Home > Blogging, or not, WordPress Challenge > or not – RandomBlog2011 Challenge Day 6

or not – RandomBlog2011 Challenge Day 6

randomblog2011, challenge, postaday2011, postaweek2011

Having the time of my life!

There are two days left in the RandomBlog2011 Challenge. There is nothing bugging me today!

I’ve been on a roller coaster ride this week and it’s been thrilling. I’ve learned not to be afraid of trying new things and to move forward with my ideas. This challenge was one idea I had considered and I’m glad I took the chance. Now it’s time for me to review my other ideas and projects that have sat on the back burner far too long.

It’s been suggested that the Challenge continue but in a modified way. I’m considering the options and will report back to everyone in a Wrap Up Report.

Saturdays are usually a day when I post Housekeeping but instead I’m going to list two things that I think all bloggers should be aware of to really be a part of the online community and have other bloggers visit their blogs.

When the WordPress Challenge started I would visit The Daily Post to read the comments to see if I could find some blogs to visit. I found some interesting comments but I couldn’t get to their blogs because they weren’t linked up. By that I mean, that neither their name nor their Gravatar had a link to their blog. Well I found that annoying so I decided to write a post PostADay2011 – Bloggers With No Links.

1.

So I ask, Are you linked up?

  • Can people click on your name and get to your blog?
  • Has your blog URL been added to your Gravatar?

If the answer is no, then please read PostADay2011 – Bloggers With No Links. You will find easy instructions on how to link up.

2.

Many of you might have seen my post the other day where my blogging buddy Piglet in Portugal commented “Crikey Rose, you’ve liked a lot of posts!” When I leave a comment I also click the Like button and there is a reason for it.

Reading the comments I also noticed that the bloggers were practically crying out for someone to please read their blog. Because of all these comments I wrote PostADay2011 Bloggers – Click the Like Button Please.

On my blog I give you three ways to let me know you’ve read the post and for me to find out how you feel about it.

  1. If you Rate a blog posting the blogger doesn’t get notified of who did the rating
  2. If you Like a blog posting the blogger receives your information and might come visit
  3. If you Comment on a blog posting the blogger will often come visit and check your blog

The chances of them coming to visit my blog are far greater when I click the Like button and leave a Comment.

Now, if you want other bloggers to visit and read your blog and maybe leave a comment, which option would you choose?

Blogs I’ve Visited

piccolaitaliana – Spoonlighting

Patti – Read Me

DGuidas – whatipic

Ramblings of an Emmett

My regular Housekeeping Saturday post might be coming up later today. I haven’t decided yet and might just skip it this week. I just did mine, did you remember to back up your blog?

There is nothing bugging me today!

🙂

Quote for today

A friendly look, a kindly smile, one good act, and life’s worthwhile.
Author Unknown

Recommended Reading

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. February 19, 2011 at 9:24 AM

    Thanks ClassyRose. great and clear instructions for Avatar update and blog link. Have done both as per your instructions!
    Keep on stepping out and taking chances!

    walk in beauty.

    • February 19, 2011 at 9:33 AM

      Thanks for your encouragement Joss.

      I’m glad I got past my fear of pressing the publish button because that’s opened up so many opportunities. It also helped me move past some of my other fears. 🙂

  2. February 19, 2011 at 9:36 AM

    Thank you so much for the mention! Honestly, I really really appreciate it 🙂

    • February 19, 2011 at 9:45 AM

      Buongiorno Piccola, I love what you’re doing and it’s a great challenge for someone as young as you to take on.

      I love your name, are you really Italian? Ciao 🙂

      • February 19, 2011 at 12:39 PM

        Haha, it really is a challenge but I’ve loved it so far.

        Well…define Italian. My great-grandparents moved here from Sicily, but that makes me only 1/4 Italian. I figure that’s enough to call myself Little Italian, right? 😉

        • February 19, 2011 at 12:43 PM

          Hi Piccola, You’ve got Italian blood in you, you’re Italian – so am I.

          Well, Canadian born with Italian parents and my mom came from Sicily. 😉

  3. February 19, 2011 at 10:23 AM

    Hi Rose,

    I’ve really enjoyed the Random blog challenge and I hope it can continue even in a different format. I have certainly upped my subscriptions to many more interesting blogs as a result of it. I suppose the thing is not to spread ourselves to thinly at the end of the day. I now visit 1 new blog a day …still a hell a lot more than I use to prior to this challenge. I will continue to try and do so.

    PiP

    • February 19, 2011 at 10:34 AM

      Thanks PiP, from the comments I’ve read you’re not the only one enjoying it and there are others who would like it to continue. But I need to think about the time commitment involved. After all there is only one of me.

      Your support and encouragement has always meant a lot not only to me but to all the other bloggers you visit. Keep up the great work!

      🙂

  4. February 19, 2011 at 10:52 AM

    Just, me, too.
    >I’ve learned not to be afraid of trying new things and to move forward with my ideas.

    I added my English blog Link to my Gravatar.
    http://ensummerfield.wordpress.com/

    Thank you for your mention.

    • February 19, 2011 at 3:57 PM

      You’re welcome Summerfield.

  5. February 19, 2011 at 11:14 AM

    Thanks for this post. I’m still stumbling around on this. Just set up a twitter account to match my blog today.

    • February 19, 2011 at 11:21 AM

      You’re welcome. I didn’t have a Twitter account until recently so I’m not much help there. I’m still trying to find my way through it. 🙂

  6. February 19, 2011 at 11:29 AM

    Nothing is bugging me either!

    Have a wonderful week end.

    • February 19, 2011 at 2:08 PM

      Glad to hear that. Hope you have a wonderful weekend too! 🙂

  7. February 19, 2011 at 11:55 AM

    Thanks for the link. I appreciate it.

    • February 19, 2011 at 11:58 AM

      You’re welcome. I like helping fellow bloggers. 🙂

  8. February 19, 2011 at 12:13 PM

    I also have issues with the no link on the gravatar….drives me nuts. I look forward to the Random blog being continued!!! Have a great Sunday Rose.

    • February 19, 2011 at 12:20 PM

      Thanks Princess, I’m just reading the post about your road trip, need to get back to it. 🙂

  9. February 19, 2011 at 1:28 PM

    Another great post from you. Sometimes it’s the simple things like linking Gravatar to our blogs can get over looked but certainly makes the world of difference.

    • February 19, 2011 at 1:55 PM

      Thanks Timmer. Think about all the blogs that show the Gravatar with your comment – each one of them is a link back to your blog or any other URL you add.

      Simple things often do make life easier. 🙂

  10. February 19, 2011 at 4:37 PM

    Thanks for this Rose, I’ve been wondering how to get to peoples blogs via their gravatar and now I know it’s because they haven’t linked up.
    As for your Random Blog challenge, I’m afraid I ducked out because I hardly posted anything this week BUT I always tag surf and try and connect with new people.
    So forgive me for not joining in, maybe next time when I’m not so distracted.

    • February 19, 2011 at 7:40 PM

      That’s okay Marcia, I understand. I know you’re always out there connecting with new bloggers and providing encouragement. 🙂

  11. February 19, 2011 at 4:49 PM

    Once again Rose, your helpfulness and watchful eye on our fellow-bloggers shines through! Thanks again.

    • February 19, 2011 at 7:44 PM

      Thanks Barb, 😳

      These are simple things but like Timmer said above “certainly makes the world of difference”. 🙂

  1. February 19, 2011 at 2:55 PM
  2. February 20, 2011 at 6:07 AM

Leave a Reply

