Home > Blogging, Housekeeping, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Housekeeping Can Be A Chore

Housekeeping Can Be A Chore

Housekeeping is a choreWith the challenge well on its way and blogging buddies a great success, it’s time to get down to some housekeeping – on the blog that is. This is what’s bugging me today.

Well, it’s not so much bugging me but it is a chore!

I’m not sure about the rest of you, but I put this blog fairly quickly. I found a simple clean theme to work with knowing I could always change it. I’ve added things haphazardly and it’s now time to clean it up a bit.

You will see some changes over the next few days with new pages added and hopefully a new theme.  Which brings me to today.

I’ve always read that there are four principal pages every new blog should have and a navigation bar listing the pages either at the top or in the side panel.

  • Home
  • About
  • Archives
  • Contact

Since most of us here have our blogs on WordPress, not a self-hosted domain name, the theme we select takes care of the first two pages.  The other two are fairly easy to add. It’s important to have a Contact page because some visitors may not want to post a comment but would prefer to send you an email.

But not all themes support a navigation bar at the top. The theme I am using,  The Journalist v1.9, does not come with the navigation bar at the top. I liked this feature at first but not sure about it now.  One thing I’ve tried to do during my visits to blogs is to make a note of the blog themes I like and don’t like.

I know that if you’re a techie you can edit CSS, but I’m talking to some new bloggers who just want the basics and to able to work with the options available in their theme.

Another important item you should have on your page is a way for your readers to subscribe. Remember not all visitors to your blog are WordPress members. Add your email subscription form to the side panel, along with giving your readers the ability to subscribe to your RSS news feed.

Well that’s enough for today, time to get to my housekeeping.

This is what’s bugging me today! 😉

p.s I’ve decided to put the other blog, Your Place to Rant,  on hold for now but more on that later.

leave a comment »

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 15, 2011 at 7:45 AM

    Thanks for the idea of a contact page. I never thought about someone not wanting to leave a comment. Learning new stuff every day!

  2. January 15, 2011 at 8:02 AM

    Hello Rose…I am technically challenged and my friend Cindy set up my wordpress page for me.
    That reminds me…I must ask her to help me put on something about the challenge…I seem to recall we are supposed to have that on our page?
    Another friend did the bit about me…I would never have described myself a QUEEN…a dragon maybe…but not a queen.

  3. January 15, 2011 at 8:43 AM

    I posted a similar post today, though mine is more related to my quest for the perfect design.
    http://akshul.com/2011/01/14/the-search-for-the-perfect-design/

    For new, non-techie bloggers, doing the design and other back-end stuff can be a chore. Plus the options to customize a wordpress hosted blog are very limited. These reasons were enough to make me shift to a self-hosted blog.

    • January 15, 2011 at 8:52 AM

      I haven’t yet got around to visiting today, I will be interested in reading it. I’m not a total non-techie, just know to handle one challenge at a time. It’s great when you have the skills. I did in the early days of the Internet but not today with all the new platforms available. Will be by later. 🙂

      • January 15, 2011 at 8:54 AM

        I am not a non-techie either, quite the opposite in fact. If you want any sorta help with the new platforms, I would be glad to help. 🙂

        • January 15, 2011 at 9:01 AM

          Thanks, I just might take you up on that offer, once things settle down a bit for me. 🙂

  4. January 15, 2011 at 10:17 AM

    I wanted to have a contact page too on my blog but it seems that there is no widget like yours available with my layout ! So I don’t really know how to do one !
    That’s too a good idea too about RSS, I should had once too! 🙂
    I can’t wait to see your “new” blog!! 🙂

    • January 15, 2011 at 10:26 AM

      Thanks, 🙂 I’ve looked at your theme you might have to do it with a custom form. Go in to add a new page, top line where it says upload/insert the last icon is to insert custom form. Try that , hopefully it will work for you.
      You already have an RSS feed so you are set there.
      Let me know how it turns out. 🙂

      • January 15, 2011 at 2:19 PM

        I did realize after publishing the comment… I just forget about add the Rss feed button ! 🙂
        Thanks for the tips about contact form, I didn’t even know where it was and how to do it! It’s done now !! 🙂

        • January 15, 2011 at 2:23 PM

          Thanks, you’re another that I’ve helped today and you know that puts a smile on my face. 🙂

  5. January 15, 2011 at 11:27 AM

    Maybe you could help me understand something…what is the RSS feed? I see it on the bottom of my page and on others..when I click on it, I get a whole bunch of clusters of letters/numbers/symbols that don’t make any sense to me. I have come across blogs that only have the RSS subscription, but I can’t figure out how to use it, understand it. I am very thankful to those that have the email subscription option!

    • January 15, 2011 at 11:57 AM

      Stacey, the RSS is a news feed so people can read your blog through Google Reader, My Yahoo and other platforms. I just checked out your page and your Subscribe RSS is working fine. You could be getting confused with the Meta that you have listed at the bottom. You’ve either put that widget on your page or left it there with the theme you’re using. If you don’t use that to sign in, I would remove the widget from your page. Hope this helps. 🙂

  6. January 15, 2011 at 11:59 AM

    Excellent post

    I need to sort out the RSS feeds for comments and posts. Added the little widgets but never labelled them.

    I tried loads of blog themes before I settled on the one I am using.

    • January 15, 2011 at 12:07 PM

      Thanks PiP, the widgets on this were easy to set up. I’ve been trying out different themes on another blog I set up and never used. Testing it there before I do it here. But then I visit a blog and see it in real action and not quite sure about it.
      It will probably take me a few more days to decide which one to use.
      Plenty of other housekeeping to do. 😉

  7. Dillon
    January 15, 2011 at 1:07 PM

    Hadn’t realized the importance of a contact page. Maybe I’ll add one later today.

    • January 15, 2011 at 1:16 PM

      Dillon, it’s amazing how many people tend to overlook this. It goes a long way towards building confidence in your readers. 🙂

  8. January 16, 2011 at 4:07 PM

    Yes Classyrose you have also helped me – I never gave a contact form a second thought, so thanks!

    • January 16, 2011 at 4:14 PM

      You’re welcome! It’s always a good idea to have one. 🙂

  1. January 17, 2011 at 8:21 AM
  2. January 22, 2011 at 7:01 AM
  3. January 23, 2011 at 6:29 AM
  4. January 25, 2011 at 11:27 AM
  5. January 29, 2011 at 8:40 AM
  6. February 5, 2011 at 4:40 AM

Leave a Reply

