Home > Blogging, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > PostADay2011 Bloggers – Click the Like Button Please

PostADay2011 Bloggers – Click the Like Button Please

Why are people scared to click the Like button? This is what’s bugging me today?

Some will take the time to respond with a comment, and I thank you very much I love reading them, but can you also do a simple thing like clicking a button.

  • Is it because you don’t want to be the first?
  • Don’t want to leave your Gravatar behind?
  • Don’t you want extra exposure for your own blog?

Depending on the theme and how you view the blog posting, comments aren’t always visible, but there is usually some means for you to let us know whether you like it or not.

You can give feedback in several ways and believe me, we want the feedback.

  • Click the Like button
  • Leave a Comment
  • Rate It – Up or Down – Up is preferable πŸ˜‰
  • Send an email

We want to know if you liked it or didn’t like it. How else can we improve our blog and our writing if you don’t let us know.

We’ve all worked hard to write the posts and were probably nervous about pushing the publish button. Maybe we were thinking of changing it or even deleting it because there was no feedback. Meanwhile it could be a beautiful piece of writing, where the writer bares their soul.

So please, come on guys, click the Like button, Rate It, leave a Comment or send an email. Bloggers, especially new ones, like receiving the feedback. It’s like getting your school project graded. We all like a pat on the back and someone saying Good Job!

Bloggers look at their stats and see the different posts visited but at the end of the day, there has been very little feedback.

It’s nice to look at the Top Rated and Top Posts/Pages in the side panel and see it change from day-to-day with each new posting. This tells us what our readers like, and how we should maybe think of tailoring more of our writing the same way.

If you don’t feel like leaving a comment, that’s not a problem. Just a simple click will do.

This is what’s bugging me today!

πŸ™‚

p.s. Β Β Β  please make sure you list your blog in your Gravatar profile.

p.p.s. I wonder how many likes this post will get πŸ˜‰

Recommended reading:Β Β Β  Bloggers With No Links

leave a comment Β»

Β© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 8, 2011 at 12:13 AM

    Liked and commented πŸ™‚ you make me smile!!

    • January 8, 2011 at 12:16 AM

      Thanks, you make me smile too!

  2. Barb
    January 8, 2011 at 1:26 AM

    You are right Rosemary – how do we know if we are writing good content or not if our readers don’t tell us – we like feedback, whether it be good or bad so that we can improve our writing. This is a brilliant rant!

    • January 8, 2011 at 1:29 AM

      Thanks. I thought you might like this. But you always leave such great comments!

    • January 8, 2011 at 3:19 AM

      Hi Barb,

      I tried to view your blog but was just taken to your profile and no oppportunity to go else where. 😦
      From your porfile you are just the type of person I would typically connect with as some of our interest are similar. However, Blogger does not make navigation easy. Please can you send me the proper link to your blog πŸ˜‰
      Kind regard
      PiP

  3. January 8, 2011 at 3:26 AM

    This is a very good post Classyrose. The like button is a great idea! I get lots of visitors to my site but I never know what they find interesting unless they comment or like. Sometimes you just wonder if you are talking to yourself!

    Unfortunately, I always have problems connecting with people on the “Blogger” platform. I use Blogger myself for another site and have to say it’s really not very user friendly.
    That’s my praise and rant for the day! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    PiP

  4. January 8, 2011 at 6:27 AM

    IDK, In some cases I like to get feedback, but with certain posts, I do not really care whether anyone reads it or not. Those posts would be more for myself than anyone else. Then there are those posts which I keep as private. πŸ˜€

    • January 8, 2011 at 7:01 AM

      But isn’t it nice when someone does click the Like button. You probably get some satisfaction from it.

      • January 8, 2011 at 7:09 AM

        That is true. Who can say no to someone saying I like what you said.

  5. January 8, 2011 at 10:16 AM

    I was exactly thinking the same thing, why people do not really push the like button ?!
    When someone is doing it, like you yesterday, it really put a smile on my face and i’m very grateful to you / everyone pushing the like button for doing it ! πŸ™‚
    I’ve noticed too that the English’s bloggers community was mainly more nice and welcoming that the French’s bloggers community ! In a couple of days, I’ve got much more Like and comments than in a couple of months in my French’s blog ! Crazy right ?! I have a theory about it but i really think that I should post it one day ! πŸ™‚

    • January 8, 2011 at 10:35 AM

      I am so glad I could put a smile on your face. πŸ™‚ Thank you for all the English speaking folks. It’s nice that you have both languages and yes you should post about it one day.

      • January 9, 2011 at 5:55 AM

        πŸ™‚ I definitely will one day !
        Blogger’s world can be so different in many ways according to the country or the culture… Maybe tonight, if I’m not too tired, I will try to write it down ! πŸ™‚

  6. January 21, 2011 at 11:34 AM

    This is just so much what I have been thinking. It puzzles me why people don’t click the like button if they like it. I nearly always click the like button, unless, of course, I don’t like it (but I haven’t found too many of my regulars that I don’t like). Thanks for putting this out where others can see it.

    Sandra
    Wizards and Ogres and Elves…oh my!

    • January 21, 2011 at 11:38 AM

      You’re welcome Sandra. It seems there are more doing it now on some blogs. Some people are just hesitant to do it. πŸ™‚

  7. February 8, 2011 at 2:00 PM

    Great Post! I have recently started hitting the like button alot more. I like getting liked…it feels good, it makes my day!

    • February 8, 2011 at 4:16 PM

      Hi Jeanne, welcome to my blog. It seemed quite appropriate at the time I wrote it and still does more than a month later. It puts a smile on my face especially now when it’s from a new reader. πŸ™‚

  8. February 8, 2011 at 4:42 PM

    I thumbs upped and Liked and am now commenting! And I couldn’t agree more! As a new blogger, I am always thrilled to receive any and all feedback- also, I just created a gravatar today and hadn’t created a link to it until I read this post! Thanks!
    I found your blog through eof737’s wordpress blog hop and I hope you’ll stop by my blog too.
    Thanks again, Rosa

    • February 8, 2011 at 4:47 PM

      Thanks Rosa and welcome to my blog. I will definitely visit your blog.

      Eliz said to post anything and I thought this would be appropriate with all the new bloggers. Thanks for everything, it is the top rated post on the blog and I think it will stay that way for a bit longer. πŸ™‚

  9. February 9, 2011 at 3:26 AM
  10. tbaoo
    February 9, 2011 at 4:37 AM

    well, firstly i wasn’t logged in ? then i wanted to like but couldn’t find the like page, and sorry but i can’t think of a comment .. oh well i guess i’l just have to keep coming back to see what this is all about … good one … cheers alan

    • tbaoo
      February 9, 2011 at 4:38 AM

      oops, i found the like and now i like πŸ˜‰

      • February 9, 2011 at 5:46 AM

        Thanks Alan and welcome to my blog. πŸ™‚

  11. February 9, 2011 at 5:26 AM

    Very smart approach and yes, everyone should use it liberally! It’s a great way to support each other! πŸ™‚
    Thanks for linking up on the blog hop πŸ™‚
    Have an abundant year!
    Elizabeth

    • February 9, 2011 at 5:57 AM

      As you can see, a few from the blog hop have already visited. With all the new bloggers, I thought I would draw attention to this post again. You too Eliz. πŸ™‚

  12. February 9, 2011 at 5:49 AM

    By the way, We did well. 20 brave souls signed on; do check them out… Awesome!
    Thanks again for linking up on the blog hop and see you soon. πŸ™‚
    Have an abundant year!
    Elizabeth

    • February 9, 2011 at 5:54 AM

      Thanks Eliz, I have been checking the page and trying to check them out as time allows. πŸ™‚

  13. February 9, 2011 at 6:51 PM

    What I am finding sometimes is…I look everywhere and can’t find a way to leave a “like”. Usually it is in a toolbar as I read a post. Sometimes, the toolbar is not there and no where on their page can I find a way to press a like button. When that happens…I say, Oh well.

    • February 10, 2011 at 9:21 AM

      It all depends on how they set up their blog. Not everyone chooses to show the like button or the ‘Rate this’. I guess they would prefer to receive a comment but I like giving people a choice. πŸ™‚

  14. February 10, 2011 at 12:20 AM

    Fun post. I usually leave comments rather than pressing the “like” button ~ because I’d prefer substantive comments on SLTW.

    • February 10, 2011 at 9:24 AM

      I tend to do both because I know that seeing both the like and the comment puts a smile on the bloggers face. πŸ™‚

  1. January 10, 2011 at 12:10 AM
  2. January 13, 2011 at 4:26 AM
  3. January 14, 2011 at 12:10 AM
  4. January 18, 2011 at 3:09 AM
  5. January 21, 2011 at 5:01 AM
  6. January 21, 2011 at 5:03 AM
  7. January 22, 2011 at 7:01 AM
  8. January 23, 2011 at 6:29 AM
  9. February 9, 2011 at 1:32 PM
  10. February 11, 2011 at 1:07 PM
  11. February 13, 2011 at 4:37 AM
  12. February 14, 2011 at 9:26 AM
  13. February 19, 2011 at 8:55 AM
  14. March 10, 2011 at 4:37 PM

Leave a Reply

