Being In A Slump

Classyrose, Things in life I find annoying, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011, Randomblog2011, challengeI’m in a writing slump. This is what’s bugging me today!

There are so many things I start writing about but I just can’t seem to finish them. Just don’t seem motivated to write the last few days. It doesn’t help that I haven’t been feeling too good either.

Is it just that I’m tired of winter?

Instead of the February blahs, I’m experiencing the dreariness of March.

Is it the change in weather? Where I’m teased one day into thinking spring is almost here only to get a blast of cold air the next day and realize that it’s still winter. It was warmer out today but there was a cold wind blowing.

I want to throw off the winter coat, hat, scarf. I want to sit outside and bask in the sunshine.

I want to see flowers poking up out of the ground, buds on the trees, the splashes of bright yellow from the forsythia bushes.

 

Do you get into writing slumps?

How do you get out of them?

I’m tired of winter.

This is what’s bugging me today!
πŸ™‚

Quote for today

It was one of those March days when the sun shines hot and the wind blows cold:
when it is summer in the light, and winter in the shade.
Charles Dickens

Β© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. Indigo Spider
    March 17, 2011 at 10:21 PM

    My sympathies Rose. I was in a slump all winter – I suffer with depression anyway but winter’s are becoming especially difficult. This was a great post for someone in a writing slump πŸ˜‰

    One thing I did recently was go to the garden shop. Even though it is still chilly the nurseries are still gearing up for spring so it brightened my day to be around “the outdoors” even if it was just in a greenhouse!

    • March 17, 2011 at 10:26 PM

      Thanks Indigo, I seem to handle winter fine, except when it just doesn’t want to end. I keep reading other blogs where spring has already arrived with people getting outside and working in their gardens and I just want it to arrive here in Southern Ontario.

      I thought looking at the bright yellow flowers might help. πŸ™‚

  2. March 17, 2011 at 10:22 PM

    I am feeling it too…done with freaking winter for sure!!

    • March 17, 2011 at 10:28 PM

      Thanks Princess, it’s nice knowing I’m not alone. πŸ™‚

  3. March 17, 2011 at 11:09 PM

    I am in the same boat. I have over 7 drafts that I just can’t bring myself to finish.

    • March 17, 2011 at 11:16 PM

      Hi Akshay, So I’m not the only one feeling this. I’ve started so many that just need a bit more and just can’t seem to finish them. But I keep getting more ideas and starting more drafts that aren’t getting finished either.

      I need to find a solution soon! πŸ™‚

  4. March 18, 2011 at 12:23 AM

    Hang in there, Rose. Spring will arrive in due course . . . πŸ˜€

    • March 18, 2011 at 9:51 AM

      Hi Nancy, I checked the 10-day weather forecast and it’s not coming soon enough. It usually doesn’t bother me this much but I really do want spring to arrive.

      The birds are singing more, including the crows, and the squirrels are having a great old time chasing each other up and down through all the trees. πŸ™‚

  5. Jackie Paulson 1966
    March 18, 2011 at 12:30 AM

    Oh my, I was in a slump today, but I posted anyhow. It was not easy. What I did was in my post. You are not alone, I am sick of cold weather, rain, and blah days. Stay strong girl friend, much love. You have given more to all of us in the past that it’s about time you took a day off or a break. Cheers ~ Jackie

    • March 18, 2011 at 9:52 AM

      Hi Jackie, I’ve committed to post something every day but this isn’t the type of post I want to write.

      I need to get out of this slump somehow. I’ve still got a smile on my face though. πŸ™‚

  6. March 18, 2011 at 3:30 AM

    I remember when I lived in the UK how some years winter seemed to drag on and on . . . and I couldn’t wait to see the first signs of spring to cheer me up, so I understand Rose.
    Funny enough, I have the opposite problem now – living in the sub-tropics as I do. Our summer seems to be dragging on too long, it’s still hot, sticky, and very uncomfortable! We are looking forward to our winter! πŸ™„ We are never satisfied, are we!
    Hope I cheered you up a little my dear friend!

    • March 18, 2011 at 9:53 AM

      Hi Barb, can we trade places? πŸ™„

      I would love to be living in Australia, and you would rarely, if ever, hear me complain about the heat. It’s something I love.

      And yes you did cheer me up. πŸ™‚

  7. March 18, 2011 at 4:00 AM

    Hi Rose,

    You have chosen some wonderful flowers to help you think of sunnier days πŸ™‚ The better weather will be with you soon and the winter blues will be forgotten and far behind you πŸ™‚ Hang in there gal!
    PiP

    • March 18, 2011 at 9:54 AM

      Thanks PiP, that’s what I was trying to do.

      I was going to add a picture of the sun too, but I thought that would be a little too much with so few words on the page. πŸ™‚

  8. March 18, 2011 at 5:43 AM

    Hey Rose, don’t let it worry you, everyone has slumps in whatever they do. I’ve not had much enthusiasm for blogging the last few days, I’ve been listening/watching to the record breaking radio broadcast on BBC Radio1, it’s strangely addictive! They’ve been going 51hours now and raised Β£1.8million for Comic Relief! I watched it all until I fell asleep at 3am this morning!

    Am kinda exhausted now but needed to check my emails before I took a nap. Anyhow, spring and summer will be here soon enough, until then there is always cake!

    I know what Barb19 is talking about, the UK winter weather isn’t so much a winter wonderland of snow and ice but more a rolling series of grey bleak sludgyness. Bring on the summery warmness, blue skies and water fights!

    • March 18, 2011 at 9:56 AM

      Hi Noobcake, I read about the broadcast in your blog posting on Red Nose Day. Is it still going on? That’s quite a marathon!

      I’m ready for summer any time, including water fights! πŸ™‚

  9. March 18, 2011 at 5:58 AM

    A friend of mine has SAD the wrong way round. Her favourite day of the year is 21 December (shortest in the UK) and she needs help getting through the summer.

    Wonder if that cheers you up. On 21st December she celebrates being SO happy by going down to Cornwall, putting on a wetsuit, and going swimming in the sea in a quiet little cove.

    I love having a real fire everyday. I love winter clothes FAR more than summer clothes. I love winter food and I love the excuse to be indoors doing, making, writing and 101 other things. In the summer I feel I have to be outside the whole time – and I love that too – but don’t get so much done: pottering in the garden, eating and drinking all night in the dark and going for endless walks! Wonder if that cheers you up?

    • March 18, 2011 at 10:34 AM

      Hi Jenny, I like the change of seasons, but not when winter just seems to drag on and spring is taking it’s time arriving. πŸ™‚

  10. March 18, 2011 at 7:31 AM

    Yes, I have slumps too which is why I don’t post too often – I’d rather write something that’s of interest than a page full of waffle, and my life is a tad tedious at the moment so not worth writing about.
    I agree with noobcake and water fights sound good! Lovely pics Rose, really cheery.

    • March 18, 2011 at 9:58 AM

      Hi Marcia, I have plenty to write about just can’t seem to sit down and finish anything but I’m committed to posting every day in 2011.

      Maybe I can get out of this slump today. Looking at the nice bright yellow photos is helping some and the sun is starting to shine outside. πŸ™‚

  11. March 18, 2011 at 8:15 AM

    I think we’ve all enough of winter and want some warm weather where we can be outside and see colour and new growth. I want to sit on my back porch and listen to the bullfrogs, go for a walk without having to bundle up first.
    I do get in writing slumps and often what I do then is go looking for quotes to post! Sometimes we just need a break from things, ya know.
    do something just for you today, some little thing, it will boost your spirits.
    walk in beauty.

    • March 18, 2011 at 10:01 AM

      Thanks Joss, I want some warmer weather so I can shun the winter gear too. I don’t care if it rains because I love walking in the rain, I just want it to be warmer.

      But you’re right, maybe I should do something just for myself today. πŸ™‚

  12. March 18, 2011 at 8:48 AM

    I’m surprised what you said because you have so many ideas.
    I think that the minutiae of everyday life is treasures to write.

    • March 18, 2011 at 10:03 AM

      Hi Cocomino, you’re right, I do have ideas, I just can’t seem to finish writing anything right now.

      I know that everyday life is treasured by you right now. I’m enjoying reading your blog on how you’re dealing with the situation in Japan and keeping a positive outlook for your wife and children.

      You’re always in my thoughts. πŸ™‚

  13. March 18, 2011 at 10:06 AM

    Thank you everyone. πŸ™‚

    Everyone has provided such thoughtful comments and reading them has already boosted my spirits.

    Let’s see if I can write something more meaningful and useful today. I have plenty to choose from. πŸ˜›

  14. March 18, 2011 at 10:19 AM

    Rose, you are not alone. I was right there with you a few weeks back. It wasnt the length of our winter it was the intensity of it. But the birds singing and the squirrels scurrying is a sure sign that spring is on its way.

    • March 18, 2011 at 10:37 AM

      Thanks Jeanne, I’ve gone through a few of those winters.

      What did you do to get out of the slump? πŸ™‚

  15. March 18, 2011 at 11:21 AM

    Hi Rose I just posted a picture on my blog – for you!
    smile!

    • March 18, 2011 at 11:27 AM

      Thanks Joss, I was just there. Yes spring is just around the corner. πŸ™‚

      If anyone would like to check it out, here’s the link: http://wp.me/pUwNR-6G

  16. March 18, 2011 at 12:18 PM

    I know what you mean about the Winter ! Me too I would like it to stop now and to let the spring comes !! I want to feel the sunshine and no longer the cold air.
    I guess there is not long now to wait until sunny hot days right ?! πŸ™‚

    • March 18, 2011 at 12:35 PM

      Hi Isabelle, I hope not. I’m ready for it any time. πŸ™‚

  17. March 18, 2011 at 4:00 PM

    Hi Rose. I can understand the writing slump. When I get in one, I almost wish I wasn’t doing the daily challenge. I’ll still write a post, but it’s not as good as my usual posts. Hang in there. Spring is coming and this to shall pass.

    • March 18, 2011 at 9:13 PM

      Thanks Shell, this was a different experience for me this week.

      But I think I’m getting out of the slump, I went out and actually saw some flowers poking up out of the ground today. πŸ™‚

  18. March 18, 2011 at 6:14 PM

    I think we all get in slump. I to have so many started posts that I just can’t seem to finish. I’m told it’s perfection that plagues us. πŸ™‚

    • March 18, 2011 at 9:15 PM

      Hi Killdain, yep, that’s one of my traits. Although I don’t always achieve it, I strive for perfection. πŸ™‚

  19. March 18, 2011 at 6:41 PM

    Hi Rose…it must be the moon or something…I have been in a huge slump too.
    I see we are wishing for the complete opposite things…roll on winter!!!

    • March 18, 2011 at 9:17 PM

      Hi Granny, Didn’t I already say we can trade. πŸ™‚

  20. marina
    March 18, 2011 at 7:20 PM

    beautiful flowers.
    don’t worry when you don’t have anything to write: just post a photo.. πŸ™‚

    • March 18, 2011 at 9:20 PM

      Hi Marina, That’s what I’ve done a couple of times, but I’ve had problems getting my PC to recognize my camera and I finally figured it out today!

      Now I can start taking photos again. πŸ™‚

  21. March 20, 2011 at 5:55 PM

    Just like the Earth, we too are cyclic. You are sure to get back on track.. it’s an awww~a moment…but it feels good to know my heroine is humane and gets down a bit too.

    • March 20, 2011 at 7:01 PM

      Hi Jaxie, oh yes, I’m human and I have my low days but usually not so many in one week. I’m getting out of my slump now though. πŸ™‚

  22. April 13, 2011 at 5:53 PM

    Hang in there! Inspiration can strike at any time. The trick is to be ready!

  1. March 18, 2011 at 6:51 AM
  2. March 23, 2011 at 8:28 AM

Leave a Reply

