Home > What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Human Spammers Posing as Genuine Bloggers

Human Spammers Posing as Genuine Bloggers

STOP SPAM

As some of you know, I had another blog set up, Your Place to Rant, where WordPress members who didn’t want to post a rant on their own blog, could come to rant. Don’t bother clicking on the link, I’ve changed it to private. After reading another blogger’s post on Human Spammers, I came back and checked mine and found that I was also a victim. This is what’s bugging me today!

Because I set it up as a Group blog where any registered WordPress member could post, they just came along and started posting either a rant or a comment. That also brought them over to this blog and they posted comments here too. They are a pest, a nuisance and I did not want to have to deal with them every day. When I realized this I changed the other blog so I would have to approve every post and comment before it appeared and then slowly realized that this would end up taking a lot of my time which I would rather spend writing or reading. So this weekend I shut it down.

They leave the same comments on blogs all over the Internet and if you do a search on the comment you will find it listed thousands of times. I am not going to rehash every thing that  you can read in the post, but what I want to do is give some ideas on what to look out for. Akismet catches the most common ones, but I’ve found that the WordPress Challenge has brought out more of them.

  • comments that are pretty generic
  • brand new blog started for the challenge
  • gravatar has nothing listed but their name
  • about page not updated
  • name not linked to blog

Now I know that there are still new bloggers out there who haven’t linked their names and not updated their profile on their Gravatar and this is in no way meant to discredit them. If you are one of them please read Bloggers With No Links. Personalize your blog in some way, update your About page, include links to your favourite blogs or sites you visit. Add something to show people you are a real blogger.

When someone new leaves a comment on my blog, I check out the blog before I approve it. If it’s a new blog and questionable I go back to the comment that was left and search Google for the phrase using quotes to match it exactly. If I don’t like the results, the comment doesn’t get approved.

Be careful when you’re approving your comments. They are just looking for links.

This is what’s bugging me today!

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 17, 2011 at 8:10 AM

    I learned a lot.I will write about page more detail.Thanks.

  2. January 17, 2011 at 8:45 AM

    This is something that has never entered my mind. I just don’t understand people at all sometimes! Why would they want to do that? You can bet that I will be much more careful before approving comments. Thanks Rose! Whether you know it or not, you’re making me a better blogger!

    • January 17, 2011 at 8:58 AM

      The Internet and the ‘blogosphere’ is just so complicated these days and there is so much to learn. If I can share tips like this with other bloggers to help them then there are less of us that they can take advantage of. 🙂

  3. January 17, 2011 at 12:31 PM

    Great post. Unlike my situation, I was being branded as a spammer when I wasn’t. But for those who are human spammers, these tips are excellent. Great post.

    • January 17, 2011 at 12:36 PM

      I would have hated to be in your position but I am glad you finally sorted it out. The only problem, is that they are reading these posts as well and are adapting to it. It seems like it’s a never ending battle. Thanks for visiting. 🙂

  4. January 17, 2011 at 1:33 PM

    I totally agree with you. You give great advice to. I don’t know what I would do without Akismet. It’s so great to catch most of the spam, but then there’s the some that sneak passed it and it’s so aggravating.
    I wondered how you controlled spammers on your other blog. I think it’s sad that you had to shut it down.
    I commend you for trying to build a place to help us all if we needed it. I’m sad that all your work was taken advantage of and ruined.

    Thanks so much for being here for us and giving helpful advice and guidance.
    🙂

    • January 17, 2011 at 1:45 PM

      Thanks E.C., I try. I haven’t given up on the other blog yet. Turning around different ideas but it was just easier to shut it down for now. Too much of a headache, and on this blog it’s pure pleasure! 🙂

  5. January 17, 2011 at 1:54 PM

    ok. i’m new. what do these human spammers actually DO? do i need to be afraid?

    • January 17, 2011 at 2:01 PM

      They can comment all over your blog, looking for links, saying they will tweet your post and link back to you and then they don’t. They are a nuisance and I would rather not deal with them. You should really read the bloggers post on Human Spammers and all the dealings she had with one of them. It will help you understand it better.

  6. January 17, 2011 at 3:08 PM

    What a pity one gets people like this. What do they gain from it?
    On my other platform(I copy my WP post to it) there are a couple of Blogtrolls who come on and leave very personal and hurtful comments.
    I actually left the other platform to come here(I love WP) but when the Troll told me not to come back I got stubborn…hate being told what to do…he appears to be leaving me alone now but I just don’t understand what sort of kick people get from being just plain nasty.
    Now look what I’ve done….I have had a rant on YOUR post…sorry,lol.

    • January 17, 2011 at 3:12 PM

      They gain links, which helps them with the search engines. I’m pretty stubborn myself and you can have your little rant here. Read the entire header of my blog. 🙂

  7. Dillon
    January 17, 2011 at 7:07 PM

    Wow, that’s almost kinda creepy. I guess I was pretty lucky starting out to find blogs like yours and everyone else’s that I follow to show me how to get going properly! As to generic comments, I’ve already discovered that the “Like” button is best if I don’t have anything specific or relevant to say. I’ll go read the articles you linked to now… 🙂

    • January 17, 2011 at 7:13 PM

      Yes, but sometimes they take their time and work up to it. You’re safe in clicking the Like button, at least they know you were there and liked it. 🙂

  8. January 18, 2011 at 4:06 PM

    Very imformative post Classy Rose. They are fleas and leeches

    • January 18, 2011 at 10:02 PM

      They are worse than fleas, but I’m too polite to use the words. 🙂

  9. January 21, 2011 at 4:03 PM

    This is great information Rosemary. I took your advice, read “Bloggers With No Links”, and I have now taken the steps to personalize my blog with links to my name and updated my profile on my Gravatar. Thanks for the advice.
    btw – I am back home from vacation!

    • January 21, 2011 at 4:10 PM

      Welcome back! I hope you had a great time. We’ll talk soon. 🙂

  10. Lisa
    February 13, 2011 at 9:19 PM

    Thanks for this post. I’ve been slowly learning how to recognize the spam from the real posts. Another hint, I find, is if the comment is made on a really old post rather than your most recent posts. (Of course sometimes those can be legitimate, but my spam tends to end up on past posts).

    • February 13, 2011 at 9:26 PM

      Hi Lisa, mine have always been on recent posts but it was really only when I first started the blog. Now that there are so many comments I’m not really getting any but I still watch out for them. 🙂

  1. January 17, 2011 at 9:08 PM

Leave a Reply

