Home > Blogging, Housekeeping, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Housekeeping ‘IS’ a Chore

Housekeeping ‘IS’ a Chore

Housekeeping is a choreIt’s Saturday, which means it’s time for some blog housekeeping again. This is what’s bugging me today!

Last weekend was busy for me, as I decided to change my theme and there is still some work to do. I’ve seen a lot of updated blogs this week, with new pages, new themes and many of you have also updated your about pages and written a post on it. It’s a great way for us to get to know you.

I still haven’t done mine. Oh, I did a little update to it saying I would add more but just can’t seem to sit down and write about myself and put myself out there. It’s easy to do here on the blog because I’m usually telling a story about what is or isn’t bugging me and it serves a purpose. But I know I need to do it and give you a little more about myself.

I’m making a commitment to update my about page over the next few days, as long as I can hit the publish button when I’m done.

How many of you are in the same position as me?

It’s nice to see everyone is displaying the PostADay2011 & PostAWeek2011 badges proudly on their blogs. Did it feel good putting it there? I know it did for me. πŸ™‚

Here are some of my housekeeping chores for the weekend.

  • cleaning up my tags and settle on the main ones to use
  • review my Categories
  • review the blog and add links to other postings

The last one could take a bit of time, but it’s easier to do it now before the job gets so huge that I won’t want to do it. Why is this important? Linking to past articles and other pages on your blog increases your page views and keeps the reader on your blog.

This also helps to Improve Your Search Rankings and receive more visitors to your blog. Listing related articles at the bottom of your post is a great way to do it, but you can also link to other posts/pages within your posts by marking a word or phrase in bold and linking to it.

I have my work cut out for me this weekend.

This is what’s bugging me today!

πŸ™‚

Recommended Reading

Β© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 22, 2011 at 7:17 AM

    Good luck! I also do my best.

    • January 22, 2011 at 7:22 AM

      Thanks cocomino. Good luck to you too!
      πŸ™‚

  2. January 22, 2011 at 7:23 AM

    You’re always teaching me new things Rose – linking back to my previous posts!
    ~ shell

    • January 22, 2011 at 7:26 AM

      I love teaching people new things. It’s just my nature! πŸ™‚

  3. January 22, 2011 at 10:00 AM

    I think that I am going to learn a lot from you. At least, you may encourage me. I have been tweaking my blog a lot too, lately. Anyway, I have added you to my blogroll, so I can keep with your ideas.

    • January 22, 2011 at 10:15 AM

      Hi Bob, your blog looks pretty solid. Can I suggest a small tweak that was suggested to me? Place your Top Posts at the top of your side-bar underneath your copyright information. You want to draw your readers attention to the popular posts. Doing this helps keep them on your blog to read what is so popular and hopefully subscribe. It certainly helped me. Will definitely visit after I get some housekeeping done. πŸ˜‰

  4. January 22, 2011 at 10:38 AM

    What a great idea! One that I should have thought of. Thanks a lot, already. πŸ™‚

    • January 22, 2011 at 11:18 AM

      Bob, your photos are amazing! Thanks for the listing and I’m sure you would have thought of moving it. I just helped you along. πŸ™‚

  5. January 22, 2011 at 1:25 PM

    Oh my word….how to make me feel gulity…I don’t know how to do any of that stuff…maybe I should go on a course somewhere?
    I must learn how to link to an earlier post…I so enjoyed writing the first post I ever put on WP…which I had copied from another platform…of course, being my first post, hardly anyone saw it.

  6. January 22, 2011 at 1:34 PM

    Granny, it’s easy to link to an earlier post. Here is your chance to show off the first post. The following has instructions on how to do it when you’re adding your post. Give it a try and let me know how you do. If you have any questions, let me know and maybe I can help you. πŸ™‚

    http://en.support.wordpress.com/links/

  7. January 22, 2011 at 5:04 PM

    You have no idea how much I have to do. But then I am still a bachelor, so you can’t expect much from me. πŸ˜‰

    • January 22, 2011 at 6:41 PM

      Sunil, that’s no excuse. πŸ™‚

  8. January 22, 2011 at 7:39 PM

    Wow !! You’re new blog is so lovely !! I really love it πŸ™‚
    I did not have much time to blog or read others blogs but I’m still here !! Keep goin on with the blog, it’s such a great work !! πŸ™‚

    • January 22, 2011 at 7:46 PM

      Thanks, You sound so excited about your work, I am so happy for you. We’ll be here when you do have time. Enjoy yourself. πŸ™‚

  9. January 22, 2011 at 8:29 PM

    I know what you mean, Classy Rose. I have added a background and taken it away. I took my tag cloud away recently – I can’t decide! And I need to work on my pages. One idea I’ve had but haven’t done yet is to change my header images each month – I used to do that on my AT blog, so that the header matched the season and terrain of my hike at the time. It is a lot of housekeeping, as the posting, thinking and writing take up plenty of time too! Thanks as always for your tips!

    • January 22, 2011 at 8:51 PM

      Thanks Carlaat, it is a lot to keep with it. I wouldn’t change the header too often. Readers get to recognize you that way. Try changing it for each new season instead of every month. That could work. πŸ™‚

  10. January 24, 2011 at 4:50 AM

    The changes you have made seem good. Much more functional now. πŸ™‚
    And thanks for the interlinking tip. Will do it a lot more from now on πŸ™‚

  11. January 24, 2011 at 5:33 AM

    Thanks Akshay. The other theme just wasn’t working for me without the navigational menu. It’s best to do the interlinking as you go along so the job doesn’t get too big. It’s a good way to bring forward a popular post from the past too. πŸ™‚

  1. January 23, 2011 at 6:29 AM
  2. January 23, 2011 at 8:22 PM
  3. January 24, 2011 at 5:22 AM
  4. January 26, 2011 at 1:26 AM
  5. January 26, 2011 at 2:53 PM
  6. January 29, 2011 at 8:40 AM
  7. February 5, 2011 at 4:40 AM

Leave a Reply

