Home > What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > My 5 of the 50 Most Annoying Things About the Internet

My 5 of the 50 Most Annoying Things About the Internet

annoying things in life, internet, captcha I took too much personal time this weekend & yesterday and I didn’t have a post ready for today.ย  This is what’s bugging me today!

But luckily I came across this and decided to take advantage of the Press This feature.

50 most annoying things about the internet – Telegraph.

Here are five that I like.

3) Messages alerting you to messages
Email inboxes are becoming clogged with non-urgent alerts from Facebook, Twitter and other social media websites. How long before someone invents an app to alert Twitter and Facebook users when they receive an email, creating a never-ending spiral of needless messages?

The following one really hit the spot with me.

4) CAPTCHAs
Only the internet asks its users to prove that they are human. CAPTCHAs, the word recognition puzzles designed to prevent robots from accessing protected websites, may be a necessary evil but even their inventor has said that he regrets their drain on human time. Assuming that each one takes ten seconds to solve, it has been estimated that we waste 150,000 hours a day squinting at distorted letters. Anecdotal evidence also suggests that CAPTCHAs are getting harder, with some effectively indecipherable.

I’m new to Twitter and still haven’t figured everything out. Need to read Twitter101.

5) Social media gurus
Knowing how to tweet should not be a career in itself.

The Internet is definitely staying out of my bed.

How many of you take the Internet to bed with you?

9) The bedroom invasion
First it was in the living room, then the bedroom and now – thanks to wi-fi and laptops – the internet is in your bed.

I was thinking of a blogger when I read this one.

15) It’s always on
If we all agreed to shut down the internet for a few hours a week – perhaps on Sunday evenings – long-suffering parents and grand-parents might get a few more phone calls.

This is what’s bugging me today!

๐Ÿ™‚

Quote for today

Use your imagination not to scare yourself to death but to inspire yourself to life.
Adele Brookman

ยฉ 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. February 8, 2011 at 3:08 AM

    Hi Rose,
    CAPTCHAs – they have got to be the most annoying thing.

    I have to put my glasses on to decipher them! if I don’t crack the code in 2 shots I don’t bother.
    One of my pet hates is the blogging platform Blogspot. Try as I may I always have difficulty leaving a comment and the instructions automatically default to Portuguese. Growl grrrrrr and now I don’t even bother. That’s what’s bugging me today ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL

    So family time is good! I am just going for a walk with Mr Piglet as he is feeing neglected and jealous of all you blogging buddies ๐Ÿ™‚

    • February 8, 2011 at 7:11 AM

      Hi Pip, I’ve tried using zoom (CTRL+) on the page and I still can’t read some of them and that’s when I give up. I don’t visit a lot on Blogspot but then I don’t have a language issue, will have to watch out for that one.

      Take good care of Mr. P. and I’m sure you will probably have your camera with you too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. February 8, 2011 at 6:54 AM

    Ha, the ‘taking the internet to bed’ made me laugh because lately when my son has been using the bathroom we kept hearing a funny noise as if he was moving furniture around in there. We have since discovered what he was doing – he was dragging the laundry basket in front of the loo and sitting with his laptop on it whilst he was doing his business! He had turned the bathroom into his office, the cheeky monkey!

    • February 8, 2011 at 7:05 AM

      That is just too funny Marcia. Thanks for my morning smile and a good laugh.

      Have you mentioned to him that you know what he’s doing in there? A newspaper, magazine or a book I can understand but the laptop!! I’m still laughing over this one. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • February 8, 2011 at 9:04 AM

      too funny!I hope he remembers to turn the cam off, lol!:)

      • February 8, 2011 at 9:14 AM

        I never gave that a thought. Welcome to the blog Soapbird ๐Ÿ™‚

    • February 8, 2011 at 2:05 PM

      Hi Marcia. What a lovely picture you have painted! I’ve yet to catch my daughter with her laptop in the loo, although I’m sure it only a matter of time! Prising her away from her i-phone is my current challenge! Thanks for the smile x ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. postadaychallenge2011
    February 8, 2011 at 8:03 AM

    LOL “prove I am human” I love that second one….how annoying it really is. I also have a hard time with Passwords, and sites. I wish It was easier. Any ideas? Like I clear my cookies or cashe and next thing it asks me for my user ID and password and I go, um…um…let me try this or that…and well…it’s like annoying.

    • February 8, 2011 at 8:18 AM

      They weren’t too bad in the beginning, but they are just getting so complicated and jumbled these days. Are you using a Password manager at all and is it all the time or just certain sites? I know that if you have more than one Google account you sometimes have to clear your cache and remove cookies to sign in with a different account. But yes, that would be annoying!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. February 8, 2011 at 8:19 AM

    Use your imagination not to scare yourself to death
    but to inspire yourself to life.
    said wonderfully by Adele Brookman!
    my personal solution: to make music
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/02/07/hit-the-road-jack/

    • February 8, 2011 at 8:23 AM

      Music would work too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. February 8, 2011 at 9:14 AM

    No bed time internet for me! All gadgets get turned off on Sundays and itโ€™s all about family time. No tv no internet I have to admit there are times I run out of fun ideas to fill in the gap. Itโ€™s hard I canโ€™t remember now how we ever functioned without it. Fun post! Thanks!

    • February 8, 2011 at 9:20 AM

      Welcome Soapbird, I can always find fun things to do – cards, board games, double sided jigsaw puzzles, reading a real paper book – to name a few.

      We used to manage just fine but the Internet has become so much a part of our lives. You just can’t get information mailed to you anymore, they tell you to download it off the Internet. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. February 8, 2011 at 10:59 AM

    CAPTCHAs. Make internet time living hell. There should be some way to do facial recognition or something and sign up/in automatically.

    • February 8, 2011 at 4:20 PM

      Hi Akshay, wouldn’t that be nice and I’m sure one day we will probably be able to do it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. February 8, 2011 at 12:00 PM

    I agree with number three for sure, I think you can prevent that though if you change a few settings on your facebook account. I should really do that.

    Reading through the list now, I have to add the pop-up adverts to mine. >.< It is really not impressive at all.

    • February 8, 2011 at 12:32 PM

      Thanks Gina, I know that it can be reset in Facebook, but it’s just the entire concept of being sent notifications all the time. I hate pop-ups too, but I wanted to limit my list to 5 of 50. It sounded good! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. February 8, 2011 at 12:35 PM

    I hate captchas. Really.

    • February 8, 2011 at 4:21 PM

      Hi Sajib, welcome. It looks like you’re not the only. Seems to be the favourite for most people. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. February 8, 2011 at 2:09 PM

    Great post Rose. Thought provoking and inspiring as usual. I totally agree with the CAPTCHAs moans. Getting older with dodgy eyesight doesn’t help to work them out either! I will have to remember the CTLR+ hint. I always wondered how you made the fonts larger – duh!

    Hugs Juls ๐Ÿ™‚

    • February 8, 2011 at 4:26 PM

      Hi Juls, looks like CAPTCHAs is the winner today for most annoying. For you and anyone else who is interested in the keyboard shortcuts here they are again. ๐Ÿ™‚

      CTRL+ zoom in
      CTRL- zoom out
      CTRL0 (zero) to reset

  10. February 8, 2011 at 4:48 PM

    Taking the internet to bed… I just realized yesterday that I don’t even read or look at magazines at bedtime anymore! I watch videos on my Iphone or surf the internet- I AM human! I swear it!

    • February 8, 2011 at 4:56 PM

      Hi Rosa, are you sure about that? You’re probably not the only one although I imagine some probably won’t admit it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. February 8, 2011 at 9:34 PM

    Hello ClassyRose! Great post! I laughed at the endless supply of message alerts. It’s a never ending circle, tempting our email services to cry out mercy. I was thinking to myself I don’t bring the internet to the bedroom, but then I looked over and saw my e-reader. So yes, I may not bring the internet, but I do bring an electronic device. It’s amazing how much time is consumed on these wonderful gadgets that we don’t necessarily “need” but we sure do enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • February 9, 2011 at 7:15 AM

      Hi MJ, I still like reading paper books and I don’t know if that will ever change. Sometimes the old eyes just need a rest from staring at computer screens. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. February 11, 2011 at 8:32 PM

    I am still giggling….
    Had to “capture” the CAPTCHAs and send it out.
    but LAPTOP IN BATHROOM!!! That one takes the cake.
    Back in the day of *big family – one bathroom* we 3 girls were always on the look-out for my brother “walking with paperback”….

    It could be hours before he came up for air!!!

    [Mom and Dad’s 1/2 bath strictly off-limits]
    Thanks for the memories of some really funny times ๐Ÿ™‚

    • February 11, 2011 at 8:37 PM

      You’ve got me laughing again now. Try 1 and ยฝ bathrooms with a family of 10 where half of them are male. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • February 12, 2011 at 6:35 AM

      Glad that made you giggle. I have two older brothers and in our day us girls used to nudge one another when they went in the bathroom with the mail-order catalogue to look at the underwear section, they were gone for hours too! Well, a long time at least…

      • February 12, 2011 at 10:00 AM

        Some of my brothers used to try and hide their reading material under their shirt. It didn’t work, we knew what they were up to. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  1. March 4, 2011 at 12:01 PM
  2. March 9, 2011 at 10:22 AM
  3. March 21, 2011 at 12:46 PM

Leave a Reply

