Home > Blogging, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Trudy’s Pet Peeve with bloggers…

Trudy’s Pet Peeve with bloggers…

Monkeys Blogging

Image via Wikipedia

This is what I had originally planned to post yesterday and I am now glad I held off because yesterday produced some fantastic results.

This is in response to Trudy’s posting of Jan 10/11 talking about PostADay bloggers. Now I had some thoughts about linking to Trudy’s post but in the end you need to read it to fully understand that this is what’s bugging me today?

my pet peeve with bloggers…

Trudy, yes it could become tiring at times to keep reading about blogging, but not everyone finds it easy to write and to post daily. But every one of them has joined the challenge because they want to improve their writing, their commitment to post every day or every week.

Give us a break, it’s now Day 12 and there are still plenty joining. I am sure that once things settle down and people get into their blogs and what they feel comfortable writing about things will improve. Yes, there will be some that will probably continue with the whole blogging thing and there is nothing wrong with that. You don’t have to read them but I’m sure others will.

Yes, I am one of the ones that talk about blogging and I will tell you why. Because I enjoy helping people and encouraging them to reach goals that they thought they could never achieve. Just like a parent teaching their child to ride a bicycle for the first time everyone needs encouragement.

I don’t normally do this but I am going to toot my own horn. Read my post of yesterday, the day before and the day before that. Heck, read all of them. Because of the response I have had to these posts, several of my readers have connected with each other to support each other during the challenge. The evidence can be found on these two posts.

The ‘Like’ Button, Comment’s & Pingback’s – Help Us Learn!

How does blog’s buddies can keep you motivated ?

Would this have happened if were weren’t all talking about blogging and we all just went back to our blogs, read the topic suggestions and tried to write a daily post? I don’t think so.

The Daily Post from Scott Berkun has been great. The postings are like mini-forums, scanning down the list to see if there is anything of interest.  I’ve noticed that you’ve posted several times on the list.

I read one where you said the following.

I don’t think the ultimate objective of the wordpress contest is for “best writing” but simply for consistent (daily/weekly) writing and practice.

First – it’s not a contest, it’s a challenge.

If talking about the challenge is what they feel comfortable writing about right now, let them write it. As long as they are writing daily/weekly then they are achieving their goals and will get better with time. I am sure they will tire of writing about the challenge.

So yes, I am talking about blogging again today, but it’s only in response to your rant.

So get off your high horse and enjoy the fun like the rest of us are. Trudy this instructional is for you, if you want to try and find something on the long lists of replies:

CTRL + F    Find
CTRL + G    Find again.

There’s your tip of the day!

This is what’s bugging me today!

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

leave a comment »

  1. January 12, 2011 at 5:23 AM

    I read in a very old edition of RD that one famous journalist (forgot who) used to come to work each day and then write a thousand words to warm himself up and then throw those writings away before getting to his actual writing.

    The art of writing in an organized manner is something that needs to be developed with regular practice, and the best way to practice would be to blog every day.

    Imagine the amount of content that has been generated in the last 12 days.

    • January 12, 2011 at 5:28 AM

      It would be interesting to see the numbers. I’m sure the total page views on WordPress have jumped too. 🙂

      • January 12, 2011 at 11:00 AM

        Now what is wrong with this comment that someone would rate it down?

  2. January 12, 2011 at 6:12 AM

    Sunil is right Rosemary, the best way to practice our writing is to blog every day – and you are getting plenty of practice!
    I admire your tenacity to blog every day, I couldn’t do it, day in, day out. But we are enjoying your posts, and because of that, are making connections with other bloggers along the way!

    • January 12, 2011 at 6:17 AM

      Thanks Barb. The more I write, the more comfortable it is. That’s why I wasn’t scared to say what I posted today. A month ago, I wouldn’t have gone this far. 🙂

  3. January 12, 2011 at 6:54 AM

    Writing is not a such simply process. To write down a post and publish it, it takes me something like an hour or a couple of hour. I know that’s because it’s not my first language but even then, it’s mostly I need to focus on what I want to say and How I do need to structure everything.
    So yes for now, I’m posting about blogging but I’m sure it will change soon and I will use the WordPress Topic’s idea as soon that I will feel stuck… 🙂

    • January 12, 2011 at 6:57 AM

      Thanks for proving my point. Everything takes times and I’m sure you will do fine. Congrats on your blog buddies! 😉

    • January 12, 2011 at 8:39 AM

      Hi,

      this is the problem I have when I research often things are in Portuguese and it takes me ages to translate even using Google search and translater. However, at least I am then writing about it in my own language. I take my hat off to you!!

      • January 12, 2011 at 5:17 PM

        I’m almost fluent in English so it’s not so difficult but I need more time for sure ! 🙂 Plus when you are really enjoying it, things are going easier too.

  4. January 12, 2011 at 8:22 AM

    It takes courage to press the publish button if you are not a practiced writer. I set up another blog so I could write about the topics set for the daily challenge rather than topics i had to spend hours researching before I could sit down and write about them. However, after setting the new blog up, I read my first post to my hubby and he told me it was lousey! Perhaps i should have presed Publish insead of delete. You can feel insecure when you write.

    Support is SO important…and I have also learnt some thing today. I am gradually adding bloggers to my blogroll its a great way to keep track of you all!
    CTRL + F Find
    CTRL + G Find again.
    I love this wordpress challenge…just for the sheer interaction with other people. OK whoops a bit of a semi rant! 😉

    • January 12, 2011 at 8:27 AM

      You should have pressed publish. Never delete, instead save as draft so you can go back to it – next week, next year. 🙂 Joe was out shovelling snow this morning and you can have your semi-rant. 😉

  5. January 12, 2011 at 11:26 AM

    Thanks for writing this. Still being new to the whole blogging thing, I love having the daily post challenge to give me some ideas as to where to start and just having a network of people to learn from. We all have to start somewhere

    • January 12, 2011 at 11:34 AM

      You’re welcome. When I read her post, I couldn’t believe it and I couldn’t let it pass. Although, I’m not usually so vocal! Visiting other sites also gives you ideas. My English Thoughts got hers today that way. Just finished reading it. Good Luck with the challenge. 😉

  6. Lone Diamond
    January 12, 2011 at 11:48 AM

    Good choice holding off for today, another inspiring post for new comers!
    🙂

    • January 12, 2011 at 12:01 PM

      Thanks Diamond, I couldn’t finish writing this on Sunday or yesterday. Late posting today. 🙂

  7. Jen
    January 12, 2011 at 1:37 PM

    I’ve been blogging for years now (going on 4) and I still get butterflies when I hit “publish” on some posts. It takes a long time to develop the knack to write your heart out and be brave enough to share it. It’s something I go back and forth on all the time. Often times the most important things to write about are the very ones that we don’t want to share.

    On my previous blog, I wrote about daily life and my marriage that ended in divorce, and the whole process of going through the divorce. It was one of the most challenging writing projects of my life. I let myself hang out there and I got an amazing response from the blogging community.

    It’s been an even bigger challenge to tap back into that strength to open up and share again on the new blog for my new life.

    The self-confidence to say what you have to say, as kindly as you can put it, takes practice and time. But it comes! =)

    • January 13, 2011 at 12:35 AM

      Jen, It’s always difficult when revealing something personal and pushing the button is difficult. But as you said, it takes practice and time. 🙂

  8. January 13, 2011 at 12:33 AM

    This is a great end to my day 🙂 Today was one of those days when I just didn’t really have it in me to blog..but I made myself do it anyways 🙂 Not only did I rant a little and feel better about my not so swift day, but it really makes me feel like I am just letting it go when I write it down…it is therapy to me really 🙂 And so far, I have made some really great friends that I never would have made otherwise!!

    • January 13, 2011 at 12:41 AM

      Thanks. I think we’ve all met people we never would have met if it wasn’t for the challenge. My Congrats go out to WordPress and Scott Berkun for all the work they’ve done in setting this up and keeping it going. It’s been a big hit. 🙂

  9. January 14, 2011 at 8:49 AM

    Hi! I came here through The Daily Post. Great to see a lot of people taking the challenge. I’ve joined Post A Week, knowing I wouldn’t be able to commit to posting at least 365 times in 2011. With regard to your post, I must say that I don’t see anything wrong either with blogging about blogging. A personal blog is meant to be used by the author any way she/he wants to, as long as the post doesn’t violate WordPress’ terms. In my opinion, a blogger can talk about anything; food, a lover, an anecdote, the 4 walls of a room, and yes, blogging itself. I admit I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who feels apprehensive about publishing something, or who gets a mental block when it’s time to blog. Good luck to us! It’s great to be part of this wonderful challenge and opportunity from WordPress.

    • January 14, 2011 at 9:01 AM

      Thanks and I’m glad you’ve joined the challenge. All you have to do is look and you will find blogs not talking about blogging and the challenge. I know I have found many but I enjoy visiting the new bloggers, just like me, and watching how their writing is improving not only on their posts but in the comments they leave behind. Many have connected with similar interests and they are supporting and encouraging each other. Well done WordPress!! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

