Home > Blogging, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Bloggers Who Think They’re Better

Bloggers Who Think They’re Better

I knew that I would probably get Trudy’s back up with my post yesterday and I was right. She read my post and left me a 7 paragraph comment and I was debating whether I should approve it or not. It wasn’t so much a comment as it was a rant similar to her posting of the other day.  This is what’s bugging me today!

Now we are all entitled to our opinions. She gave us hers, I gave you mine. But there is nothing to say that I have to post her rant to my blog. After all, this is my little place to blow off some steam.

I took a nap to sleep on whether I should approve her comment and how to respond but when I returned, I discovered that she had posted the comment to her own blog with yet another rant. I guess she wasn’t too happy when I hadn’t approved her comment yet. I don’t work on her time schedule, I work on my own.

I was planning on approving it, but not anymore. If there is anyone interested in reading it I’m sure you can track her blog down.

No links to her posting today, but I will quote a couple of her own statements from it. I see that some of my observations weren’t far off.

  • However, some took it personal, also accused me of “high horse” status and were angered that I wouldn’t do this type of project for 2011.
  • However, I am used to the “elitist” and “high horse” types of accusations I am labeled with.
  • I do find it interesting that a blog with a title “Things In Life I Find Annoying” would blog in opposition to my post about a pet peeve.

To the last one, is nobody supposed to blog in opposition of her viewpoint?

Her post I found annoying, her views I found annoying. She just doesn’t seem to get it, she’s allowed to have her pet peeve and I’m allowed to find it annoying!

Now this is the last I am going to say on this. She can continue if she likes, but I’m moving forward and leaving this behind. Which she should have done yesterday!

This is what’s bugging me today!

p.s. I would like to end with this quote.

Everybody can be great…because anybody can serve.
You don’t have to have a college degree to serve.
You don’t have to make your subject and verb agree to serve.
You only need a heart full of grace. A soul generated by love.

Martin Luther King, Jr.
American Civil Rights Leader

leave a comment »

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 13, 2011 at 5:08 AM

    I am glad you are leaving it behind you. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but telling that some people are not good enough to write that they shouldn’t is can be really hurtful.
    But you have made your point and anything more that you say would just add fuel. Thanks for standing up for the majority of blogging community.

  2. January 13, 2011 at 5:13 AM

    OK, I love a good cat fight. Um…this one is not so clear. Took a look at her pet peeve and although it DOES reek of a particular high-handedness, it’s not un-merited. Certainly not discountable.

    That’s not to say that your gut reaction (ugh!) was not equally warranted!

    But there’s this…these are personal reactions to public blogs. I think that comment thread should have been kept going. There’s a newbie out there who’d have given what they got, and a ‘good blogger'(whatever THAT is) who’d probably have openned some space for the rest of us in an appropriately intellectualised fashion.

    Anyway, all this as an excuse to ask; ‘What about that replacing the word ‘n****r’ in Mark Twains work?!

    • January 13, 2011 at 5:31 AM

      The cat fight is over. This is the last I say on this.

  3. January 13, 2011 at 5:26 AM

    Thanks Sunil. I’m part of that majority and I am moving on.

  4. artemislexea
    January 13, 2011 at 12:24 PM

    Hi! I was wondering, how can a person tell that you’ve linked to them or mentioned them in one of your blog posts? Does that person get a notification or something?

    • January 13, 2011 at 8:10 PM

      There is something called trackbacks in wordpress and most other blog platform. If you place a link, then the software will try to notify that blog that a blog is linking to their post.
      In some cases, you may not place a link, but you might respond to a blog post by adding the link as a trackback separately. Anyone reading the blog will not see the link, but the owner of the blog will see it.
      Ultimately, the blogger will have the option to publish the trackback. If he/she does that, it will appear as a trackback in the comment section. There are a lot of spam trackbacks, so you need to verify that the post is really related to you before you publish the trackback.

      Blogspot does not use trackback, but since it is owned by google, the trackback happens at the google end. When google sees a blog post linking to a blogspot blog, it will try to link it.

      Hope that answers your question.

      • artemislexea
        January 13, 2011 at 10:53 PM

        It does! Thanks!!! =)

  5. January 13, 2011 at 3:54 PM

    I’m glad you’ve been publishing your posts in order to express your opinion and standing up for the blogging community.
    I still haven’t read her last post but one thing is sure, she do not seems to be open minded and for this reason, reading a such blog is not really interesting, or at least it could be just to study it as an exemple of narrow minded personnality !
    Let’s move on something more positive about blogging or everything else.

    • January 13, 2011 at 3:56 PM

      Thank you, my sentiments exactly. 🙂 Time for another “or not” posting. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

