Home > Blogging, or not, WordPress Challenge > or not – Another Day of Rest

or not – Another Day of Rest

Things in life I find annoyingAs another week comes to an end, it’s time for a little rest. Not a lot, but at least a bit to gather my thoughts and look forward to the coming week.  There is still plenty of Housekeeping to do, both on the blog and at home. There is nothing really bugging me today!

Today is a day for sharing. Sharing things I have learned, sharing things I have found which could help some of my fellow bloggers, and to give thanks to those who have truly touched me, and praise to accomplishments this week.

My dear friend and fellow blogger, Piglet in Portugal, was Freshly Pressed this past week for her post on Gazanias in January.

My English Thoughts for being promoted from an intern job to Light House manager. I’ve missed her daily postings but I am so happy to see her so excited and following her passion.

A special hello and thanks to A Blog by PaPa Joe who has reminded me of  what  a Wonderfully Small World we live in. For reminding me how much clicking the Like button and leaving a comment can brighten a person’s day and put a smile on their face. 🙂

Special mention to Alexy Saltekoff for his post on Witnessing Bravery and bringing to my attention the short stories they have put into publications of “Portraits in Courage” about the men and women overseas in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Those are some of the highlights of my past week. I’ve made new friends and look forward to getting to know them better.

Sharing new things is great when they can help others. Some of us struggle with our writing and are not so much worried about the spelling but by the grammar. One of my finds this week was PaperRater which is a free online tool.

  • spelling and grammar checker
  • plagiarism checker
  • provides detailed report on your writing.
  • plus many more with a final grade

This is definitely something worth checking out. Did I mention it is free!

reminderfox is an add-on for Firefox that sits on your Bookmarks tool bar

  • Remember dates & todos
  • Display reminders & alarms
  • Subscribe to online calendars

Other handy Firefox Add-ons

That’s it for today, there is nothing bugging me today!

🙂

A Quote for Today

“You can make more friends in two months by becoming interested in other people
than you can in two years by trying to get other people interested in you.”
Dale Carnegie

Recommended

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 23, 2011 at 8:43 AM

    Hi Rose – Housekeeping is def a chore 🙂 We have just returned from France after a week of packing up our daughters home ready moving house in a couple of weeks time. Here in Portugal there is an inch of dust to clean, piles of pine needles to sweep up, the gazanias have self seeded everywhere, a pile of washing and about 1000 emails! Catch up on all last weeks news from my blogging buddies…I think “freshley pressed” takes on a new meaning. LOL 🙂 Does anyone remember pressing flowers when they were young?

  2. January 23, 2011 at 8:50 AM

    Welcome back PiP. 🙂 Just take them one at a time and they’ll all get done eventually. After being Freshly Pressed you probably could have sold some of those seeds and yes I do remember pressing flowers, there are some who still do. 🙂

  3. January 23, 2011 at 10:45 AM

    Hello Rose…we are having toasted sandwiches for supper so an easy night.
    I have done a bit of housework…as little as I could get away with.
    Wind is still howling so I don’t think we are going to get a walk..oh well…always tomorrow.
    Have a great week ahead!

    • January 23, 2011 at 12:26 PM

      Hi Granny -I wish I could have got away with toasted sandwiches 🙂 Mr Piglet wants dinner 😦 and I’ve been up since 3am

    • January 23, 2011 at 8:26 PM

      Hi Granny, I think I’ve slept through most of Sunday. Dinner will be something quick. 🙂

  4. January 23, 2011 at 3:55 PM

    I’ve missed so many things this week !! Today will be my day off, I will have a look on the others blogs too ! 🙂
    Have a great week 🙂

    • January 23, 2011 at 8:27 PM

      But you’ve had such an exciting week! Make sure you get some rest too! 🙂

  5. January 23, 2011 at 4:04 PM

    We are already on Monday morning here in Oz and I’m feeling refreshed and fired up after returning from vacation. Been doing some housekeeping myself (both kinds). Carried out some of the suggestions you made regarding my Passionate About Pets blog, but still have some questions to ask you; it still needs more tweaking as you will see!
    I didn’t know about PaperRater – will check it out, so thanks Rose.

    • January 23, 2011 at 8:29 PM

      Hi Barb, will be by to take a look soon. Everyone is always tweaking, I don’t think it ever stops. 🙂

  6. January 23, 2011 at 7:08 PM

    Thanks for all of the great tips you always share with us Rose!

    • January 23, 2011 at 8:30 PM

      No problem, you know I like to help. 🙂

  7. postadaychallenge2011
    February 3, 2011 at 10:33 PM

    I love what you write and I hit the like button of course. Keep up the great work.

    • February 4, 2011 at 8:00 PM

      Thank you, I’m trying and right now I’m playing catch up. Lost the Internet for two days and there is plenty for me to read. 🙂

  1. January 24, 2011 at 5:22 AM
  2. January 28, 2011 at 7:41 AM

Leave a comment