Home > What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Negative Attitudes

Negative Attitudes

Things in life I find annoying

Positivity vs Negativity

Just the other day Piglet in Portugal left a comment about people with a negative attitude on Winners and Losers. I find people who are consistently negative somewhat annoying. This is what’s bugging me today.

It’s not the people like me who talk or rant about things and let you know up front that is what they’re doing. I’m talking about the ones where it doesn’t matter what you say they always have something negative to say. It could be as simple as when you’re talking about the weather. When you say ‘It’s nice and hot today’ they would reply with ‘It’s too humid today’.

As it happens, the very same day a friend posted an article Creating a Positive Winning Attitude on his website.

In it he talks about the challenges we all face in our daily lives and how we choose to view and deal with them.

Your attitude can make or break you. It’s virtually indisputable that your attitude determines how far you’ll go in life and a positive mental outlook can help you achieve optimal success.

Having a positive mental attitude helps you cope with challenges. When you’re put to the test, you’re more likely to find your inner strengths to overcome adversity, and that strength just might be your winning attitude. Whether or not you have the tools, skills, knowledge, or resources, your attitude can get you through tough times and come out on top.

There was a time when I wasn’t as positive as I am now, but thank goodness I came to realize this and what it was doing to me. I immediately took steps to correct this and life has been so much nicer since then.

As many of you know I have my health challenges that I need to deal with. Without the positive attitude I would probably be a hypochondriac and visiting the doctor every time I wasn’t feeling well.

An effective way to train your mind is to look at challenges as opportunities instead of obstacles. A problem is only a problem if you allow it to be one. With each challenge comes an opportunity to learn and improve. So if you search for solutions, you’ll find them.

  • Would you describe yourself as a negative or positive person?
  • Have you ever given any thought to how people perceive you?

Remember the old saying.

If  you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

This is what’s bugging me today!

🙂

Quote for today

It takes 26 muscles to smile, and 62 muscles to frown.
Anonymous

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 31, 2011 at 8:23 AM

    I think you know I’m big on positivity but you’ve probably noticed I’ve created a new blog today where I can display my other characteristics, just sometimes I need a little rant. Positive always wins, like attracts like.

    • January 31, 2011 at 8:26 AM

      Smile at someone and they usually smile back. I’ll be over to check the new blog. 🙂

  2. January 31, 2011 at 8:30 AM

    Hi Rose,

    Yep, I have PMA 🙂 but it’s amazing how many people round you namely “sappers” that try and sap your inner energy and drag you into the well of despair with them.
    We all have bad days and have a good moan and feel sorry for ourselves but some people turn it into an olympic sport.

    Three years I tried to help one friend through her moans,groans, aches, pains and depression – one day I suddenly realised she was never going to change and God only helps those who help themselves! I can only say I have now distanced myself from her, mean yes, but I gave her my best shot 🙂

    PiP

    • January 31, 2011 at 4:33 PM

      Hi Rose/Pip.

      I used to have a friend like that whom I’m supported through a period of breast cancer. Sadly, she became what I call an ‘energy vulture’…and I used the leave feeling exhausted every time I went to visit her.

      Eventually it all got too much and I had to leave the friendship for the sake of my sanity. What made me feel even sadder was the feeling I got that unless she learns how to deal with her negatively and anger, the cancer may well return.

      I tried to explain that I still cared for her, but that I had to learn to love her from a distance. She was totally unable to understand what I meant by that remark and we’ve not been in touch since that day.

      It is all very sad, but we can only help those who want to help themselves.

      Juls x

  3. January 31, 2011 at 8:43 AM

    Hi PiP, had to think about what you meant by PMA. You do like using acronyms – PAD & PAW another two of your favourites. 🙂

    It’s the ‘olympic sport’ ones that get to me and it doesn’t seem to matter how many times you say ‘why do you have to be so negative’. They just don’t get it. Best thing to do is to distance yourself. 🙂

    • January 31, 2011 at 8:48 AM

      I’ve drawn up my bucket from the well of despair or the rope snapped (that’s my excuse) 🙂 LOL

  4. January 31, 2011 at 8:50 AM

    Gosh Rose, I wish this was mandatory reading before people are allowed to post comments on other blogs. It amazes me how many people do not follow that old saying! They can be so hurtful and vicious. I feel I am lucky no one has attacked my writing like that. I have wonderful blogging buddies…you, PiP, and many others.

    • January 31, 2011 at 8:58 AM

      Thanks Seashell, The WordPress Challenge has brought so many together and the likes, comments and encouragements have enriched the blogging community. 🙂

    • January 31, 2011 at 8:59 AM

      Hi Seashell, Yep we have to stick together. It’s meant to be fun. a blogger came to my rescue on my Turkish Loo post…I could have reached out through the ‘net’ and hugged him 🙂 His response was priceless!! I think we set standards and those who join us I hope they respect them 🙂

  5. January 31, 2011 at 9:47 AM

    I make it a point to keep away from negative people. The minute they open their mouth and spout negativity, I end the conversation.

    • January 31, 2011 at 9:53 AM

      I do too, but there are some you just can’t avoid and I will often tell me to stop being so negative. 🙂

  6. January 31, 2011 at 11:37 AM

    Its my first time reading your blog, I saw the link on the WordPress.com Challenge and decided to follow it. Excellent piece! Even though I’m reading from my BB I will be looking at the piece you mention from “Piglet in Portugal”.

    The opinions expressed are indeed on point. I have a friend like PIP’s who is negative and who I often get upset/whatever you may want to call it and hang up the phone; refusing to answer her text, or calls.

    I ask her to change her outlook and perhaps the things that she’s actually complaining about will change. She does at times but the remaining time is a challenge, but the fact she is making an effort I try to stick around…even though the rope on my bucket in the well of despair, to use PIP phrasing, is about to snap.

    • January 31, 2011 at 11:44 AM

      Thanks for visiting Dexter. I’ve hung up on people before for being so negative and not letting it go. It only needs to be said once not five times. We do what we can but it’s up to them to realize that they are only making themselves miserable and turning away friends. It’s nice that you’re hanging in for her. 🙂

  7. January 31, 2011 at 12:13 PM

    I consider myself to be a realist. I do try to find the silver lining when I can though. 🙂

    • January 31, 2011 at 12:17 PM

      Hi Gina, then you would be an optimist! 🙂

  8. January 31, 2011 at 4:03 PM

    Always thought I wasn’t a negative person…turns out I am. This year’s caught me by surprise. The number of negative thoughts/images that I entertain ALL day…so, I’m taking meditation classes, if I can keep it up!

    • January 31, 2011 at 4:10 PM

      I never used to think I was a negative person until I really started listening to what I was saying and I didn’t like it. I made a vow to shake the negative thoughts and turn them into positive ones. It didn’t happen overnight and I had to work at it. It comes with time, have faith. 🙂

  9. January 31, 2011 at 4:25 PM

    Hi Rose,

    I know exactly what you mean about negative people.

    I spent the day today with a friend whom I’d not seen for a while and was looking forward to a good old ‘catch up’.

    Fortunately, we were spending the day at my health club so we had lots of distractions; yoga, steam, jacuzzi, lunch etc. Otherwise I don’t think I could have stuck around for more than an hour.

    From one tale of her own and other’s woes…she went on…and on…and on..

    Until finally I stopped her and asked, “so, what’s the GOOD news?” – silence!

    I rest my case.

    Great post Rose and lots of brilliant comments. Well done.

    • January 31, 2011 at 4:42 PM

      Thanks Juls. I’ll have to remember that line – it’s a good one! Sometimes I just can’t find the right words to let them know because I know some would be offended. 🙂

  10. January 31, 2011 at 4:39 PM

    “A problem is only a problem if you allow it to be one”. How true is that? Looking at challenges as opportunities is a great way to get through life. A negative can be turned into a positive so easily by viewing the “problem” from a different viewpoint. Spending time and energy on being negative is a time-waster; wouldn’t it be better to expend that time and energy on being productive and constructive? Negativity gets us no-where except into a deeper hole. Great post Rose!

    • January 31, 2011 at 4:50 PM

      Thanks Barb. Ever since I first realized that I was being too negative that’s when I started looking at negative thoughts and turning them into positive ones. Then it just started coming naturally. 🙂

  11. postadaychallenge2011
    January 31, 2011 at 5:15 PM

    I agree that a problem is only a problem if you make it one. I also am a positive person or try to be. I guess I always am like that and when I grew up I wanted to be “liked” so I was the happy go lucky person. I did this when others did not. I look at challenges as opportunities or “blessings” even if I don’t recognize them at the time. Great post keep it up. 🙂

    • January 31, 2011 at 5:21 PM

      Thanks. I think if more people would at least try to be more positive the world would be a better place. 🙂

  12. February 1, 2011 at 12:42 AM

    a positive attitude is very important for social networks. that’s why I like some blogger-pages – and that’s the reason, why I play weekly guitar with my friends …

    • February 1, 2011 at 7:20 AM

      Thanks for stopping by and subscribing. 🙂 A positive attitude is important just for living life to it’s fullest and social circles of any kind benefit from it. I’ve always wanted to learn how to play guitar but I just don’t have any musical talent, except for listening to it. 🙂

  13. February 2, 2011 at 9:58 AM

    Those kind of people suck me dry. I feel so drained after being around them. I try to avoid them, but it’s not always possible. I’m not always the most positive person, but I make the effort and am learning to keep my mouth shut at times.

    • February 7, 2011 at 6:57 AM

      I know what you mean. All we can do is handle it the best we can and keep a smile on our face. 🙂

  1. February 1, 2011 at 9:20 AM
  2. February 23, 2011 at 11:54 AM

Leave a Reply

