Home > RandomBlog2011 Challenge, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > A Fat Tax! – It Won’t Work

A Fat Tax! – It Won’t Work

Things in life I find annoying, RandomBlog2011, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011

Image via Wikipedia

Often I’m the one inspiring Noobcake for his next post but this time he’s inspired me to write about the “fat tax“. This is what’s bugging me today!

For those who don’t know me, I’m skinny, extremely skinny, and when they start talking about adding a fat tax to high-calorie foods and soft drinks I just want to scream.

I don’t mean to offend anyone, but why do I have to pay more for my food because the obese and overweight people can’t control the quantity and quality of food they eat!

  • It’s not one chocolate bar with 200 calories that makes you fat, it’s how many of them you eat in a day, week, or month.
  • How many soft drinks are you drinking daily?
  • How many times per week are you picking up fast food?

Every time I go to the grocery store I find there is another product I’m used to purchasing that is now lower in fat, calorie, sugar, salt.  A jar of jam now has 50% less calories but I’m paying the same price and would have to use twice as much to get the same amount of calories as I did before.

I need all that so-called “unhealthy” stuff just to maintain my weight, never mind trying to gain some. And so does anybody else who suffers with Crohn’s Disease, Cystic Fibrosis, Cancer and other ailments where maintaining and gaining weight is difficult.

Don’t we have enough problems to deal with already without having to find the extra money needed just to pay for the calories we need.

Now the government wants me to pay more for my food because the fat people can’t control what they eat and they don’t know how to eat healthy.

Why make the unhealthy people who are already having a hard time pay a fat tax?

Dietitians I’ve seen in the past have told me to go ahead and have those french fries with gravy if it doesn’t irritate my Crohn’s Disease. They’ve told me to eat all the foods that any one who is trying to lose weight is told to avoid. That means the high-calorie foods and soft drinks that the government now wants to tax.

It’s not the food that leads to obesity. It’s the quantity of the food that leads to obesity.

It’s consistently exceeding your daily calorie requirements that leads to obesity.

Social Question

Why shouldn’t there be a “Fat Tax” for the overweight?

News Articles

Does Canada really need a ‘fat tax’ and would it really work?

Here’s the skinny on a fat tax – it’s not going to work

Lakritz: Here’s the skinny on a fat tax – it won’t work

Let us eat cake, without the fat tax

Just like I’m skinny and have a hard time gaining weight, I know there are some who are overweight who have medical problems and have difficulty losing weight. That’s not who I’m talking about. I’m talking about the ones who can do something about if they really wanted to.

What do you think?  –  Will a fat tax work?

This is what’s bugging me today!

🙂

Quote for today

The only way to keep your health is to eat what you don’t want,
drink what you don’t like, and do what you’d rather not.
Mark Twain

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. March 10, 2011 at 4:48 AM

    Hey Rose! I’m happy to inspire! I totally agree with you. I think food with fewer fats and stuff should cost less not the same as the bad stuff. Over the last two years I’ve lost 6 stone in weight, yes I used to be a chubby chappy, had been all my life since I was about 12. I didn’t go out of my way to stuff my face but I led a sedate life. Now I’m cycling and walking a lot so the weight has come off easily.

    I saw a report on TV about the fat tax, it showed lots of fat kids and adults in New York I think, I can’t believe some people buy and drink 2-4litres of full sugar fizzy drinks every day! Their teeth must be rotten! I love a choccy bar now and then but I have self control and don’t cram dozens of them down my throat. If I can lose weight through determination then surely others can too. But then isn’t part of the problem about choice?

    If your local supermarket doesn’t sell diet foods becuase they don’t sell very well then in poorer areas you’re stuck with what you can afford and how far you are able to travel in order to find better food.

    Having said all that, I am currently munching on a cookie! Nice post & thanks for the shout out!

    • March 10, 2011 at 5:01 AM

      Thanks Noobcake, I was about to comment about it on your post yesterday but then decided to write about it instead.

      The problem I’m finding is that stores are carrying all the low-fat, low-calorie products and it’s hard to find the regular version.

      If they’re not careful, instead of having too many obese children, we’re going to end up with children suffering from malnutrition because they’re not getting enough calories.

      I love chocolate and could eat it all the time, but I don’t. It’s called self-control. 🙂

  2. March 10, 2011 at 7:16 AM

    I think it’ll only work for the poor people, who can’t afford the food if it’s more expensive. But they’re probably not the ones with the problem, having not much money I guess they won’t spend it on those things.

    The rich people, who are mostly also the fat ones (being able to get anything at any time) won’t be bothered with the rule.

    My conclusion: it won’t work and it’s a stupid idea.

    • March 10, 2011 at 7:35 AM

      Hi Liannouwen, but even the poor people always manage to find the money if they want it bad enough. Think about how many people spend their money on lottery tickets.

      The rich can afford it but they will probably be the ones complaining about the taxes. 🙂

      • March 10, 2011 at 7:39 AM

        Hi Rose, I guess you’re right. Didn’t look at it that way. Anyway, I still think it wouldn’t work. Good post!

        • March 10, 2011 at 7:41 AM

          Thanks. I don’t think it will work either. It’s just another tax grab! 🙂

  3. March 10, 2011 at 7:20 AM

    The low fat food has more chemicals in it to keep the calories low, so it’s not what I would call healthy anyway.

    I stopped buying low fat food a few years ago, opting for the regular food, but as you say Rose, it’s getting harder to find it in the stores.

    • March 10, 2011 at 7:31 AM

      Hi Barb, It’s nice to know I’m not the only one having problems finding the regular versions. 🙂

  4. March 10, 2011 at 8:02 AM

    Hi Rose,

    As my name suggests, I am a bit of a porker. I don’t eat the wrong foods – just too much. However, it does not matter how much I exercise I would have to wire my jaws to lose weight. As for a FAT TAX it’s just another excuse to raise taxes as not all fat people are unhealthy. Noobs post had it right…NANNY STATE!
    PiP

    • March 10, 2011 at 8:12 AM

      Hi PiP, You’re right, “Nanny State”. The thing is, they’re talking about fat taxes all over the world now.

      I understand there are a few U.S. states that have a fat tax and it’s about 3%.

      We’re being taxed enough as it is. 🙂

  5. March 10, 2011 at 9:04 AM

    Oh my word…if they brought that out in this country all our politicians would go bankrupt!!!

    • March 10, 2011 at 9:06 AM

      Hi Granny, are you saying they’re all overweight? 🙂

  6. March 10, 2011 at 2:14 PM

    A fat tax is just ridiculous! When will the government stop trying to tell us what to buy, or what to do, for our own sakes? Everyone has a choice as to how they want to live their life. People need to stop depending on the government to tell us how to live it through their laws taxing this or that.

    Whatever happened to the concept that people have free will? That goes right out the window when things that are considered bad for us are taxed higher than other things.

    I’ll get off my soapbox now, because if I don’t, this will be a rather long rant!

    • March 10, 2011 at 2:21 PM

      Hi Shell, that’s okay. You can rant here.

      But you’re right. I think it’s just another tax grab but it makes it look like the government is doing something to help curb obesity. They’re doing nothing.

      Instead they keep allowing our foods to be Genetically Modified and the companies don’t have to tell us if they use GMO’s in their products. 🙂

  7. March 10, 2011 at 3:37 PM

    Self control (i.e., an internal locus of control) NOT a “fat tax” (external reward/punishment) is what we need.

    People who are overweight need to exercise more and eat less . . . piling their extra food on YOUR plate so we can “chub you up.” 😎

    • March 10, 2011 at 4:11 PM

      Hi Nancy, I wish it were that easy for me. But you’re right, it is self control that’s needed.

      The sad thing is that there are so many overweight children today and I don’t remember it being like that when I was a child.

      When I was a kid we spent most of our time outside playing and not indoors with video games and computers. Plus there weren’t too many fast food restaurants back then and we had all our meals at home. 🙂

  8. tbaoo
    March 10, 2011 at 6:02 PM

    people who live in skinny houses shouldn’t throw fat, it sticks back .. tax or not 😉

  9. March 10, 2011 at 6:45 PM

    Would the revenues be fed back into the system as subsidies on fresh veg and free cookery classes? Could people like you who need the calories have exemption cards? But if they would that lead to a black market in chocolate and fries? I hope it’s not just fat reduced convenience foods which would be exempted, they are simply not healthy eating.

    It sounds like a scheme for the government to get more money disguised as a way to solve a social problem, but which is likely to fail as it’s not fully thought through. Like whacking massive taxes on petrol without using any revenue to improve public transport so people still use their cars just as much disguised as green policy.

    • March 10, 2011 at 6:52 PM

      What, give it to the people who need it. Of course not. That would make too much sense.

      The taxes are just meant to discourage the purchase of junk food and soft drinks, like it discourages the purchase of cigarettes and alcohol. 🙂

      It will just look like the government is doing something about obesity but the money will probably just go into general revenue and paying off the huge deficit.

      I like your point of view. 😛

  10. March 10, 2011 at 10:13 PM

    I believe the bureaucrats are looking for any way they can to grab more taxes to feed their insatiable appetite for spending our hard earned money. It’s all smoke and mirrors and spin. Wake up people… The reason they are targeting “fat foods” is because the ” junk food” market is huge. Just look at the numbers; compare the sales of broccoli to candy bars or granola to soda. If you want to know the truth, Just follow the money…

    • March 11, 2011 at 6:40 AM

      You’re right Jeanne, it’s just a tax grab and the government wants to make it appear like they are doing something to tackle the obesity issue. Which they’re not! 🙂

  1. March 31, 2011 at 9:36 AM

Leave a Reply

