Home > Housekeeping, RandomBlog2011 Challenge, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Housekeeping – Good Reason To Add Twitter To Your Blog

Housekeeping – Good Reason To Add Twitter To Your Blog

Blog, Housekeeping, annoying, bugging me, blogging, chores, pet peevesEarthquakes, tsunamis, radiation leaks. This is what’s bugging me today!

This week’s earthquake in Japan has shown us how valuable Twitter can be and is to those caught in such a tragedy. One of my blogging buddies, Cocomino couldn’t get home from Tokyo to his family in Kawagoe because rail transportation was shut down.

He managed to do one quick post before he lost access to the internet – I can’t go home.

After that post, there was limited means of communication until he realized:

I could access the twitter or the other news site on the internet by my iphone.
I found my family’s safe on my blog’s comment!

Using Twitter he was able to learn about his family and to keep family and friends updated.

Twitter @cocomino3

Summerfield84 is another Japanese blogger also writing on an English blog. He doesn’t have the Twitter widget on his blog and I wasn’t even sure if he had a Twitter account. There was no word from him and I was concerned for his safety until he published a post today. He’s okay! I’ve since learned he does have a Twitter account.

I was relieved to hear that both of them are safe and are happily blogging again and letting us know through their blogs what it’s like now in Japan.

Cocomino’s latest blog post – I could come back home an hour ago. We are all OK. but….

Summerfield84’s latest blog post – The majr catastrophe : The Great East Japan Earthquake

Do you have the Twitter widget in your sidebar?

It’s easy to add, Dashboard – Appearance – Widgets – Twitter

Select the number of entries you would like to show – from 1 – 20
Hide replies –  using @username at the beginning of the tweet.
Include retweets – yes or no
Text to display between tweet and timestamp – eg. Tweeted

@classyrose101, Twitter

Some other info
You can use multiple Twitter widgets on the same blog.
Retweets using the official retweet button do not appear.

Check out WordPress Support for complete instructions on how to add the Twitter Widget.

__________________________________

Another blogging buddy Redneck Princess wrote about being prepared and having an emergency kit available. Please read When pretending just isn’t fun anymore… which includes a link to what you should do to prepare for such a disaster.

Here is another link that you might find useful  – Guide to Preparing for a Disaster.

The theme for this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge is “Home“. Think of all the people who have lost their lives in the earthquake and subsequent Tsunami. Think of those who did manage to survive but now find that their home was destroyed.  Think of those being evacuated from their homes because of the radiation leak. How will they manage over the coming days, weeks, months?

Countries around the world are offering whatever help Japan needs to recover from this horrific tragedy. You can help by making a charitable donation to any one of many organizations who are rushing to help Japan and its citizens.

If you’re worried about being scammed, check out the article at CNN Money on reputable charities to give to.

This is what’s bugging me today!

🙂

Quote for today

I am only one, but I am one.
I cannot do everything, but I can do something.
And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can do.
Edward Everett Hale

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. March 12, 2011 at 2:45 PM

    Hi Rose,

    I have the tweeter feed but not the twitter widget. I’ve finally been doing some blog chores this weekend but not managed to get the blue twitter widget in place.
    I’ll check it out again!

    Cheers

    • March 12, 2011 at 2:51 PM

      Hi PiP, For some reason I thought you had it but just chose to show two tweets. Now is a good time to take care of it.

      I’ll have to stop by and see what else you’re doing with your blog. 🙂

  2. Indigo Spider
    March 12, 2011 at 3:15 PM

    Great info Rose. I have the widget (I think) and it works (I think) but I am still doing a bunch of housecleaning (well, design really, too new to be cleaning already) so who knows when something might break while I twiddle with things 🙂

    One thing that is bugging me at the moment — the particular theme I am using (Structure) has a blank “box” of sorts in the header and I just can not for the life of me figure out how to access it and do something with it so it isn’t just this big blank box! I like all the other possibilities with the theme but this one annoyance is making me consider trying a different theme all together.

    • March 12, 2011 at 3:25 PM

      Hi Indigo, It sure looks like your Twitter widget is working.

      I saw that big box on your blog and was wondering about that. It looks like that’s part of your theme’s options to showcase a photo. Not sure if you can remove it. It’s either a widget or try going to Dashboard – Appearance – Theme Options and see if there is anything there.

      I checked out several themes before I decided on this one. It’s part of the growing pains with a new blog.

      You might want to try the Coraline theme. That one has all kinds of widgets you can use. 🙂

      • Indigo Spider
        March 12, 2011 at 3:31 PM

        I have checked under appearance, all the variations there, as well as under settings hoping I might stumble upon something. No luck so far. It seems like there is a double header with this theme but when I do anything with the “header” under theme options it affects the uppermost header. I’ve managed to add some widgets but it still does not eliminate that big white box. Weird. I’m checking forums now to see if I can find info there, if that fails then yes, I think Coraline might be it since that was my second choice. Thanks again!

        • March 12, 2011 at 3:35 PM

          Hi Indigo, I’m wondering if you upload and insert a small photo if it would change the size of the box. Might be worth a try. 🙂

    • March 12, 2011 at 3:32 PM

      Hi Indigo, a blogging buddy uses the Coraline theme if you want to see it in real action. 🙂

      http://pigletinportugal.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/interview-with-blogging-buddy-classyrose/#comment-1401

  3. March 12, 2011 at 3:18 PM

    Great post Rose…thanks for the mention!!

    • March 12, 2011 at 3:26 PM

      Hi Princess, no problem.

      As much as one can, I enjoyed reading your post. You tell it like it is and some people need to wake up and get prepared. 🙂

  4. March 12, 2011 at 4:37 PM

    I had the blue “Follow Me on Twitter” badge on my blog but not the Twitter Updates – all done now, thanks to you Rose! I love your Housekeeping posts!

    • March 12, 2011 at 4:44 PM

      Thanks Barb, Your blog looks good and getting better every day.

      I had some doubts when I first added my Twitter widget but now I see what a great idea it is. I think there will be more people adding it to their blogs. 🙂

  5. March 12, 2011 at 6:43 PM

    Thanks, Rose. I’m not on Twitter yet. But it looks like you’re learning the ins and outs of Tweets. 😀

    I am full of gratitude that we have a roof over our head. Thanks for sharing information on reputable charities providing aid to Japan.

    • March 13, 2011 at 4:27 AM

      Thanks Nancy, I’m slowly getting there with Twitter.

      I know there are many who would like to donate and the organizations that CNN lists are reputable and are on the ground now providing whatever assistance is needed. 🙂

  6. March 12, 2011 at 7:37 PM

    Thank you for supporting our country.We really appreciate ClassyRose.

    • March 12, 2011 at 7:42 PM

      Hi Cocomino, It’s nice to know you and your family are safe.

      It’s tragic what’s happened and the news is always filled with more disturbing stories.

      The world is coming to help the citizens of Japan. 🙂

  7. March 12, 2011 at 10:07 PM

    Thank you for your post, very much .

    • March 13, 2011 at 4:28 AM

      Hi Summerfield, it’s nice to know you are safe. I was worried about you. Take care of yourself. 🙂

  8. March 12, 2011 at 10:33 PM

    Thanks for these tips. I’m still working out the Twitter piece of the puzzle, but this will help so much when I’m ready!

  9. March 12, 2011 at 10:35 PM

    Thank you also for providing the information on ways to reach out to the people of Japan.

  10. March 13, 2011 at 12:05 AM

    What a beautiful quote…

    • March 13, 2011 at 4:38 AM

      Thanks Susan, I found it appropriate for today’s post. Every little bit helps. 🙂

  11. March 13, 2011 at 9:16 AM

    I am thankful your blogging buddies are both safe. Thank you for reminding your readers to open their hearts and pocketbooks to give. If Scuba Man and I can do it, I’m sure many of your other readers can also. Rose, you have such a big heart!

    • March 13, 2011 at 5:51 PM

      Hi Shell, I was worried about them, then thought to check Cocomino’s blog again and saw his Twitter Tweets.

      The latest news is devastating and I’m sure those that haven’t already make a donation will make one soon. 🙂

  12. March 13, 2011 at 12:27 PM

    thanks. still a bit too complicated for me. Will try and understand later.

    and yes, I too have Japanese friends whose only means of contacting is Facebook. clever stuff!

    • March 13, 2011 at 5:52 PM

      Hi Jenny, the social networks are very useful during times like this. 🙂

  13. Country Living
    March 15, 2011 at 7:43 PM

    Love your article Rose! Very helpful as I am a new blogger! Learning more everyday!

    • March 16, 2011 at 2:58 AM

      Thanks Country, I like helping out. 🙂

  1. March 14, 2011 at 8:14 AM
  2. March 19, 2011 at 10:18 PM
  3. March 20, 2011 at 12:49 PM

Leave a Reply

