Home > Blogging, Housekeeping, or not, RandomBlog2011 Challenge, WordPress Challenge > or not – Some Housekeeping Goodies

or not – Some Housekeeping Goodies

Housekeeping, Things in life I find annoying, RandomBlog2011 Challenge

Today’s post is a little different from the one’s I’ve written in the past. Instead of letting you know what I need to take care of, I’m letting you know what I have taken care of over the past week working on the RandomBlog2011 Challenge. There is nothing bugging me today! 🙂

I’ve done a lot of housekeeping on the blog this week from adding the copyright to creating new pages and changing pages. I’ve had quite a time taking care of everything.

Yesterday I added 3 new pages to the blog but it wasn’t a simple task because I had to co-ordinate the publishing times with my new post. I used a combination of publishing the page/post as private and using the shortlink instead of the URL. If you ask me now what I did when and in what order I wouldn’t be able to tell you.

Some of this involved setting up a new parent page for the RandomBlog2011 Challenges. Normally it wouldn’t be a problem but when you need to leave the current page intact so visitors can still see it, before all the changes are made, could be a bit tricky.

It was a challenge timing everything, but all I know is that when everything was published the links worked.

Goodies, Things in life I find annoying, RandomBlog2011, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011Goodies

Tip

You can get the shortlink to the new page or new post before it’s published. Once you save a draft of your post/page the shortlink is created. This lets you link to it before it’s posted.

This information is from WordPress.com.

How can you use it?

There is now a “Get Shortlink” button next to your permalink when you edit or write a post, and when you click it you’ll get a popup with the beautiful link already highlighted for your copy and pasting pleasure.

If you’re logged in you can also get the shortlink for any page on WordPress.com, there’s a link under the “Blog Info” menu in your admin bar.

Tip

I finally added the copyright to my blog which meant having to go through the blog and add the copyright to each post and page. This took a fair bit of time but it’s done now and it will be much easier going forward.

Here is a short recap of how to add the copyright to your blog using the WordPress sample found here.

  • Insert your name and blog title into the sample copyright statement.
  • Add it to your side-bar using the text widget.
  • Add your  © 2011 Blog Title and/or Name to the bottom of each post/page.

Tip

Instead of copying and pasting the © symbol hold down the Alt key and type 0169 (Alt0169) on the number pad. If you use the numbers in the upper row of your keyboard it won’t work.

Two other symbols that might come in handy are:
= Alt0153
® = Alt0174

Tip

Did you know that if you click the “Like” button again once you’ve already clicked it and it says “You like this“, that it takes you to your “Posts I Like” page on WordPress.com

You can test it out after you click the “Like” button on this post. 😉

______________________________

I haven’t had much time to visit very many new blogs but I did visit three and here they are. I’ve already sent out Tweets on Twitter using the hashtag #randomblog2011.

Blogs I’ve visited

I haven’t done much of my regular reading either over the past two weeks but I’m going to try to do some of it this weekend.

There is nothing bugging me today!

🙂

Quote for today

Accept the challenges so that you can feel the exhilaration of victory.
George S. Patton

New Pages Added & Changed

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. February 26, 2011 at 1:37 PM

    Hi Rose,
    I am curious – how did you get the “Copyright © 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying Blog at WordPress.com. Theme: INove by NeoEase.” to appear at the bottom of your blog?
    PiP 🙂

    • February 26, 2011 at 1:45 PM

      Hi PiP, To tell you the truth, I have no idea and it’s been there for a while.

      It must be part of the theme because I don’t remember adding it. 🙂

    • February 26, 2011 at 3:31 PM

      pIp, I think it may have something to do with the theme itself that puts that copyright notice at the bottom of the page. Just a thought.

      • February 26, 2011 at 3:58 PM

        thanks Noobcake 🙂 That’s a shame…

        • February 26, 2011 at 4:12 PM

          Hi Noobcake and sorry PiP but I just checked and if you preview the theme Inove you will see that the copyright is part of the theme.

          I like this theme. 🙂

  2. February 26, 2011 at 2:52 PM

    Hi!!! Those gum drop candies shown above sure do look yummy. Thanks for the mention. AND…..I’m glad I’m not the only one with a series of To-Do’s. It sounds like you’ve gotten a lot more accomplished this week than I have. I hope you have a great weekend.

    • February 26, 2011 at 2:57 PM

      Hi Sondra, no problem.

      You don’t want to know how many To-Do’s are on my list and it just keeps growing. But it’s a great feeling when I cross them off the list.

      Hope you have a great weekend too! 🙂

  3. February 26, 2011 at 5:19 PM

    Thanks Rose…loads of interesting stuff here.

    • February 26, 2011 at 5:26 PM

      Thanks Granny, I like passing along tips whenever I can. 🙂

  4. February 26, 2011 at 7:09 PM

    I’m having a hard time keeping up with the regular reading too! Great tips about the copyright. Thanks!

    • February 26, 2011 at 7:12 PM

      Thanks Shell, I know so am I. That’s why it’s on a weekly basis now and not daily.

      Makes it much easier. 🙂

  5. February 27, 2011 at 12:40 AM

    Thanks for all those great tips Rose; we all appreciate you so much – just wanted you to know.

    • February 27, 2011 at 12:42 AM

      Thanks Barb, It’s nice knowing that the tips are helping people with their blogs and the entire blogging experience. 🙂

  6. February 27, 2011 at 10:18 AM

    visited all three blogs you listed – all keepers. thanks. It’s my lazy way of doing the Random Blog challenge this week. heh heh.

    • February 27, 2011 at 10:27 AM

      Hi Joss, not a problem.

      The challenge is about discovering new blogs and letting everyone who is taking part in the challenge know about them. 🙂

  1. February 26, 2011 at 8:24 PM
  2. March 5, 2011 at 11:26 AM
  3. March 12, 2011 at 2:37 PM
  4. March 13, 2011 at 2:36 PM
  5. March 19, 2011 at 10:18 PM

Leave a Reply

