Home > Blogging, RandomBlog2011 Challenge, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > My 5 of 25 Reasons Why I’ll Leave Your Website in 10 seconds

My 5 of 25 Reasons Why I’ll Leave Your Website in 10 seconds

Things in life I find annoying, RandomBlog2011 Challenge, PostADay2011What are some people thinking of when they design their websites or choose a theme for their blogs? Do they want people to stick around and read or not? This is what’s bugging me today!

There are plenty of reasons why I don’t stick around on a website/blog and this list has most of them. But I’m usually gone in about 5 seconds.

I think they’re all pretty annoying but I’ve selected 5 and I’m passing out frowns and a gold star again.

25 reasons why I’ll leave your website in 10 seconds | Econsultancy.

Things in life I find annoying1. Autosound. This drives me nuts. When I visit a website and am instantly bombarded with an unwanted cacophony of nasty sound I tend to leave with immediate effect…

Things in life I find annoying2. Popups. An oldie but a goodie. And yet still we see them.

3. Interstitials. When I click on a link I expect to be taken straight to that page, rather than being dumped on a page with a big ad on it.

Things in life I find annoying4. Pagination. Do you really need me to load 10 pages to see 10 medium-sized pictures with small captions? Or to read a Top 10 list across 10 pages when it could just as easily be displayed on one page? Pagination is a cheap trick, in my view, to artificially inflate page impressions.

5. Slow load times. Don’t make me wait! I pay a premium for my 50MB home broadband connection…

6. Prioritisation of ads vs content. This is the evil twin of slow load times…  Some navigation may quickly appear before the whole thing grinds to a halt while we wait for an ad server to kick into life.

7. Woeful navigation. Badly-designed navigation is one of the few truly mortal sins that you can commit as a web professional… Flash-based sites tend to be among the very worst sinners.

8. Poor scent trails. Hey, I just want my questions answered, ok? If I can’t find things easily and quickly then I will look elsewhere.

9. Key information is AWOL. Just for the record, there is no way I will click a ‘Book A Room’ button just to see how much a hotel room costs.

10. Immediate registration demands. Why? Why now? Aren’t you going to tease me a little first? Timing is everything.

Things in life I find annoying11. Too much flashing, scrolling sh**. Yes, it can grab the attention, but not in a good way. It smacks of desperation and attention seeking, and is incredibly annoying.

12. Typos. Typos and poor grammar do not send the right signals to the visitor. There are literally no excuses.

13. Rubbish fonts. No right minded person would leave a website purely based on font aesthetics, but lame fonts can give off the impression that you’re not trying hard enough.

14. Narrow sites. There’s just something about sites designed for 800px monitors that gives me the creeps. Don’t you think?

15. Left-aligned sites. Again – and I can’t really explain why – sites that are aligned to the left (rather than centrally) just seem so 2002,…

16. Cookie cutter websites.  Who wants to be known as a copycat?

17. Cobwebs. If the last ‘news’ was from ‘January 2004’ then I won’t hang around for long.

18. A lack of clarity. A descriptive, meaningful, plain English strapline is key.

19. PRspeak / jargon. I tend to be of the opinion that you can shove your synergies where the sun doesn’t shine.

20. Browser issues. Test, test, test, and figure out what your audience likes to use.

21. Flash. Sometimes I’ll hang around, much in the same way that people slow down on motorways to gawp at car crashes, but I normally back out faster than you can say “Jumping Jack”.

22. No ‘About’ page. Many websites are allergic to About pages, for reasons I cannot begin to figure out.

23. Video-only homepages. If I have the time and inclination I might sit through a three minute video, but I think there should always be a text option…

24. Boring vs unprofessional. Some sites have no verve, no personality, and are uniformly dull.

Things in life I find annoying25. Contrast fail. Poor colour combinations can make it difficult to read text. And if you cannot read something there’s really very little point in hanging around.

Do any of these annoy you?

Which ones would you pick?

Things in life I find annoying

The one I awarded the gold star to is all the way at the bottom this time. If you want people to read your blog, don’t use tiny light coloured text on a dark background. I’m out of there!

This is what’s bugging me today!

🙂

Quote for today

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.
Benjamin Franklin

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. March 9, 2011 at 10:32 AM

    Hey Rose, nice post! I’ve been building websites for over 15 years now, although I’m less keen about taking on new work these days as like you said, everyone should be able to do it – but it does bug me when potential customer yak on about Flash and adverts and my pet hate “Can we have a hit counter?” Grrr! Why? They are so unbelievably old fashioned.

    I’m not sure I can pick a favourite from your list, they’re all huge pet hates of mine too! One I don’t like is that interim page with an advert on it and a tiny link somewhere that says “Skip this add and continue.” Are some websites so dependant on generating money from ads? Unless they truely serve a purpose and fit with the sites theme they have no purpose being there. I could rant on all day about bad web design but I reckon you’ve covered all the bases pretty well!

    • March 9, 2011 at 10:57 AM

      Thanks Noobcake, I had a tough time selecting just 5.

      Some people feel they need to have the latest and greatest available and just overdo it. I don’t like the interim page either and trying to find the tiny ‘x’ to close it is near impossible. 🙂

  2. March 9, 2011 at 10:33 AM

    agreed with ALL of them. My pet hate is when you have to sign up before you barely understand what it’s all about! Why would I join a FREE photo website for £75 when I haven’t even seen what sort of photos they have – I mean ALL of them! I think ALL photos that have a price tag should have a label attached to them, wherever they are. The onus should be ENTIRELY on the seller.

    well done.

    • March 9, 2011 at 11:01 AM

      Thanks Jenny. Some sites can be confusing! 🙂

  3. March 9, 2011 at 10:33 AM

    Oh yes, you got them all. I think my number one is the music. That drives me up the wall. I’m gone instantly. Then it would be black backgrounds with white fonts. My eyes get tired by the second paragraph.

    • March 9, 2011 at 11:07 AM

      Thanks Basil, I have my computer with the mute selected most of the time, but when I don’t it can be startling if I had the volume up.

      I captured the image I used from a website offering website design. I actually came across two of them this week and you just can’t read them. 🙂

  4. March 9, 2011 at 10:35 AM

    have put this on my Facebook page I think it’s so good.

  5. March 9, 2011 at 11:24 AM

    Great post, Rose.

    I want to ease into sites SLOWLY ~ music and flashing lights make me look for the EXIT sign.

    And #25 is the worst. If I have to stick my nose up to the screen to read, you better have something AMAZING to tell me. 😎

    • March 9, 2011 at 11:34 AM

      Thanks Nancy, I was surprised it was at the bottom of the list but that is the worst one for me. I have some bookmarklets I can use which reverses the colours but it gets to be a pain if you’re viewing more than the home page because you have to keep clicking on the bookmarklet.

      I have some tips and links to the bookmarklets on my Links page if you’re interested.

      https://whatsbuggingmetoday.wordpress.com/links/

      Another thing you can do for small text is to increase the page view using some keyboard shortcuts. 🙂

      CTRL+ to increase the font size
      CTRL- to decrease the font size
      CTRL0 (zero) to reset to normal

      Hope this helps. 🙂

      • March 9, 2011 at 4:01 PM

        Thanks, Rose.

        You are a font of helpful information and delightful addition to the blogosphere.

        • March 9, 2011 at 4:05 PM

          😳 Thanks Nancy. I like sharing what I know if it can help someone instead of keeping it hidden away inside my head. 🙂

  6. March 9, 2011 at 11:34 AM

    Thanks for the heads up..the designing of a website is kind of new for me, and my surfing is pretty limited too. From this list I can learn from these things that are annoying to others. I absolutely don’t like dark backgrounds with light text for the very reason you said, “its hard to read,”and I am put off by constant misspellings and the use of “u” and “i”; I am not talking about an occasional misspellling (like that) but all the way through the contents is very annoying.

    • March 9, 2011 at 11:39 AM

      Hi Jaxie, good to see you around. Where have you been?

      Some people like these things I just know I don’t. I’ve seen websites/blogs that are using a few of these things and then they wonder why no one is reading their blog. Maybe because they can’t! 🙂

  7. March 9, 2011 at 11:43 AM

    As soon as I saw your topic I wondered if you were going to mention sound! That is my number one pet peeve. If I want to hear music, I don’t need to go to your website for that folks! drives me nuts.

    I guess my next pet peeve would be having to scroll down through thousands of sentences to find out what you charge! grr! Or even worse, ‘contact us for fees”. yeah, right.

    And then there’s spelling or grammar mistakes. When I was in Human Resources if I received a resume or cover letter with spelling mistakes or grammatical errors – I moved those to the ‘do not contact’ pile.
    Okay, that’s my rant for the day!!

    • March 9, 2011 at 12:03 PM

      Hi Joss, the sound has actually startled me a few times today because I forgot I had it on – it’s usually off!

      I don’t mind the odd typo but when there are too many and they don’t know the difference between – there, their, they’re – it gets to be ridiculous. 🙂

  8. March 9, 2011 at 1:08 PM

    I am not keen on fluorescent green or yellow backgrounds. Even if the content on the website is excellent it makes me feel “green” reading it!
    I feel frustrated when people file their posts by month and not as subject categories…

    • March 9, 2011 at 1:16 PM

      Hi PiP, Those colours would bother me too!

      Not everyone decides to use categories or even display a tag cloud.

      What I’m finding is that depending on the theme that’s used the the categories and Archives are different from one blog to another. 🙂

  9. March 9, 2011 at 2:18 PM

    1, 12, 18 and 22 are the worst i have come across.

    • March 9, 2011 at 2:24 PM

      Welcome Rashmi, #1 is on my list. I’d like to know who they are too! 🙂

  10. March 9, 2011 at 2:49 PM

    I can relate to most of these. I am a big hater of ads too. I am there to read content. If I want advertising I will watch TV. I also hate small feint text. Some WP themes are like that & I struggle to read them with my ageing eyesite.

    • March 9, 2011 at 2:54 PM

      Hi Tony, did you read my reply to nrhatch with the tips on how you can increase the text size? You should also check out my Links page for some useful bookmarklets. They come in handy.

      My eyesight is fine except for when it’s too small or too dark. 🙂

  11. March 9, 2011 at 5:36 PM

    Hi Rose, very interesting post and it’s funny because I spent last weekend re-doing my webpage. I deleted several pages and just kept it to one page, I’ve tried to keep it simple, to the point and there’s nothing on there now that isn’t up to date or relevant. So, very timely advice – thankyou!
    As for music, to be honest I keep my pc muted and only alter it when I want to listen to something, so most of the time I write and browse in silence – bliss!
    Unfortunately I’m limited with my fonts and formatting because I use a netbook with no fancy wordprocessing software, so I agree my webpage could look better, I just need to invest in something more professional. I have taken everything on board though, it’s useful to know where I might be going wrong.

    • March 9, 2011 at 10:26 PM

      Thanks Marcia, looks like you did some blog housekeeping.

      I usually keep my sound muted too but every once in a while I forget to mute it again after listening to something. 🙂

  12. March 9, 2011 at 10:13 PM

    Great post Rose! They would all annoy me, but #1, #11 and #25 are my pet hates.

    • March 9, 2011 at 10:17 PM

      Thanks Barb, You picked 3 of my 5! 🙂

  13. March 10, 2011 at 8:58 AM

    Very good list. Those are the things that I find irritating too, but I am pretty tolerant about most of it, except for sound. One note from a website without me clicking on anything, and I won’t be back.

    I guess my site would get a check mark for most, and there are a few that I am working on to improve, with priority on navigation. I am not yet satisfied with what I have.

    • March 10, 2011 at 9:05 AM

      Thanks Sunil, the sound is so irritating especially when it comes from an ad!

      You’re site is pretty good! It’s easy to read with no flashing ads and it’s not white on black! 😉

  14. March 10, 2011 at 1:54 PM

    Great list Rose! #1 is my #1 reason. When I click a link, I don’t expect to be surprised by loud commercials or whatever. I automatically close it no matter how much I want the information I was expecting to find. It’s just rude!

    • March 10, 2011 at 2:04 PM

      Thanks Shell, I guess that’s why it’s number 1 and others who have commented don’t care for it either.

      I love my “mute” button. 🙂

  15. tbaoo
    March 10, 2011 at 5:48 PM

    absolutely true .. it’s amazing how many business sites have failed to grasp these most obvious points .. btw i was was here for at least 3 minutes .. 😉

    • March 10, 2011 at 5:51 PM

      Thanks, I guess I pass the test. 😉

  16. Country Living
    March 14, 2011 at 9:32 AM

    Love this Barb!! Very helpful, as I am new to blogging, I want to find out what readers like, and I don’t want it to be dull! My favorite is 12. If you don’t know how to spell, you don’t need to write!

    • March 14, 2011 at 9:52 AM

      Hi Country Living, I’m not Barb, I’m ClassyRose. 🙂

      #12 bothers me too and would be on my list if I was selecting 10 instead of 5. 🙂

  17. April 13, 2011 at 5:57 PM

    Another useful post! Great job!

  1. March 21, 2011 at 12:46 PM

Leave a Reply

