Home > Blogging, What's Bugging Me, WordPress Challenge > Trying to Find Topic Suggestions

Trying to Find Topic Suggestions

Featured on The Daily Post at WordPress.com

Some like the Daily Post suggestions and others don’t care for them at all and let everyone know by leaving negative comments. There are those who seem to do it consistently and it does get a little annoying. This is what’s bugging me today!

I visit the Daily Post to read not only the topic suggestions to see what the offering of the day is but also the comments. Sometimes I like the topics and have been able to work them into my blog and other times I don’t care for them at all.  But I don’t like to leave negative comments and just try to find another topic.

Everybody is allowed to have their opinion, but if you consistently don’t like the topics then it’s time to find other sources. There are those writing on their blogs just for fun and that’s fine. But there are others who have set up their blogs to improve their writing and need a better variety of topics.

Whatever the reason is, we all sometimes need ideas on what to write about – me included.

Some suggestions:

  • How to – write a post on something you know
  • Top 10 lists – on anything you like, great blogs or posts, favourite things
  • Tips & Tricks – what are you good at
  • Tell a story – reach back into your memories
  • Reviews – movies, books, products, games
  • Interview – someone or yourself

Just a couple of days ago Alexy Saltekoff  used the interview technique to introduce a 6-part series Bringing Focus Back to My Daily Blog. He was trying to follow the Daily Post suggestions but found that it just wasn’t working for him and came up with his own plan. Read his latest post Finding focus: What’s your vision?

How many of you have used the Press This feature in WordPress? This could be used to link to another post you like. Write a short piece on why you like it, include an excerpt and then link back to the original page. It doesn’t have to be a blog posting, it could be anything you’ve read, even news stories.

Still not enough ideas. Use Google and search for – topic suggestions for blogs. I did this and came up with a few sites. I’ve listed some of them for you.

If you find a topic you’re interested in but are worried that the post might be too long, like this one is going to be soon, then create a series of posts similar to what Alexy has done. This will also help bring your visitor back to your blog to read the post and maybe even subscribe to your blog.

This is what’s bugging me today!

🙂

© 2010-2011 Things in life I find annoying

  1. January 28, 2011 at 7:45 AM

    Hello Rose…very interesting.
    Have just realised I forgot to put the 2011 challenge on my post…actually don’t know where one is supposed to put it.
    As a tag?

    • January 28, 2011 at 7:52 AM

      Thanks Granny. Each of your posts should have the tag – postaday2011 – and they also asked us to write a post at the beginning saying we were participating in the challenge. Read mine here – http://wp.me/p1fqaT-4d

      I hope this answers your question. 🙂

  2. January 28, 2011 at 10:11 AM

    Thanks for the suggestions. I have not been liking the daily topic suggestions for this week and have struggled to come up with things to write about.

    • January 28, 2011 at 10:44 AM

      You’re welcome Stacey. There are so many resources available and sometimes it’s just a matter of putting on the thinking cap. As Piglet in Portugal said the other day, you have to think outside the box. 🙂

  3. January 28, 2011 at 11:26 AM

    Thanks for suggesting these Rose. I keep a little note pad with me and whenever I think of something I could post about, I write it down. If I’m stuck for a topic, I just look at my notes. But it’s nice to know where to go for other ideas.

    • January 28, 2011 at 11:50 AM

      Hi Seashell, I’m trying to use the Press This feature to grab snippets from what I read and save them as drafts for future posts. The note pad is a great idea. 🙂

  4. January 28, 2011 at 12:55 PM

    I only use the Daily Post suggestions when all my other options have run out. No offence to people who do use them, but I find they’re not always very helpful to me.

    • January 28, 2011 at 12:59 PM

      I know what you mean. I’ve used a few but only when I could work them into the focus of my blog. 🙂

  5. January 28, 2011 at 3:38 PM

    Hi
    I think the daily post suggestions are a good idea and sometimes you can use your imagination to adapt some of them to the theme of your blog. that’s what writers do, yeah?
    Ex…there was topic suggestion I remember reading about time travel…I can’t find it now but I looked at an old derelict house in the countryside of Portugal, and wondered if I could go back in time what stories that house could tell and who lived there. I then started researching some of Portugal’s history and what life was like before the revolution. Unfortunately, to do the post justice a lot of research is involved, but it just goes to show how you can take a basic topic and make it your own.

    I love the idea of “Press This” I have often come across a fellow bloggers post or something in a newspaper. Now I know how to share 🙂 thanks Rose

    Apart from topics I think the one great thing to come out of PAD is that so many bloggers are now supporting each other. It’s such a nice feeling when you have spent hours writing a post and a fellow blogger takes a moment to read it and post a comment or a like. Makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside 🙂 🙂

    Well done to WordPress!

    • January 28, 2011 at 3:48 PM

      Hi PiP, they are a good idea and people have put their own twist on them. Your idea on Portugal’s history sounds great and you should do it as a series, maybe one per week or twice a month.

      I agree with you, it is a nice warm fuzzy feeling. 🙂 I’ve met some great people through the challenge and it’s been wonderful reading the blogs and seeing that everyone is finding their voice and writing with passion. I do believe there are some budding authors in the group and I’m interested to see where they go with it. 🙂

  6. January 28, 2011 at 4:09 PM

    Thanks for putting this together. I plan on bookmarking this post so I can pull it up when I run out of ideas.

    • January 28, 2011 at 4:25 PM

      You’re welcome. The sites listed are just 3 of the many that are on the Internet. 400 Writing Topics at about.com is a good one for variety plus there are so many links to other articles. 🙂

  7. skyddsdrake
    January 28, 2011 at 5:23 PM

    Awesome ideas for drumming up new topics. Thank you! I also like using “quote a day” websites and the like. Right now I’m actually working straight out of a daily reflections book, which I’m liking (most days). Of course with that, I think it’s important to reference the material (since I’m not really able to link back to the source).

    Again, thank you!

    • January 28, 2011 at 5:37 PM

      Thanks. Referencing the source is always important. I would be interested in knowing which “quote a day” websites you like. 🙂

  8. January 28, 2011 at 6:51 PM

    Thanks for the suggestions Rose – sometimes we need a bit of a push to get the brain into action, so they will be very helpful!

    • January 28, 2011 at 6:53 PM

      I’m glad you like them Barb. 🙂

  9. January 28, 2011 at 8:15 PM

    excellent ideas, believe you me, I’m reading it again tomorrow and then will post my postaweek2011 for this week. I’ve had a little trouble as you can see from my last post but know stopping is not an option for me. I just need more focus.

    • January 28, 2011 at 8:21 PM

      Thank you Jose. Alexy’s series on regaining focus is a good read. I’m wishing you luck for your next post. 🙂

  10. January 28, 2011 at 8:23 PM

    I love your posts and you have some great ideas to encourage and motivate others. I totally agree that you get a warm fuzzy feeling when someone takes the trouble to read and/or ‘like’ your post…or to leave a comment.

    It is heart warming to see such a community of supportive people coming together to share the Postaday challenge.

    On a ‘technie’ note, I see that you have pasted the Postaday challenge tag…do you have any tips as to how this is done. I did attempt to do it when the original instructions were sent in the Daily Post…and failed miserably! Now I cannot find the post to refer back to…grrr…

    As regards to what to write about…I’m always making notes of topics in a notebook I carry around with me. Sometimes I find it a struggle to get started…and when I do, I can’t shut up…as you have no doubt observed if you’ve been patient enough to read this far!

    • January 28, 2011 at 8:36 PM

      Hi Julie, I read every word of every comment left on my blog. Sometimes I can’t shut up either! The challenge has been great and it has brought so many of us together to encourage each other.

      This is what I did to add the image, I just saved the image to my computer, uploaded to the Media Gallery, then grabbed the url and pasted it in the Image Widget. I didn’t bother to link it to the Daily Post but you can if you like. It was real simple. I’ll be looking for it the next time I visit your blog. 🙂

  11. January 31, 2011 at 5:27 PM

    What amuses me about those that complain about the topic suggestions is that, if they don’t like them, they could just start trying to come up with their own ideas instead of complaining about the suggestions for ideas made by others. (Although I suppose one topic they could write about is how no one else can give them suitable ideas, aheh)
    Although few of the daily post topics have been useful for me personally; but then it’s not written for me but rather for everyone.

    I’ve been struggling for good ideas myself, but then due to the nature of my blog I can fall back on pretty much anything. Cheers for the links and suggestions, hoping to find inspiration among them.

    • January 31, 2011 at 5:48 PM

      Well said !! I’ve only used a few of the topics suggested. My post for today was written and posted before the Daily Post Topic was issued. 🙂

  12. Jenny Marlow
    February 2, 2011 at 6:25 AM

    I can’t work out what Group you are all in? I found Heidi’s and Alexie’s stuff really helpful. thanks.

    • February 2, 2011 at 6:38 AM

      Hi Jenny, not sure what you mean about ‘Group’. 🙂

  13. moneymakingjus
    February 14, 2011 at 9:03 PM

    Good topic suggestions. That’s some good blogging stuff right there. @classyrose

  14. February 15, 2011 at 3:18 AM

    Excellent advice. Thank you!

    • February 15, 2011 at 3:20 AM

      Thanks for visiting and liking the suggestions. 🙂

  15. slimgoody05
    February 15, 2011 at 5:46 AM

    Great post. Thanks for the tips. I have been struggling to find daily topics to write about.

  16. February 15, 2011 at 1:53 PM

    Thank you for the suggestions and the links. I might have to give the interview suggestion a whirl– perhaps ‘A Day in the Life of a 5-year old’ as dictated by my daughter.

    I too dislike the negative remarks about the topic suggestions. They will never be able to please all people with all prompts. Though I will say, I’m amazed at what truly creative people (I am not one of those) can do with a prompt I consider worthless.

    • February 15, 2011 at 2:02 PM

      Hi Allison and welcome to my blog. I’m glad you like them. Did you check out the link for the interview that was done?

      I couldn’t understand why so many of them felt they had to leave negative comments on The Daily Post. After all they are only suggestions. I think you have to train your mind to think outside the box, as my buddy Piglet in Portugal always say. 🙂

      • February 15, 2011 at 3:43 PM

        Just did. Good stuff!

        • February 15, 2011 at 3:46 PM

          They are good, and I wouldn’t write about anything I don’t like. 🙂

  17. February 15, 2011 at 2:43 PM

    Great post! I am having trouble with Post a WEEK – so I appreciate the tips.

    • February 15, 2011 at 2:48 PM

      Thanks Marni and welcome to my blog. There’s some great tips and suggestions. Check out the links to Alexy’s blog. 🙂

  18. February 15, 2011 at 2:50 PM

    Thanks for the tips! I’m having a hard time finding inspiration and the Daily Post isn’t helping all that much. I do feel it is worth checking out though. You never know when a suggestion will inspire a post.

    • February 15, 2011 at 2:55 PM

      Hi Sharon and welcome to my blog. Glad you like them. You might want to check out some of my Blogging Buddies for some inspiration. 🙂

  19. Mnemosyne
    February 17, 2011 at 9:29 AM

    These are some great tips! Thank you for sharing, and considering the most recent blog ideas aren’t quite to my liking slash I-can’t-think-of-anything-to-relate-with I’m currently looking into the links you’ve referred us to. Thanks again
    ☮ & ♥

    ~Nym

    • February 17, 2011 at 11:42 AM

      Welcome and glad you like them. There are hundreds of ideas on those pages with plenty of links to even more pages. 🙂

    • February 17, 2011 at 3:31 PM

      I wanted to come and check out your blog but there are no links in your name or your Gravatar. 🙂

  20. Country Living
    February 26, 2011 at 7:51 PM

    Hi Rose! I am new to the blogging world! and I love all of your ideas! Thank you!

  1. February 1, 2011 at 9:21 AM
  2. February 11, 2011 at 1:17 PM
  3. February 14, 2011 at 8:36 PM
  4. February 15, 2011 at 1:28 AM
  5. February 15, 2011 at 1:50 AM
  6. February 15, 2011 at 9:28 AM
  7. February 18, 2011 at 10:43 AM
  8. February 19, 2011 at 8:56 AM
  9. February 20, 2011 at 6:07 AM
  10. February 20, 2011 at 8:47 PM
  11. February 21, 2011 at 12:03 PM
  12. February 23, 2011 at 11:49 AM
  13. February 27, 2011 at 12:26 PM
  14. March 1, 2011 at 11:47 AM
  15. March 10, 2011 at 4:40 PM
  16. March 23, 2011 at 6:48 PM

Leave a comment