Home > or not, WordPress Challenge > or not – Random Acts of Kindness Week

or not – Random Acts of Kindness Week

Random Acts of Kindness Week Feb 14-20, 2011February 14 – 20, 2011 is Random Acts of Kindness Week. There is nothing bugging me today!

The mission, for those bold enough to accept it: Do one act of kindness every day during Random Acts of Kindness Week.

The Random Acts of Kindness Foundation will suggest a new kind action every day to their members and online community fans. You can learn more on how you can take part by reading their Press Release or by visiting their website or Facebook.

About The Random Acts of Kindness Foundation

Established in 2000, The Random Acts of Kindness Foundation has a mission of inspiring people to practice kindness and to pass it on to others. RAK’s goals are to inspire, empower, act and share to build the kindness community. To that end, RAK provides free educational and community ideas, guidance and other resources, and allows everyone to share their kindness ideas and actions through its website at www.randomactsofkindness.org. The Foundation celebrates World Kindness Week and sponsors Random Acts of Kindness Week the second full week in February. RAK is on Twitter (@RAKFoundation), Facebook and YouTube.

What acts of kindness can you perform this week?

It’s time to give a shout out to some of the blogging community here on WordPress. First I would like to welcome all the new visitors and subscribers to my blog.

The other day I read a story about how important making eye contact is when talking to people and this is so true. The eyes tell you what words can’t. He performed a true act of kindness.

I also took part in my first blog hop organized by EOF737 – Mirth & Motivation. Thank you for putting that together it was fun!

And just because I want to, I can’t forget my first blogging buddy, Piglet in Portugal. She went to market and saw a cute little piggy this week. 🙂

Yesterday I said I had something special planned for the coming week and I got the idea from Random Acts of Kindness Week.

While some of us have received a bump in our stats there are still other new bloggers out there who have yet to see it. Comments I’ve read in the daily posts suggest they don’t know how to get new readers to their blogs.

I’m sending out a challenge to all those participating in the PostADay2011 and PostAWeek2011 challenge.

The Challenge

I’m encouraging bloggers in the WordPress Challenge to commit to reading at least 2 new blog posts everyday at a blog they have never visited before.

Anyone wanting to participate in this challenge will tag their posts with RandomBlog2011.  You will be able to find blogs taking part in the RandomBlog2011 Challenge using this tag the same way you are currently reading the PostADay2011 and PostAWeek2011 blogs.

I will be adding comments to the Daily Post inviting anyone who wants to participate to tag their posts RandomBlog2011. Each participant is asked to read and comment on 2 random blogs every day for the week.

I have no idea how many will decide to take part in the challenge but I’ve had this on my mind since I noticed the special week for Random Acts of Kindness and I just had to give it a try.

How many random blogs will you read this week?

Make sure you visit the special page I’ve set up for the RandomBlog2011 Challenge.

🙂  Please share this page to get the word.  🙂

There is nothing bugging me today!

🙂

Quote for today

You will find, as you look back upon your life, that the moments that stand out
are the moments when you have done things for others.
Henry Drummond

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. tbaoo
    February 13, 2011 at 5:09 AM

    i think random is good, i’ll just have to schedule my visits in advance 😉

    • February 13, 2011 at 5:24 AM

      Thanks Alan, I’m glad you like the idea. 🙂

  2. February 13, 2011 at 5:21 AM

    Hey Rose What a great idea! I will def take part!

    • February 13, 2011 at 5:23 AM

      Hi PiP, I’m hoping this works. It’s a gamble but one I had to take. 🙂

  3. February 13, 2011 at 5:28 AM

    like you I am supporting postaday2011 – good idea to add two bloggers daily …

  4. February 13, 2011 at 5:35 AM

    Very Nice idea I am a new blogger and always grela great with new readers
    Thanks for the idea, I will get in

    • February 13, 2011 at 5:37 AM

      Hi Edson, it’s nice to know that people are liking this idea. I hope it works. 🙂

  5. February 13, 2011 at 7:45 AM

    Terrific idea and thank you for the mention! The Blog Hop continues every Monday and all are welcome to hop on board and make some new friends! 🙂
    Great post!
    Eliz

    • February 13, 2011 at 7:53 AM

      Thanks Eliz, It sure would be nice if it works to get more readers for the new bloggers. I’m looking forward to the next Blog Hop, last week was fun. Thanks for hosting it again. 🙂

  6. February 13, 2011 at 8:29 AM

    Thank you too! I just responded to your – how it all started – post… 🙂

    • February 13, 2011 at 8:39 AM

      That’s the post that finally started me blogging. Everything just started coming together after that one. 🙂

  7. February 13, 2011 at 10:37 AM

    Great idea Rose. How do I join in? Juls 🙂

    • February 13, 2011 at 10:45 AM

      Hi Juls, just tag your posts with randomblog2011 and then read 2 blogs you’ve never visited before. They can be any blog, see the new RandomBlog2011 Challenge page I set up. 🙂

  8. February 13, 2011 at 12:32 PM

    Great idea…count me in 🙂

    • February 13, 2011 at 12:34 PM

      Hi Stacey, jump on board! 🙂

  9. February 13, 2011 at 4:46 PM

    Rose, this is a fabulous idea. Count me in! I also love the input about following a comment thread layers and layers deep. I can hardly wait to see who we all meet and if we end of meeting some of the same bloggers. The whole 7 degrees of separation thing…

    • February 13, 2011 at 4:50 PM

      Hi Jeanne, glad you like the idea. I hope it works and we can send some encouragement to the new bloggers. It should be a fun week. 🙂

  10. February 14, 2011 at 4:54 AM

    Hi Rose, very inspiring post and I will join the random blog challenge. As for RAK week, I celebrated National Kindness Day here in the UK on November 13th and even got my local radio involved in promoting it, I know of David Jamilly in London who is the co-founder of kindness day uk (I do not know him personally). We should be kind every day though, but at least these events bring it to public attention and make us think about how we treat others.
    So this post is great and I’ve had a good look at the website too, looks like something I want to be involved in,thankyou for sharing it.
    Here’s the link for the UK site: http://kindnessdayuk.com

    • February 14, 2011 at 7:03 AM

      Hi Marcia, the foundation has several events throughout the year. They’ve actually called this Extreme Random Acts of Kindness Week. I’m like you and try to perform random acts whenever I can. 🙂

  11. February 14, 2011 at 12:09 PM

    Great idea Rose! I try to look at a new blog or two a day, but then I get really interested in one or two a week and my subscription list keeps growing!

    • February 14, 2011 at 12:17 PM

      Thanks Shell, I know what you mean. I might have some trouble this week keeping up with all of them, and then I’ll spend next week playing catch-up. 🙂

  12. February 14, 2011 at 5:46 PM

    Wonderful idea! Thanks, Rose.

    • February 14, 2011 at 6:05 PM

      Thanks, I’m glad you like it. Should be a fun week and thanks for the link. 🙂

  13. February 14, 2011 at 11:47 PM

    Brilliant idea Rose. I do tend to stick to my own little circle of blogging buddies, so this will encourage me to branch out and make some new friends. Hope I can catch up – been away for the last 3 days!

    • February 14, 2011 at 11:52 PM

      Thanks Barb, I was wondering where you’ve been. Good luck catching up.

      I’ve had that experience several times over the last few weeks and now with the Challenge I have no idea what this week is going to be like. Especially after today’s Daily Post. Have you seen it yet? 🙂

  14. February 16, 2011 at 3:56 AM

    I really like the idea of this. It is very true that our happiest moments are those when we either share something special with another person or do something special for another person.

    • February 16, 2011 at 7:30 AM

      Hi and welcome. Sometimes the simple acts of kindness are the ones that are most appreciated. 🙂

  15. February 16, 2011 at 7:38 AM

    Random blog reading is good & I’ve made many new bloggy friends that way. I used to like the “Random Blog” button that used to be in the top right of the menubar where the search WordPress.com section is now. I asked admin for it back but it didn’t happen. So how does this work do I use that tag in every post???

    • February 16, 2011 at 7:44 AM

      Hi and welcome Tony. Glad you like the idea. You can read more about it on the special page I set up. RandomBlog2011 Challenge Use the tag on your post and visit at least 2 new blogs every day. Some are also adding the blogs they’ve visited in their next post to help drive more traffic to them. Thanks for accepting the challenge and have fun! 🙂

  16. February 16, 2011 at 3:18 PM

    Love the challenge – just started my very first blog yesterday, so am pretty excited about this new community!

    • February 16, 2011 at 3:28 PM

      Hi Meagan and welcome. Congrats on your first blog, I’m sure you will get visitors by joining the challenge and I’ll stop when I get some time. 🙂

  1. February 13, 2011 at 3:11 PM
  2. February 13, 2011 at 5:54 PM
  3. February 14, 2011 at 9:26 AM
  4. February 14, 2011 at 5:43 PM
  5. February 14, 2011 at 8:18 PM
  6. February 15, 2011 at 1:50 AM
  7. February 15, 2011 at 6:19 PM
  8. February 16, 2011 at 11:57 AM
  9. February 27, 2011 at 12:26 PM
  10. March 1, 2011 at 11:46 AM
  11. March 10, 2011 at 4:37 PM

Leave a comment