Home > or not, RandomBlog2011 Challenge, Weekly Photo Challenge, WordPress Challenge > or not – Weekly Photo Challenge | Home

or not – Weekly Photo Challenge | Home

This was home to me for 17 years. My room was the one on the top floor seen in the photo.

Weekly Photo Challenge | Home

 

Weekly Photo Challenge, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011, ClassyRose

The Home I Left at 18

This is the home where I grew up with my parents, 4 brothers, and 3 sisters. I have very fond memories of growing up in what is known as ‘Little Italy’ in Toronto. Everything was within walking distance – school, church, shopping, parks. When it wasn’t we would jump on to the TTC’s Red Rocket and it could take us just about anywhere we wanted to go in the city. My brother and I would often take it to High Park to spend the day.

__________________________

Congratulations to the first winner of the Weekly Photo Challenge | Boundaries, Barb from Passionate About Pets.

Voting is still continuing for Weekly Photo Voting | CURIOSITY

Weeky Photo Voting-Curiosity, RandomBlog2011 Challenge, PostADay2011, PostAWeek2011

__________________________

Are you taking part in the Weekly Photo Challenge?

You’re welcome to post your link in the comments.

There is nothing bugging me today!

🙂

Quote for today

A smile is a window on your face to show your heart is at home.
Author Unknown

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. March 11, 2011 at 6:08 PM

    Houses that are home hold us in their grasp.

    Congrats to Barb. Love her photo of the bird and the cat rubbing beak to nose.

    • March 11, 2011 at 6:20 PM

      Hi Nancy, that one sure did. My parents lived there for 23 years and there are so many memories of family dinners and celebrations. But we made plenty more in their new home and it didn’t take long. 🙂

  2. March 11, 2011 at 6:09 PM

    Thanks for showing us the home where you grew up Rose, still full of good memories for you. I think our first home always is. I love the little porch at the front!

    • March 11, 2011 at 6:28 PM

      Hi Barb, the porch wasn’t so little, it was pretty deep. The third floor of the house would be unbearable in the summer heat and some of us would sleep on the porch in the folding lounge chairs. 😎

  3. marina
    March 11, 2011 at 6:48 PM

    I know exactly how you feel: I feel the same way every time I go visit my mom in Italy!!!! Just when I enter the building [see my photo] I feel I’m home…..:-)

    http://nprimopiano.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/im-home/

  4. March 11, 2011 at 7:08 PM

    That is soooooooo Toronto! Almost makes me homesick! You’re blessed to have so many good memories of home.
    walk in beauty.

    • March 11, 2011 at 7:14 PM

      Thanks Joss, lot of memories and lots of family photos. 🙂

  5. March 11, 2011 at 7:21 PM
    • March 11, 2011 at 7:24 PM

      Hi PiP, it was a great house. It had both front and back stairs to the second floor. As kids, my brothers and I chased each other a fair bit through the house. 🙂

  6. March 11, 2011 at 9:18 PM

    Your house looks like there was a lot of fun, love, and happiness there. I’ll bet it was a great place to grow up!

    • March 12, 2011 at 10:36 AM

      Hi Shell, there sure was. 🙂

      But it wasn’t just the house, it was also the neighbourhood where everyone helped each other and looked out for one another that made it a great place to grow up.

      Neighbours were always outside sitting on their porches or walking down to the shops and it didn’t matter what time of day it was. There was always someone around. 🙂

  7. March 11, 2011 at 9:36 PM

    Nice home… It must be cool with a tree in front of it…
    Anyway… I also posted my home in http://yorijuly14.wordpress.com/2011/03/12/weekly-photo-challenge-home/

    I never missed this challenge, not even once…

    • March 12, 2011 at 10:43 AM

      Hi and welcome Yori, It’s a Maple tree and it provided plenty of shade in the summer and plenty of leaves to rake in autumn. Our neighbour who lived on the street for a very long time always told us she remembered when it was just a sapling.

      I like your photo, very interesting interpretation of “Home” and not one I would have expected. 🙂

  8. March 12, 2011 at 9:35 AM

    For some reason that photo makes me think of applie pie and autumn leaves! I have no idea why! It looks very cosy, I’d be hard pushed to find a decent photo of my own home where I grew up, but I am going to sift through the albumbs till I find one.

    • March 12, 2011 at 10:48 AM

      Hi Noobcake, funny you should say that. My mom used to buy apples by the bushel and she would bake plenty of apple pies in autumn. Since it was a Maple tree the colours of the leaves were stunning when they changed.

      My entire family took photos of the house when my parents decided to sell it. Both inside and outside shots to remember the 23 years spent living and visiting home.

      I wish you luck in finding a photo of your childhood home. 🙂

  9. Pseu
    March 14, 2011 at 4:11 AM

    There’s no place like home….

    • March 14, 2011 at 9:11 AM

      Hi Pseu, you’ve got that right! 🙂

  1. March 11, 2011 at 6:45 PM
  2. March 12, 2011 at 2:37 PM
  3. March 13, 2011 at 7:41 AM
  4. March 13, 2011 at 2:36 PM
  5. March 15, 2011 at 7:23 AM
  6. March 20, 2011 at 9:23 AM

Leave a Reply

