Home > Articles, or not, WordPress Challenge > or not – Thinking of Old Neighbourhoods Makes Me Smile

or not – Thinking of Old Neighbourhoods Makes Me Smile

It’s time for one of my “or not” postings.

I belong to Qondio, which is an online magazine. Every week they suggest a theme and ask the members to write about it. This week’s was Neighbourhoods.  Here is my contribution which received some great reviews.

Neighbourhoods – Aren’t They Great!

It was December 1990, I had just moved into my house the previous week when we were hit with a snowstorm and the city was blanketed with snow. On moving day it was so nice we were standing in the driveway enjoying a nice cold beer after moving all my belongings into the house

I had dinner with my parents on the Saturday evening and asked my dad if I could borrow his snowblower. He hemmed and hawed, and said leave it that he would come by and do it for me after church Sunday morning. The real reason, he didn’t think that I, being female, could handle the snowblower.

I wasn’t going to argue with him, so I said I would see him in the morning.

After spending most of the day and evening at my parents home, with the snow still falling, I had no idea what to expect when I got home. Arriving about 9:00pm I found the most beautiful thing, my driveway had been plowed!

I had only moved in the previous week and with it being winter you don’t see too many people outside. I had not met any of the neighbours but when I finally did I asked if they knew who was going around plowing the driveways. They either didn’t know or were not going to admit to it.

My next door neighbours, who I got to know really well, would always mow my front lawn when they did their’s. Most of the time it was the daughter who mowed the lawn. They would then tell me to just borrow their lawnmower to mow my backyard. Whenever I mentioned that I should really buy a lawnmower, they would say what for, you can just keep using ours. They wouldn’t even let me pay for the gas I used. They were such great neighbours!

I lived in that neighbourhood for 8 years and it was wonderful, living in a community where everyone looked out for each other and helped each other out.

Contributed by classyrose. Published on January 3, 2011, at 11:02 PM UTC.

Copyright Notice

The copyright for this content entitled “Neighbourhoods – Aren’t They Great!” has been specified by the contributor as:

Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Details

This content may be copied and distributed (but not modified), as long as a) it’s for non-commercial use and b) the original author is acknowledged with a link back to the content page. If you use this content according to the license specified, you must link to the following URL:

http://classyrose.qondio.com/

p.s. You will have to visit the Qondio site if you would like to read the reviews.

leave a comment »

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. Barb
    January 4, 2011 at 1:59 PM

    Your neighbourhood sounded like somewhere I would want to live – where neighbours actually care and watch out for each other Rosemary. A good neighbour is to be treasured in this day and age.
    Hope your new neighbourhood is as good.

  2. January 4, 2011 at 2:10 PM

    Thanks Barb, it was a great neighbourhood!!

    The one I’m in is pretty good. But I don’t think anything can compare to that neighbourhood.
    People do smile at you on the street and say hi in passing.

  1. February 28, 2011 at 10:16 AM

Leave a Reply

