Home > Housekeeping, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Another Unfinished Housekeeping Chore

Another Unfinished Housekeeping Chore

Blog, Housekeeping, annoying, bugging me, blogging, chores, pet peevesHow did it get to be Saturday so soon? I know that Granny1947 doesn’t like when I use the word but it’s Housekeeping time! This is what’s bugging me today!

Granny, just remember these are my housekeeping chores and I have something for you today.

Last week I said I was going to check out some more image sites and let you know what I’ve found. As many of you know I haven’t been feeling too good this week, and while I did manage to check out a few of the ones on my list, I didn’t get to all of them. This chore stays on my list.

I will list a couple that I did manage to check and found interesting.

annoying things, housekeeping, chores, public domain, freeReusable Art – Breathing New Life Into Old Art – Collection of free-to-download public domain images for crafters and web designers.

PublicDomainPictures.netRoyalty free stock photos. All pictures are free for commercial and personal use.

Do you want to search more than just Google?  Search by Creative Commons is a search tool that you might find handy not just for images but video, music and other media. One page to search 7 sites.

  • Google – web
  • Google – images
  • flickr – images
  • blip.tv – video
  • jamendo – music
  • SpinXpress – media
  • Wikimedia Commons – media

There are other small things I need to take care of, but I’m finding that checking out the image sites is taking far longer than I thought. I’m spending far too much time browsing all the images to see what’s available. 🙂

Now this is for Granny1947 and others who aren’t sure how to make some of the smiley faces. You have to remember not to leave any spaces when you are typing the characters.

🙂     : )     or     🙂    :smile :

😀    : D     or     😀     :grin :

😉     ; )    or      😉     :wink :

😦     : (    or      😦     :sad :

😐     : |     or     😐     :neutral :

Sometimes I find that the smiley won’t work if I don’t type a hyphen between the two characters, so I’ve gotten into the habit of always including it.

Usually I give a shout out to my Blogging Buddies on Saturday, but this weekend I’m waiting until Sunday because I have something special planned for the new week.

Now there is nothing bugging me today!

🙂

Quote for today

A warm smile is the universal language of kindness.
William A. Ward

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. February 12, 2011 at 8:44 AM

    I learned a lot.thanks. 🙂 😀

    • February 12, 2011 at 8:48 AM

      Thanks Cocomino, I think I might be getting lots of smiles today! 😉

  2. February 12, 2011 at 8:58 AM

    Thanks for those links. Makes finding reusable pictures a lot easier.

    • February 12, 2011 at 9:04 AM

      You’re welcome Sunil. I have others I still want to check but there are only so many hours in the day. 🙂

  3. February 12, 2011 at 9:18 AM

    Hi Rose.

    Now I am intrigued…what have you got up your sleeve for next week??? I can hardly wait!

    Thank you for yet another list of wonderful blogging tips. I have begun a file to keep them all in now. The challenge is finding the right post with the tips I’m looking for at the time. For instance, you gave us some great advice how to back up our posts. I kept meaning to do this…and kept running out of time. Now I can’t seem to find the relevant post…grrr…

    You are doing a brilliant job and all your links are great. Thank you so much.
    Enjoy your housekeeping!

    Hugs,
    Juls xxx

    • February 12, 2011 at 9:40 AM

      Hi Juls, You’ll have to wait until tomorrow to find out. I’m working on putting the finishing touches together. 😉

      Glad you like the tips and links, you should find most of them on the “Links” page but you can also use the ‘Search’ box to find it. Maybe I should move the “Search” box up a bit in my side-bar or just add another one.

      Have a great weekend! 🙂

      https://whatsbuggingmetoday.wordpress.com/links/

  4. February 12, 2011 at 12:02 PM

    Thank you so much!!!:)
    It didn’t work!
    🙂
    Damn!
    Another try.
    🙂
    🙂
    Nope…guess I am dumb

    • February 12, 2011 at 12:08 PM

      Granny, you’re not dumb!!

      Yes it works, maybe I should have added you won’t see it until you post the comment. 😉

  5. February 12, 2011 at 12:03 PM

    Wait…it did!!!!!!:)

  6. February 12, 2011 at 12:04 PM

    That time it didn’t… 🙂

  7. February 12, 2011 at 12:05 PM

    Ok…I need to leave a space…I am learning.

    • February 12, 2011 at 12:09 PM

      So glad I could put a smile on your face today Granny! 🙂

    • February 12, 2011 at 12:29 PM

      Granny’s got a brand new bag . . . of tricks!

      • February 12, 2011 at 12:39 PM

        I’m sure Granny will have some fun with those today!! 🙂

  8. February 12, 2011 at 12:34 PM

    Hehehehe…you guys are all awesome 🙂

    • February 12, 2011 at 12:42 PM

      Thanks Princess. We will probably all start seeing a few more smiles in the comments. 😉

  9. February 12, 2011 at 1:58 PM

    Hi Rose – the smilies are great thanks! They are so useful to convey what our words can’t. Especially if we write one thing and mean something else… 😉 You really are a mine of USEFUL information.
    Hope you are beginning to feel better 🙂
    PiP

    • February 12, 2011 at 2:06 PM

      Thanks PiP, I’m feeling almost 100% today. Are you feeling any better?

      You can see from the comments that Granny likes them and is having some fun with them. There’s plenty of information in this little head of mine and it’s fun sharing it with everyone. 😉

  10. February 12, 2011 at 2:55 PM

    I love the quote Rose. It’s perfect for today’s smiley face lesson. Thanks for being such a wonderful teacher! 🙂

    • February 12, 2011 at 3:09 PM

      Ah thanks Shell, I’m just sharing what I know and some of what I learn and hope that others will find it helpful. 🙂

  11. tbaoo
    February 12, 2011 at 4:38 PM

    well if there’s one thing i’m not and that’s 😐 – cheers alan

    • February 12, 2011 at 4:39 PM

      Glad to hear that Alan. 🙂

  12. February 12, 2011 at 10:26 PM

    Thanks so much Rosemary!!! I am one of those “grannies” that really wanted to make those faces…But wanted to tell you I “lost” my like button while I was messing with the share section BUT all is well, 6 hours later, They are in tack, and all the original blogger hovercards are too!

    • February 13, 2011 at 4:37 AM

      Hi Jaxie, Glad you like the smiley’s and really happy you found your ‘like’ button. Don’t want to lose that one. 🙂

  13. February 14, 2011 at 10:53 PM

    Thanks for those site Rosemary – they will come in very useful; I have bookmarked them, as I use images a lot.
    Can’t wait to see what you have planned for next week!

    • February 14, 2011 at 10:55 PM

      You’re welcome Barb. There are more sites, I just need to find the time to check them out and it looks like it’s going to be a real busy week for me now!! 🙂

  1. February 12, 2011 at 2:38 PM
  2. March 5, 2011 at 11:26 AM

Leave a Reply

