Home > What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Feeling Too Sick To Do Anything

Feeling Too Sick To Do Anything

milk, lactose, intolerance, annoyingI haven’t been feeling too good this week and I’m pretty sure I know why. It does look like I’m lactose intolerant. This is what’s bugging me today!

Back in December I wasn’t feeling too good and didn’t know why but I had a feeling it might be the milk. I finished what I had and didn’t bother to pick up some fresh milk. Over the next few days I started feeling better and decided to stay off the milk for a few weeks. The terrible cramps, gas, bloating, nausea, diarrhea and extreme pain disappeared.

Now I needed to make sure of this, so this past weekend I picked up a litre of milk and had been drinking small amounts just in my coffee. And Monday I used about 2 oz of milk in a meal I prepared. At first I didn’t even like the taste of milk in my coffee. In just 5 short weeks I got used to drinking my coffee with just sugar.

Monday evening I started feeling a little discomfort but it wasn’t too bad. Tuesday the pain got worse and by Wednesday morning I was in absolute agony. No amount of pain killers could ease the pain. I spent most of yesterday sleeping with a heating pad on my stomach since that seems to ease the pain somewhat. I think I’ve slept more over the past 24 hours than I’ve been awake.

But this morning, most of the pain is gone and I haven’t needed to take anything for it. It’s still uncomfortable but I’m trying to make sure that I don’t overdo it with the pain relief.

I’ve done some checking and to be properly tested for lactose intolerance I would have to drink a liquid that is high in lactose. After the pain I’ve been through and my own little experiment I will settle for that and skip the test for now. At this point, just the thought of experiencing that pain again has turned me off milk.

I know there are products available for those finding themselves lactose intolerant, but from what I’ve managed to read they don’t always agree with everyone. The side effects are sometimes worse than actually drinking the milk.

With my Crohn’s and COPD I am not willing to try anything new right now and have made the decision to just not drink milk. I would like to be pain-free for a while.

This is what’s bugging me today!

🙂

Quote for today

One of the most sublime experiences we can ever have is to wake up feeling healthy after we have been sick.
Rabbi Harold Kushner

Related Articles

Recommended Reading

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. February 10, 2011 at 7:37 AM

    Hi Rose,
    Sorry to read you have not been well 😦 If you are lactose intolerant (sounds like you are) We soon get to know and understand our own body and what foods have detrimental effects on our health.
    Take care
    Kind regards
    PiP

    • February 10, 2011 at 7:44 AM

      Thanks PiP, It’s just that there are already so many foods I can’t eat. I would like to stop adding to that list. 🙂

  2. February 10, 2011 at 8:15 AM

    Sounds like you’ve sussed out the culprit, rather than have the tests just try and avoid it. Can’t you try some milk alternatives like soya milk or something? Sorry to hear you’ve been in pain, like PiP says, we learn about our body all the time and you know it best. Get better soon.

    • February 10, 2011 at 8:21 AM

      Hi Marcia, soy products don’t agree with me either and they keep adding it to so many foods these days. When I go grocery shopping I always read the labels because they keep sneaking that in. Kind of like what they did with HFCS (high-fructose corn syrup). 🙂

  3. February 10, 2011 at 9:40 AM

    Oh Dear my friend…that does NOT sound good.
    I did not know one could have such pain from Lactose intolerance.
    Have you seen a doctor?
    AND you have Chrons…I believe that can be painful too…poor you.
    If I knew how to do a smiley face I would give you a sad one.
    You will have to imagine it!
    Mwah!

    • February 10, 2011 at 9:46 AM

      Hi Granny, I didn’t know about the pain either until I experienced it but I think it has to do with me having Crohn’s for 30 years. Some people with Crohn’s tend to develop the intolerance. Just another thing in life to learn to live with. 🙂

  4. February 10, 2011 at 11:14 AM

    Oh my, sorry to hear you’re not feeling well.:( I didn’t know either how painful those symptoms can be until some friends of mine shared their symptoms. Ouch! What a bummer… I hope you find relief soon. Until then I send you a :)to get you on your way to a speedy recovery.

    • February 10, 2011 at 12:13 PM

      Thanks for the smile. 🙂 I have so much to do but all I want is to curl up with one of my cats and sleep more. Hopefully it won’t last much longer. 🙂

  5. February 10, 2011 at 11:58 AM

    Hi,
    You “liked” my post, so I came to visit yours. 🙂
    So sorry you have been in such pain…gastric issues are hard to deal with. 😦
    But it sounds like you did exactly the right thing…if it is something simple like lactose intolerance, that is not to hard to take care of.
    Best of luck…I loved your post!

    • February 10, 2011 at 12:19 PM

      Hi Vivian, I haven’t felt much like writing the last few days but I did read and Like your post. I’m used to having a lot of pain, but I’ve never had it this bad where I seriously just wanted to scream! Came close once or twice. It’s not so bad now, but still pretty uncomfortable, I do love my heating pad! 🙂

  6. February 10, 2011 at 12:07 PM

    I’m so sorry that you’ve had a rough few days 😦

    It’s good that you know what caused the pain and you can go back to cutting it out of your diet. I know you’ve already said that you can’t take soya milk…have you tried rice milk? Mind you, some of these are such poor imitations, you are almost better off not bothering.

    Have you ever since a kinesiologist? I’m seeing one tomorrow to be checked out for intolerances. Will let you know how I get on.

    Thinking of you and sending a big healing hug.
    Juls x

    • February 10, 2011 at 12:23 PM

      Hi Juls, Thanks for your concern. I’ve thought of giving rice milk a try but right now I’m sticking with foods I know and trust. I don’t need to throw anything else into the mix. Some good old fashioned meat and potatoes for dinner sounds good! 🙂

  7. February 10, 2011 at 2:07 PM

    Glad that you are figuring out the culprit. I switched to Soy Milk to decrease my consumption of dairy products. I use vanilla flavored in my coffee. Delicious.

    I still eat cheese and ice cream . . . but try not to eat too much.

    Feel Better.

    For Granny 1947 . . . to make a smiley face frown: : – ( (without the spaces) 😦

    • February 10, 2011 at 3:38 PM

      Thanks, it’s a rough road trying to figure things out with my Crohn’s. I already know that soy or whey products don’t agree with me. I might try some Rice milk but only once I’m feeling fine again. 🙂

  8. February 10, 2011 at 2:23 PM

    I’m so glad that you figured out the problem Rose and are well on your way to feeling better!

    • February 10, 2011 at 3:39 PM

      Thanks Shell, I just wish I didn’t have to go through the pain to figure out the problem. But at least now I know. 🙂

  9. February 10, 2011 at 4:01 PM

    I was missing you here and wondered if you were sick Rosemary; sorry to hear you have :-((
    At least you know the problem now so there is no rush to have the proper tests – you have gone through enough the last few days. You know your body and what to avoid, although the list seems to be getting bigger.
    Hope you enjoyed good old fashioned meat and potatoes for dinner!

    • February 10, 2011 at 4:06 PM

      Hi Barb, I’m not getting tested for this unless the doctor also gives me some much stronger pain killers. Meat and potatoes coming up soon!! 🙂

  10. February 10, 2011 at 6:40 PM

    Hi Rose, I had a son who was lactose intolerant and I found that he could tolerate goats milk easily with no problems. The difference between cows and goats milk is vast. Goats milk is more alkaline, it does not form mucus and is closer to human milk among other qualities. Always worth a try. I would also recommend a natural diet. Processed foods have so many chemicals added as well as milk products. I feel sure your pain will be eased considerably on a natural food diet. Hope this helps. M ps they do yogurt and cheese too..

    • February 11, 2011 at 7:45 AM

      I already avoid packaged and processed foods as much as possible except for the odd can of soup. Otherwise I cook from fresh or frozen foods and freeze plenty of leftovers. Which reminds me, time to cook up another big batch of tomato sauce. 🙂

  11. February 10, 2011 at 10:22 PM

    Glad to hear you are on the mend!! Feel better soon my friend!!

    • February 11, 2011 at 7:46 AM

      Thanks Princess, feeling much better this morning. Maybe I can get a few things done today! 🙂

  1. February 12, 2011 at 8:34 AM

Leave a Reply

