Home > Blogging, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > PostADay2011 – Topic Suggestions are Suggestions!!

PostADay2011 – Topic Suggestions are Suggestions!!

At the beginning of every post Scott Berkun says:

“These are entirely optional – if you don’t like it, no problem. Post something else. Or post about why you don’t like this topic, or the topic you wish we’d mentioned here. It’s all good.”

Yet over and over again I am reading replies from bloggers asking what if they don’t like the topic. This is what’s bugging me today.

I enjoy reading the comments and visiting other sites. It’s like hitting random in Delicious or the Google “I’m Feeling Lucky” button when you are doing a search.

Some think they have to post about the challenge and posting every day – this would be pretty boring after a few days, could you imagine a year of this.

But, then there are those who take the suggestion and turn it around to have it fit their blog. The “Topic: who deserves more credit?” posting gave one person an idea to write about something else which did fit into their website.

Great suggestion. I ended up writing about book dedications … giving credit to those who inspire us.

You can see how she did it it here:       Opening Credits

That is what the topic suggestions are for. You can write about the topic if you are stuck or just want a change of pace. Think about it and see if you can come up with your own idea. This isn’t a question and answer challenge!

Another great way to get ideas is to visit other bloggers who have already written their post for the postaday2011 or postaweek2011 challenge. Depending on where you are in the world, others could be way ahead of you on this one.

You can do this by checking out any one of these links:

http://en.wordpress.com/tag/postaday2011/
http://en.wordpress.com/tag/post-a-day-2011/
http://en.wordpress.com/tag/post-a-week-2011/

That’s another thing bugging me today. So many people forget that WordPress is global, so their topic suggestions get posted for the first people who welcome the new day. Most global sites use UTC time.  Remember, the international date line is in the middle of the Pacific Ocean! It’s already tomorrow there.

So what do you say bloggers, if you don’t like the topic:

  • write about something else
  • write about why you don’t like the topic
  • visit another blogger for ideas and leave a comment or two behind if you like their blog

This is what’s bugging me today!

🙂

leave a comment »


© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. Kimberly
    January 3, 2011 at 7:47 AM

    Haha, I do love this 🙂 I know I won’t be sticking to the topics x.

    • January 3, 2011 at 8:03 AM

      I never had any intention of sticking to the topics. Since I have subscribed to the Daily Post, I see most of the comments and I cannot believe the number of people who think this. I begin to wonder how many didn’t take up the challenge because they thought they had too! Scott was clear about it, at least that’s what I think.

      Good luck with the challenge.

  2. January 3, 2011 at 1:33 PM

    Thanks for mentioning this – it comes with the territory 😉 People like to give feedback, even if the feedback overlooks something specific in the instructions.

    Some people do like very specific instructions, and they’re letting me know who they are.

    It’s all good though – happy to see so many people involved.

    • January 3, 2011 at 1:43 PM

      Thanks Scott.

      When I saw other people commenting on the same thing it just fit and gave me my post for today. This is what’s bugging me today.

      This challenge came up at just the right time for me.

      My thanks go out to you with all the comments you have to keep up with. I’ve tried to answer a few for you when I read the comments and visit the blogs and add my words of encouragement. I hope you don’t mind. 😉

  1. January 28, 2011 at 7:41 AM
  2. February 11, 2011 at 1:07 PM
  3. February 13, 2011 at 3:11 PM
  4. February 18, 2011 at 10:43 AM
  5. February 19, 2011 at 8:56 AM
  6. February 20, 2011 at 6:07 AM
  7. February 20, 2011 at 8:47 PM
  8. February 21, 2011 at 12:03 PM
  9. March 23, 2011 at 6:48 PM

Leave a comment