Sleeplessness

Things in life I find annoying

I can't sleep!

I’ve had trouble sleeping lately with a sleep schedule that is just down-right wacky. Add to that not feeling well and this is what’s bugging me today!

My sleep schedule has been off for a while now. It started about a month ago when I wasn’t feeling well and didn’t know why.  I would take some Motrin and lay down for a short nap and wake up 6-8 hours later. That’s not a nap but a full night’s sleep for me.

For years now, I only get about 5-6 hours sleep and it seems to be enough. I know that everyone says you need a good 8 hours sleep but that’s something I just can’t do.

Yesterday was a real messed up day for sleeping. In the afternoon I wasn’t feeling well so I lay down for a nap and slept for a few hours. I still had to write today’s post and came to the computer. Read a few comments and posts and then found I was falling asleep reading. I was in no shape to sit and write and decided to lie down and sleep some more. I knew this meant I would be up in the middle of the night but there was no sense in fighting it.

So here it is, the middle of the night, or very early morning for some, and I’m just finishing off this post. I’m still not feeling too good, so that’s it for today. I still have plenty of housekeeping chores to do from the weekend and I should try to be well rested to tackle some of them.

This is what’s bugging me today!

🙂

Related Articles

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 24, 2011 at 5:56 AM

    Hi Rose,

    Sorry to here you are not feeling to grand. Take it easy! I hate it when I can’t sleep…

    • January 24, 2011 at 6:20 AM

      Thanks PiP, I’m pretty sure it was something I ate. Need to see how I react the next time I have it. 🙂

  2. January 24, 2011 at 6:18 AM

    Sorry to hear you are not feeling too good Rose. Sounds like your sleep pattern is out of whack too! Even if you only have 5-6 hours sleep, you need it regularly.
    Hope you get back into a proper sleep routine soon so you can be nice and refreshed to keep your great posts coming! Take care.

    • January 24, 2011 at 6:24 AM

      Thanks Barb, I need to stop napping during the day and force myself to stay awake. It is so hard to too though when I’m not feeling well and all I want to do is lay down and do nothing. It doesn’t help that it’s in the -20ºC’s and all I want to do is curl up under a blanket with my cat. She loves sleeping under the covers! 🙂

  3. January 24, 2011 at 8:11 AM

    Rose, I hope you get to feeling better soon. It’s so hard to not nap when your feeling bad. Take care of yourself, even if you have to miss a post or two! We’ll be here when you get back to it.

    • January 24, 2011 at 8:36 AM

      Thanks Seashell. It’s better though when I think of other things and try to forget about how I’m feeling. I’m not going to let a little pain stop me from posting. They may be a little shorter though. 🙂

  4. January 24, 2011 at 9:32 AM

    I really don’t know what to say. Should I just say “sleep tight”? 🙂 Sorry, I guess my morbid sense of humor is peeking through. 🙂

    Bob

    • January 24, 2011 at 9:34 AM

      Nah, it’s not morbid. I’m just going to try and stay up as long as possible and not nap. If I do nap, I’m going to set a couple of alarms. 🙂

  5. January 24, 2011 at 9:39 AM

    I don’t think you should feel guilty about a nap when you are under the weather. Naps are some of the best sleep I get. Hope you feel better.

  6. January 24, 2011 at 9:56 AM

    Yes, but not when naps turn into 8 hour sleeps. Thanks 🙂

  7. Dillon
    January 24, 2011 at 1:49 PM

    I often have the opposite problem — I sleep way too much. When I was in high school, I’d go to school, barely make it home before falling asleep, wake up to eat something for dinner, then sleep through the night and go back to school in the morning, always tired. That’s how I lived about three and a half years of my life. I figured out that may have something to do with the fact that class started at 0700. No matter how hard I try, I am just not wired as a morning person. I think that getting up that early every day was just wrecking my internal sleep-regulating system. I don’t know if that can apply to your situation in any way, but either way, I hope you feel better soon! 🙂

  8. January 24, 2011 at 1:53 PM

    Feeling off colour for a whole month is not good….I think a visit to your Doc is on the cards.
    Come over here and I will lend you my sexy doc!!!

    • January 24, 2011 at 2:00 PM

      He can’t help me on this. It’s something I ate and need to figure it out myself. The doctor would just say the same thing. Plus it’s too darn cold outside, it’s winter here with temperatures in the -20ºC’s. I’m staying inside where it’s nice and warm and cuddle up with my cat. 🙂

  9. January 24, 2011 at 1:56 PM

    Thanks Dillon, I think a lot of it started when I was on medication for the Crohn’s. One of the side effects was insomnia and I only slept 3-4 hours a night, then would crash once a week for about 10 hours. Something I’ve used to now but when I’m not feeling well it makes it worse. I’m a morning person as long as I have my coffee as soon as I get up. 🙂

  1. January 25, 2011 at 11:27 AM
  2. January 26, 2011 at 1:26 AM
  3. February 2, 2011 at 10:26 AM

Leave a Reply

