Home > What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Stressed Out Over Being Called Skinny

Stressed Out Over Being Called Skinny

This has been bugging me for a long time now and this blog is giving me the opportunity to say a few things that I probably would never say to anyone.

I am getting so tired of hearing about those who have made new year’s resolutions and are determined to lose weight. Every day there are news stories about diets and what people can do to lose weight. This is what’s bugging me today after hearing yet another news story about how to lose weight.

Many people look at me and see how thin I am and often comment on how they wish they could be like me. Well, I can tell you they really don’t want to be like me.

Yes, I am a skinny person – but I don’t want to be this skinny!

I have overheard strangers make comments about how I must be anorexic or bulimic.
I am not! I wish I could tell them.

Yes, I have a high metabolism and have been slim all my life but right now I am downright skinny! Too skinny! Unhealthy skinny! And the last thing I need to hear is about how people have trouble losing weight.

  • Why not try eating less?
  • Eat healthier food.
  • Skip the drive-through, have a salad instead.
  • Avoid foods with HFCS.

You see, it’s not just the high metabolism that keeps my weight down, but I also have Crohn’s Disease and COPD. The Crohn’s was bad enough, add the COPD, throw in new food intolerances over the last few years and it gets even worse.

Did you know that a person with COPD has to consume an extra 10% – 17% of the normal daily calorie intake just to breathe? Household chores are chores!

Anyone with COPD has to learn to pace themselves because if we get too tired, we don’t have enough energy to prepare a proper meal let alone eat it. It’s a vicious cycle.

So please, the next time you’re thinking about saying something to a skinny person stop and think about it first. Maybe they’re like me or someone who has Cancer, Cystic Fibrosis or one of many other diseases that may cause them to lose weight. They have difficulty just maintaining their weight, never mind trying to gain weight.

Would you tell an overweight person how fat they are?
There, I have finally said it.

This is what’s bugging me today!

🙂

p.s. please read more about this 🙂

COPD Foundation

More About COPD

leave a comment »

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 6, 2011 at 3:40 AM

    I posted about skinny girl troubles not too long ago. Agreed 100%.

    Crohn’s is a horrible disease, one of my best friends has it, so I know what you go through 😦

    I too am skinny, but just a life thing, not due to illness, mine is strictly metabolism but it has been something I have also fought with all my life…you are not alone 🙂 we all have someone fighting the same battles as we are.

    And doesn’t it feel good to finally say it out loud? Thank god for blogging xo

    Cheers to you, D.

    • January 6, 2011 at 3:47 AM

      Yes, it finally does feel good to say it after 30 years!

      Thank you so much. I know I am not alone but what are skinny people to do in a fat world! They’re taking all the good calories out of food, there is nothing left but HFCS & GMO’S.

  2. Barb
    January 6, 2011 at 4:17 AM

    My hubby has COPD, so I know what you mean about pacing yourself and getting too tired. I didn’t know that a person with COPD has to consume an extra 10%–17% of the normal daily calorie intake just to breathe, so thanks for that bit of information.
    Isn’t blogging great? It’s very therapeutic write about our feelings! Good for you Rosemary.

    • January 6, 2011 at 4:25 AM

      Thanks Barb, definitely therapeutic. I couldn’t locate the source for the 17% but it stuck in my mind because I didn’t realize that either until I read it last year.

  3. January 6, 2011 at 8:51 AM

    Great post. I am skinny too (just through genes rather than anything else luckily for me). I’m 33 now and STILL get asked if I’m anorexic. I have a skinny friend and she gets annoyed by it too. I’m sorry to hear you’ve got other issues going on, but yes, keep smiling and know you’re not the only one! Big hugs!

    • January 6, 2011 at 8:56 AM

      Thanks so much for the hugs! It used to be just genes, entire family is slim, I’ve had Crohn’s for 30 years now. It’s been building inside and feels so good now that I’ve said it!!

  4. January 7, 2011 at 3:41 AM

    I agree with you – had the same problem with my kidney disease, also lost a lot of weight and looked dreadful..now being on dialysis I managed to gain two kgs… happiness is – but whatever your state, I found that there will always be someone to pull you up or pull you down… just live your life, it is yours – no matter what size you are 🙂

    • January 7, 2011 at 6:40 AM

      Congrats on the weight gain! I know that must feel real good. I accepted Crohn’s from the very start and just said it was something I would learn to live with.

  5. January 7, 2011 at 11:02 AM

    Good for you! I think a lot of people judge the book by it’s cover. For years my daughter was skinny, she looked anorexic, but now she’s happy in her life and has put quite a few pounds on and she’s worrying about it. She looks great but I’m worried about her going over the top.

    Me, I’m overweight, I make no bones about it and I know why I’m overweight HOWEVER, I’m also on medications for various things and the side effects on all of them are weight gain. So, yes, I may be fat, but there’s a reason for it.

    I hate when people judge you on your size without getting to know you as a person first!

    • January 7, 2011 at 11:13 AM

      Thanks, I don’t think I will ever have to worry about going over the top. I know there are plenty of reasons why people are under-weight or over-weight, and maybe that’s because of the Crohn’s and what I have had to go through I don’t judge people. I know it’s a struggle to lose weight, but I think it’s an even bigger struggle to gain weight because you’re health is already compromised.

      I’ve just about given up trying to gain weight. I gain a few pounds, then develop another food intolerance and the weight is gone. Oh well, life goes on. 🙂

  1. January 20, 2011 at 2:26 AM
  2. February 10, 2011 at 7:27 AM
  3. March 10, 2011 at 3:01 AM

Leave a Reply

