Home > Housekeeping, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Housekeeping Is Easier This Week

Housekeeping Is Easier This Week

Blog, Housekeeping, annoying, bugging me, bloggingHousekeeping sure is getting easier, but there are still plenty of things to do to keep the blog fresh. I don’t know about you but I am spending a lot of time trying to find free images to use on my blog. This is what’s bugging me today!

With everything else I need to do this weekend, this will be my only blog housekeeping chore this week. Because I also want to find some new sites to use, this is going to take some time.

There are still other things I want to do and check out, but there are only so many hours in the day and I’m in no rush. I’m ready for some personal and family time this weekend.

The image sites I’m using now are:

I’ll be sure to let you know what other sites I find some time this week. If anybody has found other good sites for free images, I would love to know what they are.

There are also some other free online tools that I’ll be checking out over the next few days and I will let you know about those too. One of them is probably going to end up as one of next weekend’s housekeeping chores.

Welcome to the newest addition to the Blogging Buddies, postadaychallenge2011 who unfortunately had her last blog hacked. Please stop by her blog and say hello.

One of last week’s new blogging buddies, 1961Girl was Freshly Pressed this week and I think she speaks for a lot of the new bloggers who have taken up the WordPress PostADay2011 Challenge.

And if some of you missed it, I added the Links page to my blog this week.

  • Have you backed up your blog yet?
  • Do you have the four principal pages every blog needs?
  • Have you written your About Me page?
  • Are you interlinking your posts?

Check out the related articles below.

Housekeeping chores – this is what’s bugging me today!

πŸ™‚

Quote for today

Things turn out the best for the people who make the best of the way things turn out.
John Wooden

Β© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. postadaychallenge2011
    February 5, 2011 at 4:59 AM

    I love your free images and where you get them. Not sure but check out GIMP I believe they are all free. Thanks for the information, hit the LIKE button too. Keep up the great posts.

    • February 5, 2011 at 7:43 AM

      Thanks, I will add it to my list of sites to check out. πŸ™‚

  2. February 5, 2011 at 6:21 AM

    Have you tried Photobucket for free images? Or Image Shack?
    Enjoy some personal and family time this weekend Rose – you’ve earned it.

    • February 5, 2011 at 7:54 AM

      Thanks Barb, will add those to my list too. My time is precious this morning and I’m trying to do as much as I can before taking some time. It’s a challenge, but I’m enjoying it. πŸ˜‰

  3. February 5, 2011 at 7:54 AM

    I have found most of my images on Photobucket. I am amazed at how many good photos are posted there. Thanks for the idea about Wikimedia Commons. I need to check that out.

    • February 5, 2011 at 10:00 AM

      Thanks Shell, it’s on my list to check. πŸ™‚

  4. February 5, 2011 at 7:56 AM

    Hi Rose,

    Finding “Free” images is one of my biggest bugbears. Luckily I love taking photos, and am gradually building up my own image library. However, this is proving restrictive as sometimes I just want a cartoon image to express my thoughts. Useful post. Thanks Rose

    • February 5, 2011 at 8:02 AM

      Hi PiP, There may be one or two on my list of sites to check that might be helpful. I will definitely let you know what I find. πŸ˜‰

  5. February 5, 2011 at 8:16 AM

    Good morning Rose.

    I am so grateful for all the knowledge you share with us all. It takes a long time to collate all this stuff and you are so generous with us.

    I have learnt so much from you and very much value your support.

    Have a lovely weekend with your love ones. You deserve it.

    Thank you – for everything xxx

  6. February 5, 2011 at 8:23 AM

    Thanks Juls, I think I’ve managed to read and reply to all the comments on my blog but I need to take some personal time soon, and I know there will be more when I get back. I love sharing my ideas & knowledge with others, it’s up to them what they choose to do with it. πŸ™‚

  7. February 5, 2011 at 9:40 AM

    Rose,
    The best way to search for something is still Google. Just select advanced search while searching for picture and then select what kind of picture you want…. http://www.google.com/advanced_image_search?hl=en

    • February 5, 2011 at 9:51 AM

      Hi Sunil, I use Google search too but you can’t just grab any image because of copyright issues. Plus I would like to find some good sites and do some browsing to see what else is available. πŸ™‚

      • February 5, 2011 at 10:32 AM

        In the link I gave you will find a filter for reuse, reuse with modification etc… It is almost similar to what you have on flickr

  8. February 5, 2011 at 10:20 AM

    I finally did my About page but that’s the only one I can lay claim to getting done. πŸ™‚

    • February 5, 2011 at 10:28 AM

      Hi Gina, the back up is easy to do, and I’m sure the rest will get done as soon as you have the time. πŸ™‚

  9. February 5, 2011 at 10:28 AM

    Housekeeping seems to be becoming your favorite bugging topic πŸ˜›

    • February 5, 2011 at 10:31 AM

      No, just on Saturdays. Isn’t that when most people do their housekeeping. πŸ˜‰

  10. February 6, 2011 at 3:44 AM

    hi Rose…please stop saying the word housework…I am developing a nervous twitch!!!!

    • February 6, 2011 at 6:19 AM

      Okay Granny, no mention of it today. πŸ™‚

  11. February 6, 2011 at 2:58 PM

    Appreciate the tips and links to free images!!
    Thanks for sharing πŸ˜‰

    • February 6, 2011 at 3:03 PM

      You’re welcome Jodi. I will probably have more links later in the week. πŸ™‚

  1. February 9, 2011 at 5:36 AM
  2. February 12, 2011 at 8:34 AM
  3. March 5, 2011 at 11:26 AM

Leave a Reply

