies madness and despair. I tell myself I like myself better than that, better than subjecting myself to despair. I also praise myself for doing my best.

    I stop and think: If no one can do better than their best, then everyone is doing their best at all times…from their perspective and their level of consciousness. Who am I to judge them? And who am I to judge myself? So what if others judge me…what others think of me is none of my business.

    Anyhow, those thoughts and a few meditation exercises have helped me immensely to the point where I now only look over a post once (I honestly don’t have time to do more). If it ends up with errors or not expressing what I really wanted to say…well, I can add a brief reply…or I can let it go.

    I agree with noobcake…you have a way of reaching people with what you say. And you generally end up saying it from the heart anyone. Don’t sweat the small stuff :P

    • March 23, 2011 at 4:42 PM

      See? lol In the second last sentence, I meant “anyhow,” not “anyone.”

  11. barb19
    March 23, 2011 at 4:49 PM

    Don’t be so hard on yourself Rose, you are doing a brilliant job here and no-one could deny that. Look back on your posts and see what you have done here – quality content in every one.
    I used to be a perfectionist – it ruled my life, it made me miserable. I had to learn to let go of things and realize that no-one is perfect and no-one expects us to be perfect. You are beating yourself up trying to be and you won’t win. Just be yourself – that’s the person we have come to know and love anyway.

  12. nuggetsandpearls
    March 23, 2011 at 6:45 PM

    I wouldn’t worry about keeping up Rose, your posts are always interesting so one interesting post is better than ten boring ones (like mine…) – you go for quality, quantity shouldn’t be as important.
    I like the quotes. I’ve always been a bit of a perfectionist but in recent years have realised that putting so much attention on something is actually stopping me from living. Now I worry less and live more! Everyone thinks you’re great.

  13. Country Living
    March 25, 2011 at 9:43 AM

    As I am fairly new to bloggin, I am finding it difficult to keep up! I want to read every single blog as they are all really wonderful, I feel mine isn’t as good as everybody elses! I try really hard, but feel I’m lacking something. I’m sure I will get better as time goes on, but I find it hard to live life and blog at the same time. Know what I mean?

  14. Jackie Paulson 1966
    March 25, 2011 at 10:05 PM

    I can keep up so far, but today was a mysteries “I don’t know what to write day.” So I posted pictures and little text. It seems that we all need to de-stree, de-worry and feel what we feel. Just for today I know that I made a difference in the lives of others whether through my writing or in person. So, since you made our day by being true to yourself, then you made a difference. xo Jackie ♥

  15. April 11, 2011 at 4:56 PM

    I find the same at times with blogging. I can’t stand missing a day without posting something. Then there’s all the comments to reply to. I hate not replying to my commenters as it makes me feel as though I’m ignoring or not appreciating their efforts to visit & leave comments. Also trying to keep up with visiting all my favourite bloggers in my RSS reader takes time too. My computering time is often short which makes it hard to keep up with it all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

