Archive

Archive for February 15, 2011

or not – RandomBlog2011 Challenge Day 2 – Tips

February 15, 2011 39 comments

like, button, comments, randomblog2011, postaday2011, postaday2012I really am enjoying all this. There is still nothing bugging me today! 🙂

I guess Scott Berkun at The Daily Post at WordPress.com really did like my topic suggestions. They decided to use one of them for today.

Challenge: Conduct an interview for your blog

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I like reading the comments on the blogs I visit including the follow-ups after my visit. Many have commented that your email inbox is getting so full that you can’t keep up.

Here are 3 tips which could make life easier for you and won’t fill up your inbox.

1.

Instead of subscribing to comments by email, subscribe to the RSS Comment feed. Once subscribed, you can use your reader to read the comments when you have the time. If and when you are no longer interested in that feed it’s easy to unsubscribe.

The only RSS reader I use is Google Reader and there is an option to search your RSS feeds.  To see if they’ve replied to your comment you can search just one feed or all of them for your name. The most recent is always at the top.

I would imagine that most readers have similar options. There are other options available but I’m trying to make this a short post this afternoon.

While this solution may not be the best it might make it a little easier and keep your inbox from overflowing with comments.

2.

You should also take advantage of the filters that are available in most email programs. Create a new folder for email coming from WordPress.com and once the filter is set up and applied they go directly to that folder and it keeps your main inbox clear for your other more important email.

3.

If you always click the “Like” button and leave a comment you can check them at the main WordPress.com Freshly Pressed page as long as you are signed in. It’s the fourth tab of the six listed – Posts I Like.

randomblog2011, challenge, postaday2011, postaweek2011

Now I said I would list the blogs that I’ve visited in my next post so here they are. There may be one or two missing because I left comments and never received a replied and I didn’t make a note of the blog I visited.

Blogs I’ve Visited

Timmer’s Blog

PrimaryThoughts

The Change Revolution

Double Word Score

The sky this month

literaryescape

Arte’facts

Lightdance

Mushy Cloud

Purrfectlee Purrceived Ponderings of leelee

Three Cats on a Sofa

Watching NOLA Nature

 

There is nothing bugging me today!

🙂

Quote for today

Let a series of happy thoughts run through your mind. They will show on your face.
Author Unknown

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

or not – RandomBlog2011 Challenge Day 2

February 15, 2011 37 comments

classyrose, blogging topics,This is how I began my blog posting the other day and how I’m starting it today. There is nothing bugging me today!

There was nothing bugging me yesterday, there is nothing bugging me today and there might not be anything bugging me all week! 🙂

I think some of you may already know why if you subscribe to The Daily Post and if not, I will tell you.

Last night I received a pingback for approval and I thought my eyes were playing tricks on  me. I followed the pingback and realized that Scott Berkun and The Daily Post at WordPress.com chose to feature my blog posting on Trying to Find Topic Suggestions”.

I was stunned! I just couldn’t believe it! I’m honoured to have had it chosen. 🙂

I’ve been adding the link to my blog post to the comments on the Daily Post ever since I wrote it over two weeks ago. But it seems the link I added today did the trick.

Shortly after that the hits started coming in and the comments as well. This has never happened to me before and didn’t know what to expect. Thoughts started running through my head about how busy I could be, could I keep up with the comments, will I have time to read some blogs, will I have time to write this post.

I knew it would be a busy week for me with The RandomBlog2011 Challenge but I never expected my blog posting to be featured. Eventually things slowed down enough for me to do what I had to do.

Back to the business at hand, The RandomBlog2011 Challenge.

Seashell suggested the following in her comment Monday and I think it’s a great idea.

We could even help drive a little more traffic to the new bloggers by everyone adding a little footnote in their posts about the new bloggers they’ve visited.

So for those who have managed to keep track of the new blogs you’ve visited, think about adding them to your next post.

I participated in my first Blog Hop last week and some of you are probably wondering what it is.

What is a Blog Hop and why does it matter? If you have a Blogger blog, you might have come across the term as it is a popular way to connect with other bloggers on a variety of topics, themes, or even just for the fun of connecting. It’s a great way to meet new bloggers, refresh a post that needs some loving attention, and even get a few new comments from others in the blogosphere.

eof737-Mirth and Motivation is hosting two blog hops that started Monday.

As a way to celebrate your writings, your loved ones and you, add your posts to the blue Linkys below and share some blog love with this week’s Mega Blog Hop. Yes mega hop = 2 Linkys. The goal is to motivate each other and help us stay committed to the DailyPost 2011 Challenge. Our Blog Hop is open to all Bloggers everywhere :-) Join in! Read on! :-)

Please visit her blog to learn more on how you can take part.

That’s if for now, this post is longer than I wanted it to be but there was something unexpected that came up. 😉

There is nothing bugging me today!

🙂

p.s. I will add the blogs I visited in my next post.

Quote for today

There are hundreds of languages in the world but a smile speaks them all.
Anonymous

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying