Home > What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Losing the Internet

Losing the Internet

Things in life I find annoying - Losing Internet AccessThe other day I lost my Internet connection. This is what’s bugging me today!

While it was annoying I did manage to get a few things done.

It gave me the time to sit down and think about how I was going to start managing my time better. Since there seem to be so many others in the same predicament as me, this is what I came up with.

Write Things Down
I need to use one tool to track all the tasks I need to do. While I still plan on using the reminderfox tool, I will also write things down on paper.

Daily Planning
Every evening I plan to sit down and write my to-do list for the next 24 hours. I’m going to break this list down into two parts. What needs to get done and what I would l like to do.

Prioritize
Once I have my lists written, the next step is to go through them and prioritize them. Writing #1 beside the most important task and continuing through the entire list. Then I will tackle them according to importance. Not everything might get done but the most important ones will.
By working smarter instead of harder, I will get more done in less time.

Controlling Procrastination
I don’t know about you, but I tend to put off the big jobs which can result in more pain than it’s worth. The best way to tackle the big jobs is to break them down into bite-sized pieces that are more manageable. I’m working on this!

I may have lost Internet access and missed chatting with all my buddies but I gained the insight I needed to grab control of this crazy blogging life I’ve thrown myself into. I do love it so!

This should help in maintaining some balance in other areas of my life.

  • Health
  • Family
  • Financial
  • Intellectual
  • Social
  • Professional
  • Spiritual

While losing the Internet was a royal pain, I did reap some benefit from it. Have a few more things to do but as soon as they’re done I will be visiting my blogging buddies to see what I’ve missed.

Now there is nothing bugging me today!

🙂

Quote for today

Forget past mistakes.
Forget failures.
Forget everything except what you’re going to do now and do it.
William Durant

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. February 4, 2011 at 6:44 PM

    I’m still much a “paper” list person. Hubby puts everything in Outlook and his computer has just died…
    I def need to write a list at the beg of the day and allocate a time beside each task 🙂
    Nice to see U back Rose

  2. February 4, 2011 at 6:47 PM

    Hi Pip, glad to be back. I’m a paper person too. I do like having certain things on the computer but when you’re computer dies or you lose the Internet then what do you do. I can always find that piece of paper somewhere! 🙂

  3. February 4, 2011 at 6:54 PM

    Hey Rose!

    Welcome back my lovely…we were getting worried about you…so glad all is well and that you’ve had some ‘thinking’ time which you obviously needed.

    The universe works in strange ways and I guess you were being told that you needed to take some time away from blogging to sort out your priorities. And what a wonderful plan you have in place.

    Since losing my ability to hold a pen to write due to my Dystonia, I now rely heavily on my computer and write all my lists on here. I guess I need to consider printing these out from time to time in case my laptop decides to take a day off from overwork!

    Hugs,
    Juls 🙂

    • February 4, 2011 at 7:09 PM

      Hi Juls, I’ve had plenty of thinking and writing time. I managed to rough out several new posts and came up with plenty of ideas for others. I even managed to get a couple of more nights of decent sleep. Yes, the universe works in strange ways. Everything happens for a reason. 🙂

  4. February 4, 2011 at 7:08 PM

    I was wondering where you were! I guess losing the Internet bugs us all at some time or another. but at least you used the time wisely and constructively by realizing you need to make a list to manage your time more effectively!
    I also like to write things down on paper rather than use the computer – then I can have it right by my side when I need to refer to it.
    Don’t you find that sometimes, those “big jobs” we tend to leave to tackle last often turn out to be the quickest to do? Then you think “Wow, that wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be!” I have discovered this on more than one occasion.

    • February 4, 2011 at 7:11 PM

      Hi Barb, there’s a certain satisfaction that comes with crossing through an item on a paper to-do list. I’ve often found that the “big-jobs” aren’t that bad, but I still tend to avoid them. Need to break that habit! 🙂

  5. Nicole
    February 5, 2011 at 4:44 AM

    Losing the internet can be so annoying. We lost it for 3 weeks once. I was going out of my mind 🙂

    • February 5, 2011 at 7:27 AM

      Hi Nicole, I’ve been there too! But never at a time like this having just started the blog and meeting such great people. 🙂

  6. February 5, 2011 at 5:50 AM

    Rose, so glad you got some much needed, if unexpected, time to reflect. Welcome back. We missed you!
    ~ shell

    • February 5, 2011 at 7:50 AM

      Thanks Shell, it really did help. I think everyone should try turning off the Internet for a few hours and see how much they would accomplish. Writing things down on paper really helped and I found that my thoughts flowed so easily from one idea to another. It’s good to be back. 🙂

  7. February 5, 2011 at 9:22 AM

    Hi and nice to see you back. I’m all for lists, can’t live without them and I agree, it’s very satisfying ticking something off when you’ve done it. Hope your internet is sorted/soon sorted, I lost mine a few weeks ago and it drove me mad! Forced me to live in the real world for a while rather than cyberspace….

    • February 5, 2011 at 9:54 AM

      Thanks Marcia, Living in the real world wasn’t too bad. I managed to get a lot done and I’m now cramming my blog time into a few hours so I can experience the real world again today. I kind of like it! 🙂

  8. Jenny Marlow
    February 5, 2011 at 11:07 AM

    Agree with all that – but sometimes I make more progress doing what i really feel like doing and really want to do – as long as there’s no guilt lurking around in the background! Possibly a catholic upbringing guarantees there will always be guilt when you’re having fun and not doing what should be done! It’s tricky and I think once you are ‘retired’ meaning do not have to go out and work for someone else every day – you have even more control over your time and suddenly even more demands on it. All those things i’ve always wanted to do are now possible but there just isn’t enough time. I think I’m greedy for ‘doing things’.

    • February 5, 2011 at 3:59 PM

      Hi Jenny, It’s amazing how much we did manage to accomplish when we were working 8 hours day, yet now with all this time in our hands, the simplest tasks are often left undone. 🙂

  9. Jenny Marlow
    February 5, 2011 at 11:10 AM

    I was really bugged because virtually all (not all, which was strange) my emails ONLY went to my iPhone. No one could help. As usual Vodafone said it must be Virgin and vice versa. Finally thought of phoning Apple – and they said it was ‘a result of a recent power cut’.

    LESSON – if you have a powercut whilst a computer is updating – you will be in big trouble if you don’t start all the interrupted downloads again -and do them all properly. I had 7 interrupted uploads. And now all my little, really annoying problems have disappeared.

    Now the problem was that I just didn’t know that – and I didn’t know where to call or who to complain to!

    So – now you all know – power cuts cause BIG problems on computers – and if you are on Apple – they will talk you through what to do next. The carriers and providers won’t.

    • February 5, 2011 at 4:00 PM

      Jenny, one of the reasons why Apple has such a good reputation. 🙂

  10. February 5, 2011 at 1:35 PM

    There’s nothing worse than losing your link to the virtual world.

    • February 5, 2011 at 3:47 PM

      Tell me about it, at least I didn’t experience any withdrawal symptoms.

  11. Jenny Cutler
    February 8, 2011 at 4:56 AM

    i lost my computer for a couple of days too – local power cuts whilst it was updating – which causes serious problems to Imac machines….. it needed to actually GO to the ‘doctor’ in Windsor. Real pain because you can’t park near the shop!

    anyway, like you, I got other thing done and managed to paint a picture of Marilyn Monroe – will send it to you! and thanks for everything, you really sorted me out. I have even managed to get a post up there – but will change it in a minute, all the best Jenny Cutler

  1. February 4, 2011 at 11:16 PM
  2. February 5, 2011 at 4:40 AM

Leave a Reply

