Home > RandomBlog2011 Challenge, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > My 5 of the 20 Most Annoying Things at the Grocery Store

My 5 of the 20 Most Annoying Things at the Grocery Store

Things in life I find annoying, RandomBlog2011 Challenge, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011Where do grocery store cashiers learn to bag groceries these days? This is what’s bugging me today!

When I do my grocery shopping I usually try to pack my own groceries because I don’t like the way they do it. The last time I handed over my bags and let her pack them and I asked her to please distribute the weight evenly.

This one was totally useless. Not only didn’t she do that but she was about to put my bananas at the bottom of a bag. If I hadn’t seen that, the grapes would have ended up at the bottom too!

I ended up having to repack my groceries. That’s the last time I let them pack and if I’m in their way of dealing with the next customer, I’m sorry but I like my bananas with no bruises and I don’t like my grapes squished.

I wondered if anyone else is annoyed by these things and I found this list.

There are some good ones on this list. Some are self-explanatory, others I’ve added my description to them and on some I’ve listed theirs.

20 Most Annoying Things at the Grocery Store

1. Gargantuan Grocery Carts

2. Oops! I Forgot One Thing …

3. Prolonged Temper Tantrums – not just children but adults too!

4. Aisle Blockers

5. Express Lane Abuse

This isn’t the “I-am-not-sure-if-I-have-10-or-11-items” cart, it’s the “I-am-feeding-a-family-of-seven-and-we-eat-a-lot” cart.

6. Kids on Wheels

7. Payment Procrastinator

Have your checkbook out and your check pre-filled, so that when you get the final total that’s all you need to pop in! (Same goes for debit cards, credit cards, cash or any other type of payment — you shouldn’t be digging through your purse for it at the last minute!)

8. Let’s Put Back the … – not having enough money to pay for everything

9. Sign, Sign, Everywhere a Sign – yes, but what’s on sale?

10. The ’10-for-$10′ Trick – enticing you to buy more than you need

11. That’s Gotta Sting – expired, damaged or opened goods notย  noticed until you get home

12. Poor Cart Choices – bum wheels, incessant squeaking or some mystery substance smeared all over it

13. Non-Private PIN Pads

14. Lots of (Closed) Lanes

My Favourite and receives a Gold Star

15. Rough Cashiers

We can’t stand cashiers who take no notice that they are denting cans and squishing bread as they slam our items around. Hey, don’t take your frustrations out on our eggs!

16. But, It Is On Sale! – scanned with the wrong price

17. Checkout Belt Hogs – refusing to move up so you can put your groceries on the belt

18. Self-Checkout Lanes – item won’t scan and you need a cashier, so much for self-checkout and a quick exit

19. Where the Heck Is It?! –ย  items in sections where it makes no sense or finding they’ve moved your favourite item

20. Frosty Freezers –people who leave the doors open while they decide and the doors get all fogged up

Do any of these annoy you?

Which ones would you pick?

This is whatโ€™s bugging me today!

๐Ÿ™‚

Quote for today

Keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you’re up to.
Author Unknown

ยฉ 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. March 4, 2011 at 12:05 PM

    I agree with you 150%….especially since I just went to the store last night and almost all of those things happened.

    • March 4, 2011 at 12:50 PM

      Hi Stacey, it seems like it happens everywhere!

      I want to live where Basil lives their stores have a new invention! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Ryan
    March 4, 2011 at 12:28 PM

    My choice wud be rough cashiers… Some of them act like they are doing us a favour :-S

    • March 4, 2011 at 12:37 PM

      Hi Ryan, some of them even put cartons of milk at the bottom of bags on their side. Think of the mess you would have if the carton leaked. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. March 4, 2011 at 12:37 PM

    Hi Rose,

    I can really relate to this post!!! I think the most annoying things for me are aisle blockers, not having enough money…and finally, sixth cousin twice removed to the cashier having a family chat! There is just no sense of urgency in Portugal regardless of whether you have a trolley full of frozen foods or not!

    I try to be tolerant when shopping as I never forget we are “foreigners” and we do”try” peoples patience to the limits at times that’s for sure ๐Ÿ˜ณ :)LOL

    PiP

    • March 4, 2011 at 12:41 PM

      PS I never let anyone pack my bags for the reasons mentioned!

      • March 4, 2011 at 12:44 PM

        I usually pack my own bags but last time for some reason I just let her do it.

        Never again!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • March 4, 2011 at 12:43 PM

      Hi PiP, the chatty cashiers was on my list of 15 Pet Peeves and it’s not just in Portugal, it’s everywhere.

      That one really bugs me and I will often say something to the cashier. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. March 4, 2011 at 12:44 PM

    Our local Stop & Shop groceries have self scanners, little hand held devices that you walk around the grocery with and you scan your groceries as you shop and pack them in your bags in the cart one time. When you are done you go to a special lane, scan your device, your entire order comes up, you pay and leave. No cashier, no dumb baggers. I think it’s the most wonderful invention there is.

    • March 4, 2011 at 12:47 PM

      Wow Basil, where do you live!!

      Love that idea and I hope it’s coming soon to a store near me. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I haven’t heard about that invention but it’s a great one, but then I guess some of the cashiers might lose their job! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • March 5, 2011 at 1:32 AM

        I live in Westchester County, NY on the border of CT. The groceries I am talking about are both in CT. I really loved them. There are still a lot of cashiers. I guess unlike me, some people love abusive cashiers and not too smart packers.

        • March 5, 2011 at 12:11 PM

          I can’t wait for those scanners to show up here somewhere. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. March 4, 2011 at 1:16 PM

    Like Basil we have a similar thing in the UK, a store called Waitrose where you can walk around with your own personal scanner, then just slot it in the holder and pay. Problem is the store itself is rather upmarket so your weekly shop costs twice as much.

    Whenever someone asks if I need help packing I say no every time. I want my frozen stuff in one bag, bread in another, fruit and veg together and so on. Some of these packers really are the morons of the supermarket world. As for some checkout operators, oh man, they sneer at you if you take time to pack the stuff you have paid for because you’re holding up the line!

    These days we tend to order online and have it delivered!

    • March 4, 2011 at 1:27 PM

      Hi Noobcake, One of my first jobs was working as a cashier and if the owner/manager didn’t like something we heard about it so we learned quick. He was all about customer service and that was back in the 70’s when we were packing groceries in brown paper bags.

      I like my things packed a certain way too and most of the time I’m walking home with the groceries. Having the weight distributed evenly makes a big difference.

      Don’t you love the cashiers who put cleaning products in with your fresh fruits and vegetables!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. March 4, 2011 at 1:19 PM

    PS. I recall on at least 3 occasions where I have left an entire jam packed trolley in the queue and walked out of the shop! Why? Because I get annoyed when I see dozens of shelf stackers in the store, 20 checkout lanes and long queues on only 3 of them! Serve me or I leave, there’s no excuse for that shoddy customer service.

    • March 4, 2011 at 1:30 PM

      Hi Noobcake, I’ve never left a cart full of groceries but I have spoken up and mentioned that maybe they should call for more cashiers. Usually does the trick!

      Customer service these days in some stores is non-existent. It seems like nobody likes the job they’re doing and they don’t hesitate to let it be known by their work habits. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • March 4, 2011 at 3:17 PM

        I have noticed that when I’ve visited one of the 24hour stores at say 2am the staff are surprisingly cheerful and full of enthusiasm! Weird or what!

        • March 4, 2011 at 3:20 PM

          Hi Noobcake, that’s probably because it’s not as busy as the rest of the day and they like it that way.

          More time to goof off!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. March 4, 2011 at 1:39 PM

    If I’m in a bad mood, or feeling impatient, all of these things would bother me. And I’ve experienced each of them a time or two.

    In contrast, if I’m in a good mood, feeling relaxed and happy, none of these things bother me . . . and most of them don’t seem to occur on those occasions.

    Perhaps my positive energy causes others to behave better. Or, maybe, when I’m happy, they just slip under my radar. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • March 4, 2011 at 1:49 PM

      I’ve experienced them all and more than a time or two. Some of them aren’t as irritating some days, but then the five I picked seem to get to me most of the time.

      Three of my 5 deal with being considerate to your fellow shoppers. Some just don’t get it!

      Positive energy could have something to do with it but when it comes to my Gold Star one, it doesn’t matter how positive I might be feeling. That one gets to me all the time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. postadaychallenge2011
    March 4, 2011 at 2:57 PM

    I love all of them: Standing in line at the grocery store and the person in front of you has all the time in the world to get their wallet out before the total amount comes up and they wait until the last minute to get it out.

    Let me clarify this a little more. You are third in line and the person in front of you, has, say 20 items. They wait for the person in front of them to get finished and then the clerk starts ringing them out (note, everything they are buying is already on the conveyor to be scanned and there is a person bagging their goods), they proceed to wait there for every item to be scanned and when the clerk tells them the total, now they decide to get their wallet to pay for the items.

    What makes it worse is, if they want to use their coin change or have to dig into a purse to get the money out. Please have the wallet out so you are prepared to pay before it gets to the total for crying out loud!

    • March 4, 2011 at 3:07 PM

      Hi Jackie, I run into that all the time.

      Then they realize they don’t have enough money so need to put something back and/or they say that they were charged the price for something. Two other items on the list.

      Oh, did I forget to mention this happens in the express lane to me and they have way more than 10 items! Hmmm…that’s a total of 4 from the list for just one shopper.

      I’ve had that happen to me plenty of times. Tell me it doesn’t just happen to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Tony McGurk
    March 4, 2011 at 4:16 PM

    My wife Michelle usually does the shopping during the day while I’m at work but on the odd occasions that I go to the supermarket it is usually with her so she deals with the checkout operators while I am standing there in a world of my own.

    I am usually there in a trolley pushing capacity so my biggest peeve is wonky trolley wheels. Especially once you get a bit of weight in the trolley & it wants to veer off course & it’s a real battle to steer straight.

    I just politely ask aisle blockers to move & if they don’t I just barge past. People with lots of things trying to go through the 10 items or less checkouts annoy me too.

    • March 4, 2011 at 4:24 PM

      Hi Tony, I don’t like the “wonky wheels” either and when I try to get a better one I find that they’re all the same or there is something else wrong with them.

      That’s when I have one of those days where it doesn’t matter what I do, something will go wrong. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. March 4, 2011 at 4:42 PM

    #7 bugs me big time!
    Whatever means I am paying with, I am always ready with the cash in my hand, credit card, etc. Why do some people wait to the last minute to get their wallet out and then start rummaging round in it for cash or their card to pay? They have been standing there doing nothing whilst the cashier scans their items for goodness sake!
    I hate grocery shopping, it stresses me so the sooner I can get it over with, the better I feel!

    • March 4, 2011 at 5:06 PM

      Hi Barb, that one came close to getting a “gold star” too!

      Then when they finally have their payment out, the cashier asks them if they have a points card or AirMiles card. Then they have to go digging for that too!

      I always have my payment and points card ready. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. March 4, 2011 at 8:13 PM

    We have the issue of the customer and cashier knowing each other and spending time gabbing, the customer being slow to load the counter and pay, the cashier ring up and bagging slowly. All this just so they can have more time to talk!

    • March 4, 2011 at 8:18 PM

      Hi Shell, I know what you mean and I really don’t like that.

      I will glare at the cashier and if she doesn’t get the message, I will and have said something to the cashier.

      That usually gets them to start moving faster. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. marina
    March 4, 2011 at 8:23 PM

    My major complaint/annoyance is rude employees and poor customer service.

    • March 4, 2011 at 8:28 PM

      Hi Marina, I don’t run across too many rude employees but there is plenty of poor customer service.

      I don’t know what’s happened the last few years, because it seems to being getting worse instead of better. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. March 5, 2011 at 1:39 AM

    I don’t do a lot of grocery shopping yet so don’t have a lot of pet peeves about it. I sympathize though and I can understand why these things would be incredibly irritating.

    • March 5, 2011 at 11:48 AM

      Hi Gina, when you’re as old as some of the rest us, you will probably understand more why these things bother some of us. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. March 5, 2011 at 2:38 AM

    #5 and #7 are a common habit in my local store… I chuckled over those two. Thanks for leaving a comment on Jackie’s interview.
    Best,
    Eliz

    • March 5, 2011 at 11:52 AM

      Hi Eliz, in some stores I’ve been to, they have an express lane which is cash only. I like those! That takes cares of #7 but we still have to worry about #5 if they carry lots of cash. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. March 4, 2011 at 2:58 PM
  2. March 9, 2011 at 10:22 AM

Leave a Reply

