Home > or not, WordPress Challenge > or not – It’s Been Four Years Mom – Ti amo

or not – It’s Been Four Years Mom – Ti amo

Four years ago today I lost my Mom to stomach cancer. She was the fourth in my family to die of this terrible disease. I lost my Dad in ’98 to leukemia after he had survived prostate cancer, my oldest brother in ’02 to liver cancer and an older sister in ’04 to ovarian cancer. I miss them all.

The holidays are always such a difficult time for me. I miss my Mom so much and for some reason this past holiday season was the worst of them all. When we offer our condolences to others we all seem to say it gets better with time but does it really? It seems was I able to deal with it better just after she died, but now I can’t think of her without crying and missing her.

She was a courageous woman, emigrating in 1952 to the new world with 5 children on a ship across the ocean, to join her husband who was working to build a new life for them in Canada. There were 3 more children born in Canada.

There was one particular moment this past Christmas when I just couldn’t stop thinking of her and I wrote this piece in the wee hours on Christmas day. Today I want to share it with you.

Can Magic Make A Wish Come True

Watching the snow swirling and seeing the snowman come to life in the movie “Jack Frost” starring Michael Keaton, stirred some emotional memories.

A little boy plays a magic harmonica that was given to him by his father before he died, and the snowman the boy built, in the image of his father comes to life. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if things like this could really happen.

If I could make a wish it would be to bring back someone special in my life, my Mom. She would have celebrated her 90th birthday this month, and next month is the 4th anniversary of her death.

I miss her dearly and there were so many things left unsaid. Oh, she knew I loved her and how much I cared for her, and appreciated her. But if I could have Mom back for just a few hours to tell her how much I miss her and love her, say thank you for all she’s ever done for me, my daughter and all her family and friends.

Magic, can it make a wish come true?

http://worldwish.org/

Β© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

This content may not be copied, distributed or adapted by anyone under any circumstances.

leave a comment Β»

  1. January 16, 2011 at 7:09 AM

    You just told her. πŸ™‚

    • January 16, 2011 at 9:02 AM

      Thank you, that means a lot. πŸ™‚

  2. Daytrader
    January 16, 2011 at 8:03 AM

    Thanks for sharing a very private moment with us.

    • January 16, 2011 at 9:04 AM

      I thought it would be difficult, but it wasn’t. πŸ™‚

  3. January 16, 2011 at 11:12 AM

    Hello Rose…my thoughts are with you…so hard to let go.
    My Dad left us in 1987 and there are still times I want to share something with him.
    My second husband passed away in 1986 and I think about him just about every day…no longer sad thoughts…just memories.
    Such a lovely post.

    • January 16, 2011 at 12:18 PM

      Thanks Granny, usually it’s fond memories but this year was hard. Maybe because she would have been 90, a milestone! πŸ™‚

  4. January 16, 2011 at 12:33 PM

    My sympathies Rose. I don’t think it ever gets easier. It hasn’t for me and it’s been 6 years. If you find that magic, please tell me where it is so I can get some too!

    • January 16, 2011 at 1:23 PM

      Thank you, as long as you promise to do the same. πŸ™‚

  5. January 16, 2011 at 3:50 PM

    She’s your mom Rosemary, she has always known what was in your heart.

    • January 16, 2011 at 4:11 PM

      I know Barb, I was with her to the end.

  6. Dillon
    January 16, 2011 at 4:43 PM

    I’m so sorry. I lost my dad in 2002 to cancer. They never determined what kind it was, but by the time they found it, it was already spread through his whole body. He would have turned 60 this May.

    Your mom sounds like an amazing woman. Have a great week πŸ™‚

    • January 16, 2011 at 4:52 PM

      I’m so sorry to hear that, he was so young. My mom was amazing, she still cooked the holiday dinners that year and made dinner for the family a week before she died.

  7. January 18, 2011 at 3:37 PM

    Hi Rose, So many of your family lost to Cancer a truly terrible disease. My thoughts are with you my dear friend
    PiP

    • January 18, 2011 at 9:59 PM

      Thanks PiP for your kind words and your thoughts. I have many good memories of her and I promise I will share more over the next year.

  8. February 13, 2011 at 11:40 PM

    I recently saw an interview with Nancy Reagan. She spoke of her beloved Ronnie and how difficult it is even after all these years. My mom has expressed these same feelings about her mom and her best friend. She thinks of them daily and misses them tremendously. We can honor our loved ones by sharing our wonderful memories of them with friends and family. They will live forever in our hearts!

    • February 13, 2011 at 11:51 PM

      Hi Jeanne, I don’t think a day goes by that I don’t think of my Mom. And actually today, (21311) is my Dad’s birthday so I’ve been thinking about him too! He’s been gone almost 13 years now. I have good memories of all of them. Thank you for taking the time to read this. πŸ™‚

  9. February 14, 2011 at 9:48 PM

    Ohmygod.. what sadness you’ve experienced within your immediate family. 😦
    Very nicely written piece… I’m glad I came across this from Eliz’s blog hop…

    • February 14, 2011 at 9:52 PM

      It’s been rough but there’s not much you can do about it. Thanks for stopping by BabyBird. πŸ™‚

  10. tbaoo
    February 15, 2011 at 4:08 AM

    i wish !! -thank you

  11. February 16, 2011 at 4:18 AM

    It’s never easy losing a parent at any age and so my heart goes out to you… Your mom must be watching over you and every time you make a wish, she nudges your spirit to remind you she’s around… Magic wishes do come true… in their own fashion. πŸ™‚
    Thanks for your contribution to the bloghop! πŸ˜‰
    Elizabeth

  12. February 16, 2011 at 7:37 AM

    Thanks Elizabeth. I need to visit the bloghop but I’ve been so busy here. Should be able to visit some today. πŸ™‚

  1. January 30, 2011 at 10:24 AM

Leave a Reply

