Home > or not, WordPress Challenge > or not – PostADay2011 Challenge – The Optimist Creed

or not – PostADay2011 Challenge – The Optimist Creed

It’s Sunday, Day 9 of the Challenge and time for another “or not” posting. Some may feel discouraged or overwhelmed and I thought these words can give them the strength to keep going. I came across this years ago, have always kept it handy and wanted to share it with you today.

The Optimist Creed written by Christian Larson, adopted by Optimist International in 1922.

The Optimist Creed

Promise Yourself
To be so strong that nothing can disturb your peace of mind.

To talk health, happiness and prosperity to every person you meet.

To make all your friends feel that there is something in them.

To look at the sunny side of everything and make your optimism come true.

To think only of the best, to work only for the best, and to expect only the best.

To be just as enthusiastic about the success of others as you are about your own.

To forget the mistakes of the past and press on to the greater achievements of the future.

To wear a cheerful countenance at all times and give every living creature you meet a smile.

To give so much time to the improvement of yourself that you have no time to criticize others.

To be too large for worry, too noble for anger, too strong for fear, and too happy to permit the presence of trouble.

Please visit Optimist International to see the wonderful work they do with children.

There is nothing bugging me today!

🙂

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

leave a comment »

  1. January 9, 2011 at 5:57 AM

    “There is nothing bugging me today!” 🙂

    Love the the optimist creed!

    • January 9, 2011 at 6:01 AM

      I’ve had it for years, and always know where it is. Glad to hear you’re having a good day too! 😉

  2. January 9, 2011 at 6:45 AM

    I didn’t know that an Optmistic creed was created! I love that!!
    Have a good day 🙂

    • January 9, 2011 at 6:48 AM

      I’m liking all the smiles. Goes with being an optimist. 😉

  3. January 9, 2011 at 8:04 AM

    Thanks you for your commment. Well done on reaching day 9.

  4. January 9, 2011 at 11:50 AM

    Well, there was nothing bugging me today until I read something on another blog. It has to do with human spammers.

  5. Tinman
    January 9, 2011 at 3:12 PM

    That optimist’s creed is great, though challenging. I reckon I only pass about three of them.

    Well done with the post-a-day so far – it’s tough work, isn’t it?

    • January 9, 2011 at 3:21 PM

      Thanks. Do you think I pass them all? Why do you think I’ve kept it handy all these years. 😉
      I’m really enjoying the challenge, I was one of the ones who was always scared to push the publish button. Worrying about what people would think of my writing. I finally got past it and just said I am doing it and that’s it.

  6. January 9, 2011 at 10:53 PM

    The Optimist Creed – very inspiring! I clicked on Like. You’re right – the name of your blog is misleading as I’ve noticed how you are always there to support and encourage new bloggers on this postaday/week challenge.

    • January 9, 2011 at 11:02 PM

      Thanks! One of the first things my daughter said when she saw the name is that people will think I’m an angry person and I’m not! That’s why the small disclaimer and the picture of my cat as my gravatar. Come back and read tomorrow’s post and let me know what you think.

  1. January 16, 2011 at 12:41 PM
  2. January 27, 2011 at 8:25 AM
  3. January 31, 2011 at 8:15 AM
  4. February 1, 2011 at 9:21 AM
  5. February 22, 2011 at 11:04 AM
  6. February 24, 2011 at 12:46 PM

Leave a Reply

