Home > Blogging, or not, RandomBlog2011 Challenge, WordPress Challenge > or not – RandomBlog2011 Challenge Day 3 – Tips

or not – RandomBlog2011 Challenge Day 3 – Tips

RandomBlog2011 challenge, postaday2011, postaweek2011

 

My Blog is two months old today. There is nothing bugging me today!

randomblog2011 challenge, postaday2011, postaweek2011, blog, bloggingI’ve come a long way since that day when I published my first post, Featured Post – How It All Started. It’s been an exciting two months, especially this week, and I’m looking forward to the rest of the 2011.

Noobcake was nice enough to create two badges for bloggers taking part in the RandomBlog2011 Challenge. You can visit his latest post Random Blog Reading to grab them. Thank you so much for doing that! πŸ™‚

Update: See my comment for instructions on how to add an image.

I know I said it earlier, but the response has been great and everybody loves the Challenge. Everyone is having a great time checking out new blogs and connecting with more bloggers in this wonderful online community on WordPress.com.

There are some who would love to take part but because of time constraints can’t, plus they already visit new blogs to get ideas for their own blogs. Melsar93 of The Mike/Mitch Project liked the idea he’s chosen to list in his latest post some of the blogs that he’s discovered. It was nice to see my first Blogging Buddy on that list.

Tip

Here is another tip on how you can find new blogs. Visit the blogs that are Freshly Pressed or FoodPress and read the comments. The trick is to not be one of the first to comment but one of the last. This way you avoid subscribing to comments if you want to see the reply.

Or, we know that if you are one of the first to comment they usually get read, so comment first and then subscribe to the RSS feed for the comments. The comments will just sit in your reader until you have the time to check them out.

Tip

Bloggers who visit the Freshly Pressed are usually visiting other blogs and leaving comments. Some are probably doing the same thing you are, trying to get someone to their blog to read it.

Some of my friends recently Freshly Pressed.

Piglet in Portugal
1961 Girl
The Running Garlic

In case you missed it, make sure you read the latest news from WordPress.com on Are you well-versed in comment etiquette?

Tip

Some bloggers joining the challenge are tagging older posts so you will have to go back a few pages to find them or you can subscribe to the tag’s RSS feed. This way you won’t have to search for them and they will appear in your reader when tagged. I think you will find that this could save you some time.

This post wasn’t supposed to be another tips post but I just can’t seem to stop myself from sharing these tips with you. πŸ™‚ I don’t think anybody minds, do they?

There is nothing bugging me today?

πŸ™‚

Quote for today

Life is like a mirror, we get the best results when we smile at it.
Author Unknown

Β© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. February 16, 2011 at 12:05 PM

    I just added my RandomBlog2011 badge πŸ™‚

    • February 16, 2011 at 12:13 PM

      Looks good Stacey. I didn’t know he was doing it and I was just finishing up my post for today when I saw his comment.

      I’m glad I multi-task and check to see what new comments have come in, otherwise I would have missed it. πŸ™‚

  2. February 16, 2011 at 1:07 PM

    golly, you seem like a really old hand….. hope i’ve made half as much progress by the middle of April !

    • February 16, 2011 at 1:10 PM

      Thanks Jenny. All my reading and research over the years is finally paying off for me. Finally putting my knowledge to some good use. πŸ™‚

  3. February 16, 2011 at 1:24 PM

    Hi Rose.

    Have you come back to planet earth yet…or are you still floating on your cloud of excitement? You have worked so hard and given us all so much that you deserve all the love and support that is flowing your way. Bless you.

    Thanks for yet more great tips. I’ve cut and pasted the badges from Noobcake and just need to figure out how to add them to my blog!

    Hugs, Juls πŸ™‚

    • February 16, 2011 at 2:12 PM

      Hi Juls, I think I’m still up in the clouds and having a tough time getting down! Thanks for the love and support, I truly appreciate it.

      Ok, I know I’ve posted this in a comment before but I think I have an easier way of doing it than the way The Daily Post suggests.

      HOW TO ADD BADGE

      1. Right click on the badge and ‘save image as’ to download to your computer.
      2. Dashboard – Media – Add New – select the image file from your computer, Save then Save all changes
      3. Make a note of the URL for the image or select and copy
      4. Dashboard – Appearance – Widgets – Add Image Widget
      5. Paste the image URL, if you want you can link it to the RandomBlog2011 Challenge page to encourage other bloggers to join
      6. Save

      Your image is added with no need to deal with html codes. Maybe I should have added this to the post for today. Oh well, it’s here in the comments now. πŸ™‚

  4. February 16, 2011 at 1:55 PM

    Thanks for the tips!We love them!

  5. February 16, 2011 at 2:22 PM

    I added the badge!! Thanks Rose…I also wanted to let you know, I have already met lots of new bloggers, this was a great idea!!

    • February 16, 2011 at 2:30 PM

      Thanks Princess. When I set this up I wasn’t sure if it would work but it seems to be doing just fine! Everyone seems to be meeting up with new bloggers and coming up with their own ideas on how to find new blogs.

      Thanks have to go to Noobcake for creating the badge. πŸ™‚

  6. February 16, 2011 at 3:05 PM

    It’s a great idea Rose! HAve discovered lots of interesting new blogs!

    I’ve been struggling to add the badge for the last 40mins and just spotted your comment to Juls above! Well done! I usually add in a slighly different way, but today…it just don’t wanna play! computers can always tell when you’re stressed with them!

    Cheers
    PiP

    • February 16, 2011 at 3:13 PM

      Thanks PiP, So have I, but for some reason I can’t seem to find the time to go visiting yet today. And I think my day is going to get even busier. πŸ˜‰

      I like finding simple ways to do things and the way I do it works just fine for me. I don’t worry about all of the extra little things you can do unless I really need it. πŸ™‚

  7. February 16, 2011 at 3:33 PM

    Am going to try and put a badge on my blog.. fingers crossed. Thank you for all your great tips M

    • February 16, 2011 at 3:42 PM

      Thanks, you just put a big smile on my face. Did you receive my email? πŸ™‚

  8. February 16, 2011 at 6:01 PM

    Thanks again Rosemary for helping us out – we love getting your tips, so keep ’em coming!
    I’ve added my badge!

  9. February 16, 2011 at 6:09 PM

    Badge looks good Barb. I don’t think there is any way I can stop giving tips. It just seems to be what I do. πŸ™‚

  10. postadaychallenge2011
    February 16, 2011 at 7:46 PM

    HOW TO ADD BADGE
    1. Right click on the badge and β€˜save image as’ to download to your computer.
    2. Dashboard – Media – Add New – select the image file from your computer, Save then Save all changes
    3. Make a note of the URL for the image or select and copy
    4. Dashboard – Appearance – Widgets – Add Image Widget
    5. Paste the image URL, if you want you can link it to the RandomBlog2011 Challenge page to encourage other bloggers to join
    6. Save
    THANKS I HAD NO IDEA

  11. February 16, 2011 at 11:50 PM

    Excellent tips. Happy Anniversary.

    You’ve come a long way, Baby!

    • February 21, 2011 at 8:51 AM

      Thanks, I have come a long way. I”m sorry for not replying earlier. I thought I had but I must have been distracted somehow. πŸ™‚

  12. February 17, 2011 at 10:31 AM

    I for one am shocked to find our this is your second month! I am stunned! You have helped me so much over these few weeks, I just assumed you had been blogging for years…of course I didn’t apply the helpful tips of our RandomBlog2011 to even check if you were one of “us,” new bloggers!!

    And your blog space too looks like it has been created by a “professional” web-designer. You are more than awesome….thanks for your dedication, Rosemary!

    • February 17, 2011 at 11:24 AM

      Thanks Jaxie that means a lot to me. I am a “new blogger” because in previous blogs I’ve never gone past the first post. I was always too scared of hitting the publish button but not anymore. πŸ™‚

  1. February 17, 2011 at 11:12 AM
  2. February 18, 2011 at 9:45 AM
  3. February 19, 2011 at 8:56 AM
  4. February 21, 2011 at 8:42 AM
  5. February 27, 2011 at 12:27 PM

Leave a Reply

