Home > or not, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Tired Eyes From Reading…

Tired Eyes From Reading…

Participating in the WordPress PostADay2011 Challenge is taking its toll on my eyes.

Visiting the sites of other bloggers and switching from light coloured backgrounds with dark texts, which my eyes like, and then arriving at the blogs with dark coloured backgrounds with light text can really tire my eyes. This is what’s bugging me today.

Actually, it was bugging me when the challenge started.

Now, don’t get me wrong here, the sites look fantastic but my poor little eyes don’t like the dark backgrounds. Put that together with a small font size and it’s a little difficult to read. I know I can’t be the only one having trouble with this.

When I started working with computers in the 70’s it was green text on a black background. After a couple of months, daily headaches and finally a visit to the eye doctor told me I needed eyeglasses but for distance only. Once I got the eyeglasses the headaches disappeared. Now I only wear them for watching television and driving, but never for reading.

I’ve tried out a few different bookmarklets and they each have their good points and bad. I have three of them for you.

The first one is Notforest, it strips away all the distractions like flash ads, and just leaves the text of the article or blog post you want to read. It centers the article in the middle of the page and it also increases the font size making it easier to read. All hyperlinks remain active and if you click on one it takes you out of Notforest view and goes to the page.

The second one is Readability. This is similar to Notforest for use on articles or postings,  but gives you the added options to email or print the page. One thing I’ve noticed is that not all hyperlinks remain intact if they are at the bottom of the page.

click here for Chrome

click here for Firefox

The third one is ‘a lovely bookmarklet’.  This one changes a dark background to white, and white and coloured text to black with everything else still in place. However, if you click on a link to another page you have to click on the bookmarklet again. This can be a little annoying but at least you can read the page now and not go blind.

I found it in a blog posting on 456 Berea Street and how I installed it on my tool bar. I’ve tried to post it here but can’t seem to get it to work so you will have to go to his blog posting and click on the link in the update to his post.

One of his readers left it in a comment.

Of the three, I would say that a lovely bookmarklet is my favourite.

Now there is nothing bugging me today! 😉

Related Articles:

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 21, 2011 at 8:20 AM

    Rose, I hope that mine is readable. I tried playing around with typekit, but it made it worse! All of the typekit fonts looked exactly the same to me. I’m not sure what the issue is. It could be my broswer.
    We gotta watch out for those eyes, don’t ‘cha know!
    ~ shell

    • January 21, 2011 at 8:25 AM

      The font is a little small but I’m usually okay with it. I’ve had the Notforest for a few weeks now and I use that when my eyes are tired. I haven’t tried the typekit and with what you’re saying, I think I will hold off on it. 🙂

  2. January 21, 2011 at 8:29 AM

    Fair point and something I hadn’t considered. It never crossed my mind that my choice of theme/text/colour scheme might affect my readers. I’m not sure where I stand on this one but I’m fairly new to WordPress and am already on my second choice of theme and haven’t yet downloaded any extras to make it more appealing. Bear with me, I’ll take a fresh look at it and see if I can help those eyes of yours.

    • January 21, 2011 at 8:36 AM

      You have to choose a theme you like and are happy with. Just keep in mind the type of readers you are trying to attract and whether they will stay or not. Don’t worry about it, I just use one of the little bookmarklets and the problem is solved. 🙂

      I’m usually okay, but on the days when I’m doing a lot of reading, that’s when they eyes get tired out. 🙂

  3. January 21, 2011 at 10:05 AM

    I think these are great tools to help with eye strain and the like. I know quite a few people who might benefit from using these. Have fun with blogging every day!

    • January 21, 2011 at 10:10 AM

      Thanks Tom, anyone I’ve already told just loves them. I have all three loaded and use the best one for the page I’m on. 🙂

  4. January 21, 2011 at 5:23 PM

    Great information Rose, and I can add to that by sharing a little shortcut I found out about from a friend.
    If you need to increase the size of the font, press Ctrl + till it’s a comfortable reading size for you. To return to it’s original size, press Ctrl – (minus).
    Hope this helps some of you guys – I find it invaluable.

    • January 22, 2011 at 2:47 AM

      Wow Barb19…I can finally remove my nose from the screen! What an absolutely brill tip!

      Re colours I personally find red backrounds on blogs makes the text difficult to read. Google spends ages experimenting with different colours and shades so it could be worth looking at their home page. I am a sunny person so I made my blog background an offwhite/yellow colour.

  5. January 21, 2011 at 5:29 PM

    Thanks Barb, I know those keyboard shortcuts and meant to add them and forgot. So I will do it here for whoever comes along and reads it.

    CTRL + to increase font size
    CTRL – to decrease font size
    CTRL 0 (zero) to reset.

    🙂

  6. January 22, 2011 at 6:15 AM

    Hi Rose…I am technically challenged…I will not attempt to change anything on my post…friends set it up for me…will send them here to have a look,though.

    • January 22, 2011 at 6:40 AM

      Hi Granny, I’m not saying you or anyone else should change their posts. I wanted to let everyone know about the neat little bookmarklets that make the blogs easier to read for people like me. I have my bookmarklets now and my keyboard shortcuts to use and it’s made it much easier. I will by to read your Saturday post soon. 🙂

  7. January 22, 2011 at 5:28 PM

    Rose, did you try using Google reader? I think you have already posted about RSS, so you should have used it. Anyway if you are using it, you can have all the posts in the same place, without having to click on different bookmarks, and go to the blog only to post comments. You also have the option to email a post, star a post you like etc etc…
    Of course, in some cases, you will get only the start of the blog through RSS as the authors want you to be on the site. Do give it a try.

  8. January 22, 2011 at 6:47 PM

    Thanks Sunil, I like visiting the blogs to see what’s new. Most everyone is still new at this so they are changing and adding things all the time. I use Google Reader, WordPress and then the emails to read what I can, but then still visit to add my comment and read what the others are saying. I’m one of the ones that just gives you the start. I like having you visit me. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

