Home > What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > People who tell me what’s good for me

People who tell me what’s good for me

Okay, there’s been enough “or not” days, it’s time for a rant today!Things in life I find annoying

What I find annoying are people who have no understanding of what it’s like to live with Crohn’s Disease and food sensitivities, yet insist on telling me what foods are good for me. This is what’s bugging me today!

There are plenty of foods which are good for you but not for me. Why? I don’t know.

The doctors don’t know. I’ve given up trying to figure it out, I just accept it and adjust my diet.

Yet, people still want to question my choice in food.

Why don’t you eat whole grain bread it’s good for you? It may be good for you but it’s not for me. I used to eat whole wheat bread, but now I’ve come to realize that causes me pain, yet eating a plain white bagel is fine. Why? I don’t know.

Just over a year ago, I really wasn’t feeling well and couldn’t figure out why. It seemed like everything I ate caused me pain. It was so painful, I could barely walk. After fiddling around with my diet for weeks, I determined that the cheese I was eating was causing me pain. I love my cheese! But I hate the pain. No more cheese in my diet. Why? I don’t know.

I would also be questioned about drinking whole milk instead of 2%. Whole milk is better for me because it has more fat and more calories and being skinny I need all I can get. But recently I found that milk causes me extreme pain, not all dairy products, just milk. I can now eat cheese and have butter, but not milk. Why? I don’t know.

Things in life I find annoyingNow one thing you guys don’t know about me is that I’m a caffeine addict. Yes, I am addicted to coffee, don’t ask my how many cups a day I have. I refuse to count them. Do not take my coffee away from me. I like drinking my coffee with 2 sugars and 1 milk, but I’ve had to start drinking it without the milk. It’s not bad, it’s just not the same. But every once in a while, I give myself a treat and add some Kahlua or Tia Maria. Now that’s flavoured coffee!!

I wish I had the answers. Doctors don’t have any answers for me, but still people want to question me on my choice of foods. They know I’ve lived with Crohn’s Disease for 30 years and have always watched my diet. I know what my body is telling me and I don’t need people telling me what’s good for me.

This is what’s bugging me today!

Related Info:

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 20, 2011 at 3:21 AM

    You know your body better than anyone else, stop listening to them and trust your own instincts/intuition and in the meantime enjoy your food so long as it doesn’t cause you pain. Interesting article.

    • January 20, 2011 at 10:38 AM

      I don’t listen to them, I just get tired of hearing it. 🙂

  2. January 20, 2011 at 5:12 AM

    I am not sure what makes them an authority on what is good for you. According to some people, anything that cannot be eaten raw is not meant for human consumption. It is not my idea, I read it in some news article. According to that article, wheat, rice etc are not a natural human food.
    As for me, I only eat what I like. I could starve for a day or 2, or just survive on some snack, but I still won’t eat what unless I like it.

    • January 20, 2011 at 10:42 AM

      It’s not a matter of what I like, it’s what my body likes. I love corn on the cob but don’t dare eat it unless I’m prepared to deal with the consequences. Been there, no thanks! 🙂

  3. January 20, 2011 at 12:04 PM

    Well Rose, and this is being bad, ask them where they got their medical degree. When they reply they don’t have a medical degree, tell them to “bugger off!” And say it with a British accent! lol

    I’m not usually the kind of person that would do something like that, but people who think they know better than doctors are so very arrogant! You’re doing what you do to stay healthy and it’s really no ones business but your own. Good luck!
    ~ shell

    • January 20, 2011 at 12:10 PM

      It’s just that the media is always talking about eating healthy and how many people are overweight because of the lousy food they are eating. People don’t realize that if you have something like Crohn’s you can’t listen to that, but have to listen to your own body. Crohn’s affects each person differently, and we all have our own stories. People just don’t get it! 🙂

  4. Jen
    January 20, 2011 at 12:11 PM

    I have gluten-intolerance with a lot of other food sensitivities, my sister has full-blown Celiac, and my best friend has Crohn’s. I can’t tell you how many times we have ranted on this same subject matter to each other! Oy!

    I understand that people are often trying to be kind and they just come across as being pushy. I get it. But it still rubs me the wrong way. What I can’t stand, though, are those that have taken health and food choices and turned it into a moral issue and proselytize their way of eating and living. Their choices work for them, and that’s fine. But they don’t necessarily work for me and my body, or for others. (Eat Paleo! Eat Vegan! Eat Raw! Eat Vegetarian!)

    The best thing anyone can do for themselves and others is to listen to their own body and do the best for their own body and leave other people’s bodies alone!

    I don’t think this is a true rant. 🙂

    • January 20, 2011 at 12:18 PM

      Thanks Jen, well it’s a polite rant for me. I’m getting things off my chest. I’m with you, those that get on the health kick always think they know what’s best and they don’t because each person is different, whether suffering with Crohn’s or not. I’ve been listening to my body for 30 years and especially after my surgery 16 years ago. 🙂

  5. January 20, 2011 at 12:12 PM

    Hi Rose,
    I agree you must go with the foods that are proven right for you. Some foods MIGHT be good for you but if they don’t agree with you than for you, they are not. We each get to understand our own bodies. I love bread but if I eat it, I blow up like a barrage balloon! “Vent your spleen” as thy say. you’re entitled to

    • January 20, 2011 at 12:21 PM

      Hi PiP, I love bread especially freshly baked, but I’m trying to take it easy right now. They seem to come and go so I’m hoping to be eating more bread and drinking milk again in a few months. It’s tough, but it’s something I’ve learned to live with.
      Just another thing I’ve been wanting to say for a long time and the response has been great. Makes me feel so much better knowing I am not alone in this. 🙂

  6. January 21, 2011 at 5:08 PM

    No-one knows your body like you do; if we listen, our bodies tell us what it likes and doesn’t like, but a lot of people don’t take note of what it’s trying to tell them.
    My husband has suffered with severe migraines all his life and for years we tried to fathom what triggered them off. It was only when he started listening to his body that he realized it was certain food combinations that were triggering an attack. If he had cheese one day and perhaps an orange the same day – he would have a migraine, onions one day and cheese (even the next day) – he would have an attack. So we adjusted his diet so that he doesn’t have those combination foods over a two day period, and it works! Sometimes he forgets though – and pays the price!
    I’m sure you have learned not to listen to other people Rosemary – you know your own body better than them – and you know what it doesn’t need or like!

    • January 21, 2011 at 5:14 PM

      Barb, I stopped listening to them years ago, but they still insist on saying it! Another thing I finally had to say to get it out of me. I’m glad you determined what was triggering the migraines. Must be difficult trying to prepare a meal, I know what it’s like. So many just run to the doctor for a pill which only treats the symptoms and not the cause. I’d rather find out the cause. 🙂

  7. January 24, 2011 at 4:54 AM

    Not specifically for food, but I don’t like people who go around telling others whats good/bad for them. I prefer the live and let live motto. Everyone should live, laugh, eat, drink enjoy in their own way 🙂

    • January 24, 2011 at 5:35 AM

      I’m with you on that Akshay!! 🙂

  1. February 10, 2011 at 7:27 AM

Leave a Reply

