Home > Blogging, or not, RandomBlog2011 Challenge, WordPress Challenge > or not – RandomBlog2011 Challenge Update

or not – RandomBlog2011 Challenge Update

RandomBlog2011 Challenge, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011, Twitter, TweetThis is just a quick update to let everyone know I’m still working on the new page for RandomBlog2011 Challenge. There is nothing bugging me today!

Instead of publishing full posts every day for the RandomBlog2011 Challenge, updates will go out as Tweets on Twitter. I will still publish updates in some of my daily posts but if it’s something quick I will instead send out a Tweet linking to the new information.

This is the best way to keep everyone informed on updates. So if you want the latest updates, you might want to follow me on TwitterFollow me on Twitter .

If anyone doesn’t have a Twitter account you can sign up here.

One of the things changing is a new way for you to let other bloggers know what new blogs you’ve visited. You can do this by using the hashtag symbol “#” and randomblog2011. If you’re using the WordPress Publicize feature you can retweet your own posts using the hashtag symbol.

  • #randomblog2011

This is similar to The Daily Post using #postaday2011 and #postaweek2011.

Here is some information from Twitter on using hashtags.

Hashtags: helping you find interesting Tweets

  • People use the hashtag symbol # before relevant keywords in their Tweet to categorize those Tweets to show more easily in Twitter Search.
  • Clicking on a hashtagged word in any message shows you all other Tweets in that category.
  • Hashtags can occur anywhere in the Tweet.
  • Hashtagged words that become very popular are often Trending Topics.

Here is an example of a Tweet using the hashtag symbol.

I think that about covers it for now.

There is nothing bugging me today!

๐Ÿ™‚

Quote for today

Those who are lifting the world upward and onward are those who encourage more than criticize.
Elizabeth Harrison

ยฉ 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. February 23, 2011 at 12:38 PM

    Thanks for all the Useful Tips re Twitter…how many people use it to promote their blog?

    What’s your Twitter name? mine is @portugalpiglet if you want to connect ๐Ÿ™‚

    I use Twitter regulary and it’s a great way to connect with other bloggers from around the world or people with similar interests ๐Ÿ™‚

    PiP

    • February 23, 2011 at 12:46 PM

      You’re welcome PiP, I’m still fairly new with Twitter and just found out that the hashtag doesn’t work too great if there is a word in front of it. So I’ve sent out a new tweet without the word “new” and changed the image included in today’s post. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I guess I should have listed mine too instead of just linking to it,

      mine is @classyrose101

      I’ll get to where you are one day connecting with others. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. February 23, 2011 at 12:58 PM

    I am still trying to learn the twitter thing too…getting better at it slowly ๐Ÿ™‚

    my name on twitter is @DoMaH64

    • February 23, 2011 at 1:12 PM

      Thanks Princess, It’s nice to know I’m not the only one here who is still learning it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. postadaychallenge2011
    February 23, 2011 at 3:20 PM

    My twitter account says that I need more followers in order to follow others. I don’t know what to do? Any Ideas? I guess I am over the 2000 limit nowadays. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • February 23, 2011 at 4:21 PM

      Hi Jackie, I’m new to Twitter so I have no idea what you can do.

      Maybe you could Tweet the problem and ask for help on it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • postadaychallenge2011
        February 23, 2011 at 4:24 PM

        Ok good idea…I will do just that why didn’t I think of that?~

        @focusawareness

        • February 23, 2011 at 4:29 PM

          I’m sure you would have thought of it sooner or later. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. February 23, 2011 at 4:00 PM

    This is a brilliant idea! I need to read more blogs ๐Ÿ™‚

    • February 23, 2011 at 4:22 PM

      Hi Yelly, I’m glad you like it.

      Thanks for following me on Twitter.
      ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. February 23, 2011 at 9:36 PM

    Oh this is great! Now I can follow some of my favorite bloggers on twitter..of course, that makes me sound like a stalker…shakes head. Keep up the great job, CR! I’m followin’ ya! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • February 24, 2011 at 6:19 AM

      Hi MJ, thanks for the follow. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. February 23, 2011 at 11:33 PM

    Thanks again Rose for all the tips, you keep coming up with new ones for us, and we love you for it!
    So now I am following you on Twitter! My name on Twitter is @bizzliz1

    • February 24, 2011 at 6:23 AM

      You’re welcome Barb, I think Tweets will be the best way for everyone to stay updated and using the hashtag it will be easy to do a search.

      Thanks for following me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. February 24, 2011 at 5:59 PM

    Thanks Rose, more useful tips as ever.

    • February 24, 2011 at 9:24 PM

      You’re welcome Marcia. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. postadaychallenge2011
    February 27, 2011 at 12:02 AM

    http://postadaychallenge2011.com/2011/02/26/random-acts-of-kindess-day/
    Pingback I added you to my new Random Acts of Kindness…spreading your joy around the world. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • February 27, 2011 at 12:07 AM

      Thanks again Jackie, I appreciate everything you’ve done to help spread the word. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. February 27, 2011 at 3:18 AM

    Hey man, I just arrived on this page thanks to your comment on the ‘act of kindness’ daily topic…

    I really like this challenge. It’s original and very easy to be part of. So yeah, I’ll follow you on twitter and I’ll be using the tag.

    Cheers!

    • February 27, 2011 at 7:26 AM

      Welcome and thanks Gijs. Glad to have you join the challenge.

      Everyone has been having great fun discovering new blogs. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. February 24, 2011 at 12:46 PM
  2. February 25, 2011 at 8:16 AM
  3. February 26, 2011 at 1:03 PM
  4. February 26, 2011 at 8:25 PM
  5. February 27, 2011 at 12:26 PM
  6. March 1, 2011 at 11:47 AM
  7. March 7, 2011 at 12:27 PM
  8. March 14, 2011 at 8:14 AM

Leave a Reply

