Home > Blogging, or not, WordPress Challenge > or not – Hoping That Someone Will …

or not – Hoping That Someone Will …

Button up

Image via Wikipedia

Everyone is probably checking their stats and looking to see if they are going up or down.  I’m pretty sure that everyone who has really engaged in the challenge and teamed up with a blogging buddy or two has. But now we’re all probably hoping that it will continue.

I know I was asking myself all these questions when I started my blog.

  • Will anyone press the Like button?
  • Will anyone leave a comment?
  • Will anyone rate the post or the page?
  • Will anyone subscribe to my blog?
  • Will anyone use the Contact Me form?
  • Will my visitors increase?
  • Will I have return visitors?
  • Will anyone add me to their blogroll?
  • Will my writing improve?
  • Will I have enough to write about every day?

Since the challenge started I’ve grown more confident and I’m not afraid to push the publish button anymore. I also know my writing has improved because the grammar and spellcheck has stopped telling me its passive voice and to change it to active voice. That was a nasty little habit of mine. It is so nice to hit the ABC button and have it say ‘No writing errors were found’.

Oh, I still have a way to go, but I do know that the more I write, the more comfortable I am about writing. For anyone who missed the post on writing, check out the related articles below.

What were you hoping for? Did you get it?

I’ve set up the above questions as a poll on a new page I’ve added today.

Won’t you please take a minute and vote to let me know how you were feeling when you started the challenge.

You will also find an infographic of The Evolution of the Blogger has just been added.

I’m happy to say you answered all my hopes.  Thank you. 🙂

There is nothing bugging me today!

🙂

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 18, 2011 at 8:40 AM

    I think that you have captured here almost everything we all were thinking when we joined the challenge. I love The Evolution of the Blogger!
    ~ shell

    • January 18, 2011 at 9:20 AM

      Thanks, I forgot I had that bookmarked until last night. I am glad you love it! 🙂

  2. January 20, 2011 at 5:02 PM

    I have dyslexic fingers and my thoughts do not always translate to the written word. I am also in trouble for using the “passive voice” and spend hours deliberating what to write. Can anyone recommend a good “FREE” grammer checker,please?

    • January 20, 2011 at 5:14 PM

      Hey PiP, but sometimes it’s better left in the passive voice because it sounds more natural, like you’re really to talking to your readers. I think it all depends on what it is you’re writing. I think for blogging the passive is fine.
      I have found free grammar checkers, but they just told me there were so many errors and if I wanted to fix it, I would have to sign up and pay for it. I’ll let you know if I come across anything. 🙂

  3. Fearless Expressioner
    February 3, 2011 at 8:15 AM

    I guess I am in the begginging stages. I started this challenge a couple days ago, and I struggle with these question daily. Although I have seen traffic increase I still have yet to get any likes or comments. However, I have developed a new sense of pride in myself. I am not going to give up and look forward to seeing my blog grow!

  1. February 21, 2011 at 12:03 PM

Leave a Reply

