Home > Blogging, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > PostADay2011 – Bloggers With No Links

PostADay2011 – Bloggers With No Links

I joined the WordPress challenge to PostADay2011 and I am really enjoying it. I know it is only the second day, but I love to read the comments from other bloggers who have joined the challenge and visiting their sites to see what they’re all about.

But often times I can’t and you know why. Bloggers have not added their websites as links to their Gravatar and their name isn’t linked to their blog either. This is what’s bugging me today!

Now maybe, they are new bloggers like I once was and not sure how to do it, but it’s real simple.

For your Gravatar, sign in to Gravatar and go to My Account, Edit My Profile, My Links and then add your link URL and link Title. I canโ€™t remember but you might have to verify it too. But maybe not because itโ€™s a WordPress blog.

In WordPress go to Users, Personal Settings, Account Details. Enter your email and website and it’s automatically linked when you make comments. Don’t worry, your email address is only used for verification purposes.

Now if more bloggers would do at least one, preferably both, of these two things it would be better and easier for the blogging community on WordPress to support and encourage each other during the WordPress challenge. You will also get more visitors to your blog if your websites are listed in your profile every place your Gravatar appears.

I already helped one new blogger yesterday in setting up his Gravatar and thought I could help more bloggers this way than by replying to all of them. Maybe in the future I will just direct them to this posting, but only after I’ve offered some words of encouragement. I don’t want them to get the wrong idea. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So what do you say bloggers in both theย PostADay2011 and PostAWeek2011 challenge. How about updating your account details and profile?

This is what’s bugging me today!

๐Ÿ™‚

leave a comment ยป

ยฉ 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 4, 2011 at 4:28 AM

    true, on doing this challenge it would be fun to visit each other’s blog and having no links will make it less fun.

    • January 4, 2011 at 4:33 AM

      I have come across so many with no links. It’s a shame that they can’t get the visitors and encouragement from others. I’ve been commenting on some and leaving the link to this post.

      I have already had a few people thank me for it.

  2. January 5, 2011 at 4:51 PM

    I have to admit, if I’m reading a reply on someone’s blog and it amuses/interests me but that person’s name doesn’t link to their blog, I am disappointed. Such a shame because there’s a lot of talent out there.

    • January 5, 2011 at 5:14 PM

      So true. I understand the privacy concerns, but it’s a link to your blog and to not have it doesn’t make sense to me. I have found such interesting sites in the last few days that I don’t think I would have found otherwise. It’s like Google’s I’m Feeling Lucky Button!

  3. January 7, 2011 at 8:57 AM

    Great advice – I just started blogging a little bit before Christmas and never thought about the link. I did a quick fix and hope it is updated. Is it working correctly?

    • January 7, 2011 at 9:03 AM

      Thanks Tim, your name is linked but I still don’t see your WordPress blog in your Gravatar. Just the Blogger one to your profile.

  4. knot2share
    January 7, 2011 at 5:27 PM

    I managed to add the link only recently. I took me a while to figure out how to go about doing it. And also I was a bit hesitant initially. Fear of being ridiculed about what I write…..I dunno. I still stress out once I have said something and hit the publish button. Like you say, not to have the link does not make sense to me now. It sure is a great way to hop from one blog to the other.

    • January 7, 2011 at 5:39 PM

      Most of us feel that way, I know I did and sometimes still do depending on what the post is about. I hesitated over yesterday’s but finally hit that button.

  5. January 8, 2011 at 9:34 AM

    Thank you for this post. It helped me link myself on Gravatar:)

    • January 8, 2011 at 9:42 AM

      You’re welcome. I’ve seen so many with no links, thought this might help.

  6. January 9, 2011 at 12:25 PM

    Thanks for this help! I only recently switched from the default “quilt pattern” to an actual gravatar, and so I’m still way down there on the learning curve. Appreciate the help!

    • January 9, 2011 at 12:29 PM

      If you haven’t noticed, I visit a lot of blogs and leave plenty of comments behind. On the blogs and on Scott’s posts. I kept running across so many with no links I thought I would throw it out there. I know I have helped people just like you and that makes me happy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Jen Clinton
    January 10, 2011 at 3:49 PM

    Oh my gosh I don’t know why that took me 2 years to do… THANK YOU

    • January 10, 2011 at 3:52 PM

      You’re welcome. I do a lot of visiting and commenting and come across so many with absolutely no links. That’s why the post. Thanks for stopping by. It’s done now. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Jen Clinton
        January 10, 2011 at 3:55 PM

        But why isn’t my actual named linked? I see it in the hovercard but… hrmph.

      • January 10, 2011 at 4:01 PM

        GOT IT!

  8. January 13, 2011 at 10:12 PM

    Thanks for this one! I am now officially linked to my Gravatar. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • January 13, 2011 at 10:33 PM

      You’re welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. January 17, 2011 at 7:11 AM

    I didn’t realize this Rosemary. I followed your instructions from this post, and have now successfully updated both my Gravatar and my Profile on WordPress.
    Thank you so much for pointing it out.

    • January 17, 2011 at 7:13 AM

      You’re welcome Barb. I saw so many postings where I wanted to check out the blog but couldn’t so I wrote a post about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. wordangell
    January 31, 2011 at 6:05 PM

    Thank you so much for your help. I will have a go tomorrow, not very good on knowing what to do but I am sure going to follow your instructions and give it a go. Thank you again M

    • January 31, 2011 at 6:09 PM

      It’s not that difficult, it’s just that most people aren’t aware of it. Once your name is linked, people will click on it and find your blog. Let me know how you make out with it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • wordangell
        February 1, 2011 at 6:05 PM

        Finally, I think I have added my URL ok. Forgive me for asking another question, is there a special link to find other bloggers who are taking part in the blogaday/blogaweek challenge or do find them like this. I long to read some relevant blogs. Still finding my way around despite having blogged for over a year. Thank you for your help, again..M

  11. February 1, 2011 at 3:06 PM

    I know exactly what you mean. I’m always looking for interesting blogs to read and when someone has gone to the effort of reading my post, then liking or commenting, I would really like to have the opportunity to check them out!
    Great that you posted this. Some may read it that haven’t realised and see this post :-).

  12. Jenny Cutler
    February 13, 2011 at 2:25 PM

    Thanks Rose – have put on about 7 links but they don’t show up anywhere on my page. I did it in both places. so not there yet. not sure what to do next.

    Jenny

    • February 13, 2011 at 2:30 PM

      Hi Jenny, did you add the Blogroll widget to your side-bar? The links won’t show up without it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. February 13, 2011 at 5:12 PM

    There are so many bloggers I would love to follow after they have commented but there gravatar isn’t set up. I think I will point them to your post so they can reap the benifits of being part of the blogging community. Thanks!

    • February 13, 2011 at 5:17 PM

      Hi Jeanne, I’m glad you like it. This post and “Click the Like Button” really got my blog going at the beginning of the challenge. I was like you, I couldn’t get to their blog to read it and it certainly was “annoying”. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. February 14, 2011 at 8:59 PM

    Ha! Love the title of your blog! Good God mine would be filled DAILY! LOL Good luck girlie!

    • February 14, 2011 at 9:04 PM

      Thanks. My daughter wasn’t so sure about the title but it’s been great. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. February 15, 2011 at 5:13 AM

    Oops guilty as charged!! I hadn’t realised my web address was missing from my gravatar and I’m grateful to you for the heads up. All sorted now…I wonder if my traffic will increase now?!

    • February 15, 2011 at 5:20 AM

      Hi and welcome to my blog. I would imagine you will probably see more visitors. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. February 16, 2011 at 2:55 PM

    I could not figure out what was wrong – why my name was not linked to my blog, so thank you for this! I’m about to hit ‘Post Comment’ – this is my moment of truth…

    • February 16, 2011 at 3:04 PM

      Hi Jason and welcome to my blog. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m sure it will work. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. February 16, 2011 at 2:56 PM

    YAY! Worked. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    • February 16, 2011 at 3:05 PM

      You’re very welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was pretty sure it would work for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. February 25, 2011 at 6:39 AM

    Thanks, Im now linked with Gravatar!

    • February 25, 2011 at 9:13 AM

      Welcome and glad I could help but it’s not working properly. It says the website doesn’t exist.

      You might want to check that again. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • February 28, 2011 at 2:35 PM

        Really … the link on Gravatar is not working? thanks for checking and letting me know. Kudos. Going to check it again now.

        • February 28, 2011 at 2:53 PM

          Ok. Im think Im a go! Thanks again for the heads up! Finally getting the hang of this blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

        • February 28, 2011 at 3:41 PM

          Hi Jennifer, everything is working now.

          You’ve got a great blog.

          From a Canadian (Italian) living in Canada. Ciao ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. February 28, 2011 at 6:12 AM

    Thanks for posting this. As an extremely new blogger, I had no idea of the importance of this or even how to do it!

    Hopefully I am all linked up now!

    • February 28, 2011 at 11:31 AM

      Hi Princess and welcome. Well now you do and I can see that you’ve done it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. postadaychallenge2011
    March 4, 2011 at 4:50 AM

    I have updated mine I believe i have it all done right too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. January 8, 2011 at 1:39 AM
  2. January 10, 2011 at 12:10 AM
  3. January 17, 2011 at 4:52 AM
  4. January 17, 2011 at 9:08 PM
  5. January 21, 2011 at 5:01 AM
  6. January 21, 2011 at 5:03 AM
  7. February 13, 2011 at 3:11 PM
  8. February 14, 2011 at 9:26 AM
  9. February 19, 2011 at 8:55 AM
  10. February 20, 2011 at 6:06 AM
  11. March 10, 2011 at 4:37 PM

Leave a Reply

